We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal summer break.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Dobby Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
47 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bassenthwaite, Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

starlite...
cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Ideal summer break.”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed at the Dobby Lodge for a short break. A Lovely place with a patio where we enjoyed the Sun. Airy, comfortable & spacious with everything you need, surrounded by lovely scenery and a peaceful setting, & dog friendly.

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the setting. The patio, comfortable interior.
Liked least: There isn't anywhere to hang wet coats if the weather is bad.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H
Leek, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little modern lodge that has everything you need”
Reviewed June 5, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Booking process was easy and as we didn't arrive till late a phone call was all it took to arrange a hassle free check in. Lodge was as described on the website, very modern with everything that you needed for a week away. We stayed in Dobby 1 and wasn't sure if they'd had a leak at some point as the wooden floor in the bedroom was raised and not comfortable to walk on. The beds were comfortable and we slept well every night. As the weather was nice the lodge was very warm at night but there was also heating for when the mornings were cool. We would definitely use this lodge again. The only downside is the location there really isn't a lot else around this site.

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern accomodation that had very thing in it you needed for a few days away
Liked least: This lodge was one of the furthest from the kids play area and there was no other open space closer to the lodge for them to play
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana L
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean and comfortable on a beautiful site.”
Reviewed October 17, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Accommodation was clean and cosy with comfortable beds. Everything was easy to use with clear instructions aand helpful information on places to visit, pubs etc. The site was peaceful with beautiful scenery. A lovely get-away-from-it-all holiday. Even the weather was laid on with sunshine!!

Date of stay: October 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfy beds and scenery (oh, and sunshine!!)
Liked least: drab exterior
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leanne438...
1 review
“Beautiful Place, Home from Home”
Reviewed September 29, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We loved Dobby Lodge it was perfect for my partner and I with our 2 dogs, it was very clean and it felt like home. The area is perfect for lovely walks, we didn't want to come home it was so idyllic. Your only 10mins drive from Cockermouth were there are supermarkets, takeaways and shops. We will definitely be staying at Skiddaw View Caravan Park again, if your looking for a relaxing break away from everything then this is the place to go.

Date of stay: September 2012
Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn C
Ormskirk, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“peaceful holiday”
Reviewed September 16, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

we enjoyed our stay, it is not far to get to the lakes off your choice. the holiday site is peaceful and plenty of land to take your dog he enjoyed it as well. we would go again

Date of stay: September 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: you were left alone
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelH48...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Spacious, peaceful, lovely location, could have been cleaner.”
Reviewed September 5, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

My husband and daughter spent a week in one of the Dobby Lodges. They are well designed and spacious and the Skiddaw View Holiday Park is peaceful and relaxing. Very dog friendly too which was great. My only niggle would be that although superficially clean, it was superficial. More care should be taken to clean properly between guests.

Date of stay: August 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space
Liked least: It could have been cleaner
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandi A
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“SUPER MODERN LODGE, SPOTLESS”
Reviewed September 5, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Beautiful lodge in an absolutely pristine conditon, with everything included, nothing you could need while staying here. Everything was totally spotless and squeaky clean, the only thing I could fault was the not so clean cushions on the sofa. Everything else was so modern and contemporary, including the style of the lodge. My kids aged 10 and 14 loved it. Great for exploring the lakes and surrounding areas. Would definately stay here again. Every piece of equipment was included down to dog feeding equipment. Totally superb and would recommend without hesitation, I do have very high standards and this more than exceeded them, - fab !!!

Date of stay: August 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The style and modern feel.
Liked least: Cushions on sofa
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.