We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,905)
Filter reviews
1,905 results
Traveler rating
1,141
363
212
104
85
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,141
363
212
104
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lakeview restaurant the outdoor hot tub armathwaite hall afternoon tea club room aroma room quiche hush room glass of champagne cream tea dress code stately home thermal suite on arrival sandwiches course meal main restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
1,307 - 1,312 of 1,905 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2013

A group of us visited for afternoon tea to celebrate a 'special birthday' of one of our group at the end of July.
This is a truly spectacular setting and a building with a very interesting history too. The views over the lake are quite wonderful.
The meal itself was fantastic with a choice of teas, good range of sandwiches, cakes and desserts, to suit all tastes. Refills were also provided. The service was good, helpful but unobtrusive - just right. Staff were particularly helpful when some of the party were delayed, having assumed, wrongly, that the hall is near the village of Armathwaite. It's not, it's about half an hour away, so be sure to consult a map or use the satnav!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was the venue for our Civil Partnership Ceremony in June and we had an amazing time! Our guests and ourselves stayed for a number of nights and made full use of all facilities including the spa. The staff were excellent especially Cath in the run up to the day and Danni on the day itself. We had the most memorable time and would not hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the tower rooms with amazing views and a small terrace, fantastic!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was lovely, room was very large but also very hot due to the recent heat wave.Service- when we booked in nothing was explained to us e.g. hotel facilities,what time breakfast was served and were it was served at,I felt the welcome let this fantastic hotel down as they did not make you feel like a valued customer in any way

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123,445,566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed here in July this year to celebrate my birthday. Arrived on a beautiful sunny afternoon and were warmly welcomed by reception. Shown to our lovely Spa Room and then choose to spend the rest of the afternoon in the grounds of the hotel. The front of the hotel is very grand and inviting and once inside you can feel the history of the building all around you. The view from the rear of the property from the breakfast and dining rooms is exquisite. The view consists of a long expanding lawn that falls down to the beautiful lake and then surrounded by the mountains of Keswick breathtaking. We stayed 2 nights and used all the facilities available, spa was wonderful, with a complimentary glass of champagne in the hot tup which looks out over the beautiful gardens. We had massage treatments which were lovely and very relaxing. We had 2 wonderful breakfasts and enjoyed a lovely dinner in the dining room on the Saturday evening and also in the with views again across the beautiful lake. Rooms are spacious and bathrooms with unusual shower over bath facility with TV in the wall. The staff are courteous and friendly making you feel at home. All in all we had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing, romantic weekend. The Management Team should be complimented the staff were all amazing, thank you we will be back.

Room Tip: Spa Rooms are wonderful
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lainee18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband & I stayed at Armathwaite Hall for our 1st wedding anniversary, we thought that the views & feedback were great. When I made the reservation, the lady on the phone asked if we were coming to celebrate anything to which I said yes & told him it was our anniversary. I did not understand why he asked as at no point during our stay, was it recognised. Which is a little bit of a shame as I do think its the little touches that matter. When we arrived there was a welcome letter.....welcoming us by name, to a couples wedding!! But there was no wedding at the venue during our stay?! We managed to book our trip via a offer which stated cream tea was inc during our stay. When we checked in, it was not mentioned so once we had unpacked in our room, we asked at reception. The man behind the desk did not know so asked someone else, who said it was not included. I went to my room to check on my ipad & bought it down to show the reception staff & they then said yes it was included. Ok so far it prob sounds all bad, it was more just a let down. So, plus side....dinner, breakfast....amazing food& the service at dinner was amazing both nights, the main dining room & the brasserie!! Views of the lakes were lovely & thr grounds of the hall. The way they have left around the hotel were so nice to see. We had treatments at the spa & both of us l

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missvcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews