We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Disappointed this time :(”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Dobby Lodge

Cosy lounge with wall mounted TV and flame effect wood burner stove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy lounge with wall mounted TV and flame effect wood burner stove
Our three modern and contemporary style Dobby Lodges Living area complete with kitchen and dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
41 reviews
Cosy lounge with wall mounted TV and flame effect wood burner stove
Our three modern and contemporary style Dobby Lodges
Living area complete with kitchen and dining area
Comfortable corner sofa
Double bedroom with picture wall and unique log slice bedside table features
Twin bedroom
Family bathroom
Bath complete with drench shower over
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bassenthwaite, Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bexwalker
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed this time :(”
Reviewed May 23, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed here for 3 years in a row and reccomended it to everyone as we loved it so much! I even payed for my parents to stay last year because it's so nice! But this time was disappointing, the dobby lodges had recently been refurbished so we had high hopes.. On the first morning I was going to have cheese on toast as I do most days only to find the grill wouldn't work. My husband was fuming so I decided to call maintenance thinking they would just fix it. The guy who I spoke to was lovely and said he would come right away. When he came he basically said it doesn't work and there's nothing we can do about it and it should have been changed in the refit. We didn't get offered it to be fixed or to be moved to another log cabin. My husband then had to fry everything for his full English and I couldn't have cheese on toast so had just toast. The following morning I was woken to a digger and a tipper truck right outside my log cabin. (This happened last year to but I understand they need to do work so didn't say anything) but this time it was early in the morning and I'd gone on holiday to relax as I'm pregnant! On the Wednesday it was our wedding anniversary so we went out for the day but came back around 3.30 to watch a film.. We were all settled and then a man comes down with machinery to flatten out the road he was doing on the Monday.. So we couldn't hear the film and the dogs were going crazy. He then went so we played the film again.. Next thing a guys come to strim the grass!
One thing I do have to say tho, the new mattresses are amazing! We have come away wanting to buy one. Being pregnant I've had bad hips and it really helped. It also helped my husbands back problems. The whole refit looks fab the only thing I would have changed if possible would have been the shower curtain to maybe a glass one as the shower curtain constantly sticks to you when your in there.
All in all we probably won't be coming again which is gutting as we did love it originally but this time was just a disappointment :(

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2016
We are sorry to hear that you found your recent stay disappointing. We can only apologise for what appears to have been some miss-communication and poor timing. Looking back it appears that the grill issue was indeed rectified while you were in the lodge as the gas engineer attended and from the sounds of it, this information wasn't relayed to you while you were still with us. Regarding the strimming/grounds work, it was just again unfortunate that gardener happened to reach the Dobby Lodges just after the grounds work was completed; unfortunately we do have to do this work in order to maintain and improve the park and we do try to complete this in times where it would cause least disruption to everyone. Again we are sorry that you didn't enjoy this recent stay as much as your previous ones. We are glad that you like the new look Dobby Lodges and we will definitely look into the shower curtain issue. We really hope that one day you might give us another chance and that we will see you again. Kind regards, The Skiddaw View Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MandyJane...
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely comfortable lodge quiet site”
Reviewed October 10, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Booked 2 nights with husband and friends well equipped comfortable lodge on a quiet site, not far to travel to Keswick and Cockermouth surrounded by beautiful countryside, good little shop on site. Good deal on price for the weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica H
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 28, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed in one of the Dobby Lodges on the holiday park. We were extremely happy with the cabin, it was spotlessly clean, the beds very comfortable with lovely quality bed linen and duvets. The heating was on when we arrived - as we didn't get there until 8pm this was a lovely touch and made the cabin very inviting. The holiday park has a lovely little play area for small children and is in a great quiet location. We stayed with our two small children (3 and 1) and will be coming again next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestieJo
West Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“excellent dog-friendly base for the Lake District”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed here with two teenagers and two dogs for a week.

The accommodation is well appointed and well stocked - modern kitchen and bathroom and comfortable bedrooms and living space. The park is quiet and out of the way without being too remote - 6 miles from Cockermouth and a great base for exploring Keswick, Ambleside and the Grasmere to Whitehaven areas of the Lake District.. The dog walking area, and welcome basket in the accommodation for the dogs was a lovely touch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great location and great accomodation
Liked least: nowhere to hang wet coats
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalleHall...
1 review
“First class”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Each visit gets better, first class accommodation, very clean, comfy and cozy for a family of four and our Labrador. Welcome doggy basket was a very nice touch. There's nothing you could add to make your stay better.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne_So...
Southport, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Stunning views, peace and quiet!”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We booked Dobby Lodge at Skiddaw View Holiday Park to have a complete rest after a hectic few months. We could not have chosen better. Dobby Lodge is a modern rectangular wooden cabin that is spacious and ohhhh so comfortable. There are floor to ceiling widows with patio doors opening onto a private balcony. We woke each morning to the sound of birdsong and sheep in adjoining fields. The views are to die for and there are some lovely walks. We visited Whitehaven harbour, Carlisle Castle and Hadian's wall during our stay and caught some live music in nearby Keswick. Would recommend it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful and lovely views
Liked least: We wished the cabin had been facing the mountains
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BethRalph
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect for a peaceful weekend away”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

The dobby lodge was excellent accommodation for either a family or child. It was warm, comfortable, clean and spacious. It was easy to find with the help of the sat nav & website directions. There is a playground on site, although we didn't have children with us. The park is quite isolated with the nearest town Keswick a least 15 mins drive away, however this also means it is quiet & peaceful. There is no eateries, shops etc in walking distance, but there are cooking facilities in the lodge which are more than adequate. We had an excellent weekend walking in the hills & will be visiting again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent accomodation
Liked least: rain - but then it is the lakes!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing