We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel, resting on its reputation laurels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Kendal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning hotel, resting on its reputation laurels”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

First impressions somewhat dismal because of the rather lackadaisical attitude of the receptionist. Further compounded by the room being made up with a double bed, despite request on booking, and at subsequent enquiry, for a twin bed. Receptionist was less than interested when telephoned from the room with this information, advising that "all our rooms are doubles". Of course, subsequent telephone call to Duty Manager resolved the problem with Housekeeping appearing to unzip the beds (as their doubles are all zipped up twins!) and make the room up as a twin. Shame it took so much effort to get it right, from such a prestigious establishment.

On the plus side, the restaurant staff and meal were superb and the Spa therapists were very good, very professional and, moreover, very friendly and approachable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 57carolinec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    962
    295
    177
    86
    70
See reviews for
310
888
18
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Let's start with the positive. Its a lovely location. Sadly that's where it ends.

I attended a wedding here and I have to say for what you pay per head the food was a huge disappointment. There was no choice of starter, soup or nothing, not even a juice when I asked.

The main course was served and you were presented with a tiny portion of meat. One carrot, one parsnip and a hard bit of potato. I'm glad I wasn't a vegetarian as they were served a lattice with no vegetables in.

People were left hungry and looking forward to the evening food..... Yes another huge disappointment.

To sum it up, lovely location but terrible value and awful food

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank jonnypb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit for afternoon tea to Armathwaite Hall. Pleased to say it was as great as our first, lovely food great service and beautiful surroundings. A lovely way to spend a wet afternoon in Cumbria. Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nurse1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was our fourth visit to Armathwaite Hall and again we could not find fault. Set in beautiful grounds with views over the lake, a perfect place for total relaxation. The Spa with its outside hot tub and the infinity pool is great. The rooms are spacious, the food in the lake view restaurant outstanding and the service was faultless. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. Perhaps my only niggle, and I maybe being very picky was the receptionist on the day of my departure. Guest checking out at the same time as myself were addressed by their name, did they need any assistance with their luggage and it was hoped that they would visit again soon. As I checked out their was none of these little courtesies, I was nameless and just asked if 'everything had been ok'. Amazing how quickly you can go from feeling very special in this wonderful hotel to feeling second class. Such a shame that one member of staff can let the rest of a wonderful team down.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Recently had a very pleasant break here and found it to be most relaxing with options to have a more active participation.
My wife had some treatments, which she found to be excellent. I managed a couple of visits to the Spa for sauna etc which was also very pleasent.
For me, the best part of our stay was the hotel, the old fashioned service and its historty.
The food was well prepared but the dinner menu is limited in choice for a 5 day stay. Breakfast was fine with good selection of fruit, cereal and cooked english as well as American Pancakes, although the supplement for this and other meals, including Dinner, I consider to be unjustified.
The grounds of the hotel are wonderfull and our lake view room was spacious and elegant.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms a little extra in price but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huttongate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Having just returned from this hotel I felt I had to share what a gem of a hotel this place is. Could not fault any aspect. The spa is fabulous especially the huge out door hot tub. The deluxe rooms were very spacious and the bathroom had a TV in the tub! But the highlight was our meal in the lake view restaurant. The food was outstanding and the service was impeccable. Top notch without being intrusive. A special mention for Hugo for whom nothing was too much trouble. I cannot recommend this place enough.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We had afternoon tea in the lounge which has a view over Lake Bassenthwaite. The food was excellent and they readily took account of our preferences. The service was efficient, friendly and unobtrusive. Aftrewards we enjoyed a very pleasant walk through the grounds. £19.50 each was good value.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alistair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
17.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
9.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,029 reviews
24.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
4.6 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#2 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armathwaite Hall Country House Hotel and Spa is a beautiful four red star 17th-century former stately home situated near to Keswick on the shores of Bassenthwaite Lake. The hotel and spa is private owned and features forty six bedrooms of individual character from stylish spa bedrooms to the luxury of studio suites with stunning lake views. The rosette fine dining Lake View Restaurant serves table d’hote lunches and dinners in elegant surroundings to both residents and non resident guests. The Courtyard Bar and Brasserie is a stylish modern alternative serving meals in a relaxed atmosphere. Afternoon teas are served daily and are a great way to celebrate with family and friends. Licensed to hold civil ceremonies for romantic weddings up to 150 guests. The award winning spa, offers the best in facilities from the 16 meter infinity edge pool to the luxurious outdoor spa pool, thermal suite and life fitness gym. Ten treatment rooms including a double treatment room offer relaxing and soothing treatments to guests, day spa and members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Armathwaite Hall Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing