We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ms”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Bodell Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The private garden comes complete with outdoor furniture Views across the fells from the master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
11 reviews
The private garden comes complete with outdoor furniture
Views across the fells from the master bedroom
Self-contained family bathroom with toilet, bath with shower over and wash basin
Relax with a coffee in Keswick town centre (approx 15 mins drive)
Cockermouth is a charming town with a range of local shops (10 mins drive)
The magnificent view across Bassenthwaite Lake
Located in the delightful village of Bothel near Bassenthwaite Lake
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bassenthwaite, Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lindsey B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Ms”
Reviewed November 4, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed at Bodell Cottage during October half term 2016. The cottage was conveniently located in Bothel just outside the Lake District National Park and off the A195 for ease of access. There is the Greyhound PH in the village which has tasty food with huge portions.
Keswick and Cockermouth are short drives away and there are many supermarkets within easy driving distance. We walked most days from the Keswick area.

The owners are called Don and Lyndsey and live in the next cottage along. This is handy and most certainly not obtrusive as they are very friendly and helpful. We received a text before arrival to say we could get in early to the cottage as it was vacant, which was very welcome.

The cottage itself is very clean and cost. The kitchen is equipped with anything you could possibly need on your stay and there is wifi should you need it ( not mentioned on the website). The beds were also comfortable which is often not the case in holiday cottages. The owners had left tea, coffee and sugar to get you started. There was also tin foil, cling film, oil, dishwasher tablets and wash powder etc which was thoughtful so you don't have to buy all these again and transport home.

I would definitely go back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola L
Lytham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A fabulous little cottage...”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our week in Bothel. The cottage was warm and homely--and both double beds were extremely comfortable. The bathroom was immaculate, and the kitchen had everything this particular domestic goddess required in a home away from home.

I have to admit, I was a little worried at first about the proximity of the main road, but that didn't last long. I can honestly sat we barely heard any noise at all through the cottage's sturdy walls.

Bodell cottage is in the perfect location, imo. Bothel is a quiet little village, but it's within easy distance of Bassenthwaite and Keswick. We didn't bother dining at the local pub during our stay, but nearby Aspatria (2.5 miles away) provided us with excellent fish and chips, along with all our of our other daily shopping requirements.

All in all, an excellent holiday. We didn't want to come home! We'd definitely stay at Bodell cottage again.

Oh, and if you get the chance, go and see the ospreys from Dodd Wood. The RSPB had telescopes set up there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane F
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A well equipped cottage in a convenient location.”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We received a warm welcome from the owners of this well equipped, comfortable cottage. It was convenient for visiting places in and around the National Park by car. There was a pub in the village within walking distance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was comfortable and a good location for visiting many different places.
Liked least: The main road at the back of the cottage.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susiem197...
warwickshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy”
Reviewed May 14, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Bodell cottage was lovely and warm as we had quite inclement weather. Fantastic base for viewing northern lakes and plenty of lovely dog walks.
However the back yard is small and has a low fence so if your dog likes to jump over things it's not suitable. Also very close to the main road although we had no problem sleeping, even with the traffic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: heating
Liked least: size of back yard
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantelle...
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, homely and very welcoming”
Reviewed April 24, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Good welcome, nothing was too much trouble for the owner. Very clean and tidy. Everything in house you could need. Soft, clean bedding and towels. Nice little village. Local pub, The Greyhound, within easy walking distance with a very friendly landlord and excellent food. Would definately stay again and recommend. Brilliant base for touring the Lake District. Loads of info about places to see, things to do, walks, places to eat in ordered, neat files: very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and fresh smelling as soon as you walked in
Liked least: Grout on tiles above bath and round taps on sink weren't as clean as they could have been
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireW23
Lingfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed June 27, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Highly recommend the cottage was warm and cosy even in the wild weather we had, lovely and welcoming owners couldn't do enough to help perfect for a quiet escape. Close to Cockermouth and very easy to find.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: homely feel
Liked least: the road
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathryn d
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“home from home”
Reviewed April 17, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

After a really long drive it was lovely to arrive at Bodell Cottage. It was warm comfortable and everything was there that you could want.A fully equiped home from home There were towels folded on the bed and tea & coffee available in the kitchen just like a hotel.The cottage is on the northern edge of the Lake District.It was impressively clean you would never know that dogs are allowed to stay.We had a brilliant time even enjoyed by three technology obsessed teenagers who looked forward to playing draughts after our evening meal !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the comfy beds
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing