We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Self-catering holiday home cumbria
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
Self-catering holiday home cumbria
Fully fitted kitchen with all utensils and equipment
Dining lounge area
Typical Twin Lounge
Typical twin room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Caravan/mobile home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Bassenthwaite, Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
OutdoorRa...
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed June 8, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A really tranquil setting on a hill slope with fantastic views of the back of Skiddaw and western fells. The site is spotlessly clean. There is a small shop on site selling essentials (including alchohol). The childrens play area is set in back in a field with breath taking southernly views for you to sit and relax whilst the kids play. The large dog walking area is closed in on 3 sides with lots of shrubs and long grass for the dog to enjoy hunting scents as they run along whilst you admire the outstanding views.
The caravan itself was spacious and spotless. With comfy beds, excellent shower, fantastic kitchen/cooking area , 22" flat screen tv (with excellent reception) and excellent "how to" instructions for the caravan and appliances it was a real home from home.
The complementary dog bowls, bed , blankets and dog chew was a nice touch (although we had brought our own so didn't use them).

My only critique is that the wooden decking rails on the caravan could be closer together so as the dog can't slip through them and chase all the rabbits that abound on the site.......but maybe i should train my dog better :-)

The site is in a true rural location 12 miles north of Keswick (15mins in the car) and 6 miles west of Cockermouth so it's remoteness may not be for everyone but we didn't find this to much of a chore.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Decking area not dog secure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer...
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic peaceful holiday park with spacious,comfortable accommodation.”
Reviewed June 2, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

On arrival we were greeted by friendly,helpful staff who directed us to our caravan.We were delighted with our accommodation which was spacious,modern & equipped with everything we needed.The site itself is well maintained,attractive & peaceful.The four year old in our group loved the play area which he visited frequently.The views from the play area are spectacular & well worth a visit with or without children.We all fell in love with Fidel,the resident Llama & his goat friends who were all very friendly & approachable.Although quite secluded,the site is only 15 minutes from Keswick along a very attractive road &,we thought,the perfect location for our holiday.We hope to visit again & would recommend this site to our friends & family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The well maintained site & spaciousness of the caravan.
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manraj_Gu...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A surprise last minute find - worth it.”
Reviewed April 15, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Its a really nice, spacious place to stay. We stayed in one of the luxury caravan as a group of 3 friends, although being a 2-room caravan it was meant for a 4-people stay. I would recommend this for a family stay (dog friendly aswell) or a group of friends looking to share the costs. There are other types of caravans in the site aswell...some with good views, and some cheaper with less views.

PROs : really nice, independent stay. Fully equipped kitchen, bedding, and living room - for a reasonable cost

CONS: a bit far from the lakes (diff to find), but enough natural beauty and towns around nerveless. Not really a BBQ place, despite the benches outside. we improvised but did our best to keep the place tidy.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harryboyj...
1 review
“Lovely 5days holiday”
Reviewed April 1, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Stayed with my father and daughter. Lovely clean modern van. Excellent quiet site with great views of lakes. If anything a bit far out of Lake district but plenty to see in area.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elaine222...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family friendly”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Had a wonderful time, all perfect. Will certainly come back. Thanks to the staff and their family. My son loved the animals

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela R
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Too remote”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I booked for two nights but left after the first day because the beds smelled damp and it was getting on my chest. It was a nice enough site but basically stuck in a field in the middle of nowhere. Long drive to shops. I think I paid over the top for 2 nights. Note to anyone... Take your own quilt.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2014
We have passed the comments regarding the bedding to House Keeping and would have been more than happy to have resolved this during your stay, if reported at the time. As to our location, the distance to local towns (Cockermouth 10 minutes drive, Keswick 20) is clearly listed on our website and other advertising. Also most of our guests prefer Skiddaw View Holiday Park due to its peaceful and idyllic setting.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenm845
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting to enjoy the Lake District”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Well equipped caravan with lovely furniture and fitings. on a very well and looked after site. All staff very pleasant and eager to help. Situated in a lovely quiet area, and great views and scenery. Will look forward to another visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely setting and scenic views
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing