We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,891)
Filter reviews
1,891 results
Traveler rating
1,132
359
211
104
85
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,132
359
211
104
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslakeview restaurantthe outdoor hot tubarmathwaite hallafternoon teaclub roomaroma roomquichehush roomglass of champagnecream teadress codestately homethermal suiteon arrivalsandwichescourse mealmain restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
1,292 - 1,297 of 1,891 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Location was beautiful. Old charm without being stuffy. We brought our 2 kids and we were worried our stay wouldn't be relaxed but we couldn't have been more wrong. From the breakfast staff suggesting and bringing our son a special hot chocolate, to watching wild baby deer prancing about on the lawns which rolled down to the lake, and the fun we had in the pool during family swim times. Of course the surroundings are breathtaking but it is the staff that are the real asset of this hotel. We would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

A group of us visited for afternoon tea to celebrate a 'special birthday' of one of our group at the end of July.
This is a truly spectacular setting and a building with a very interesting history too. The views over the lake are quite wonderful.
The meal itself was fantastic with a choice of teas, good range of sandwiches, cakes and desserts, to suit all tastes. Refills were also provided. The service was good, helpful but unobtrusive - just right. Staff were particularly helpful when some of the party were delayed, having assumed, wrongly, that the hall is near the village of Armathwaite. It's not, it's about half an hour away, so be sure to consult a map or use the satnav!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was the venue for our Civil Partnership Ceremony in June and we had an amazing time! Our guests and ourselves stayed for a number of nights and made full use of all facilities including the spa. The staff were excellent especially Cath in the run up to the day and Danni on the day itself. We had the most memorable time and would not hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the tower rooms with amazing views and a small terrace, fantastic!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was lovely, room was very large but also very hot due to the recent heat wave.Service- when we booked in nothing was explained to us e.g. hotel facilities,what time breakfast was served and were it was served at,I felt the welcome let this fantastic hotel down as they did not make you feel like a valued customer in any way

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123,445,566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed here in July this year to celebrate my birthday. Arrived on a beautiful sunny afternoon and were warmly welcomed by reception. Shown to our lovely Spa Room and then choose to spend the rest of the afternoon in the grounds of the hotel. The front of the hotel is very grand and inviting and once inside you can feel the history of the building all around you. The view from the rear of the property from the breakfast and dining rooms is exquisite. The view consists of a long expanding lawn that falls down to the beautiful lake and then surrounded by the mountains of Keswick breathtaking. We stayed 2 nights and used all the facilities available, spa was wonderful, with a complimentary glass of champagne in the hot tup which looks out over the beautiful gardens. We had massage treatments which were lovely and very relaxing. We had 2 wonderful breakfasts and enjoyed a lovely dinner in the dining room on the Saturday evening and also in the with views again across the beautiful lake. Rooms are spacious and bathrooms with unusual shower over bath facility with TV in the wall. The staff are courteous and friendly making you feel at home. All in all we had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing, romantic weekend. The Management Team should be complimented the staff were all amazing, thank you we will be back.

Room Tip: Spa Rooms are wonderful
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lainee18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews