We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding Day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Wedding Day”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We have just had our Wedding at Armathwaite Hall, our day was perfect, the staff were excellent and the service we received from Alicia was exceptional! She was brilliant.
The grounds were beautiful and were perfect for our photo's.
Very happy with the everything and would certainly recommend Armathwaite Hall for any occasion.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    984
    303
    178
    89
    72
See reviews for
314
909
19
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Fab hotel with amazing spa.
Lovely staff. Privately owned and well managed and maintained.
Food was well presented and tasted great in both brasserie and lake view restaurant.
Spa fab, outdoor jacuzzi with beer or wine or champagne a real treat.
Rooms very well appointed and bed very comfortable but standard rooms not over large!
Would recommend. We will go back again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just returned from a 1 night stay at Armathwaite Hall and cannot fault a single aspect.
The check-in was extremely quick even though the hotel was busy with afternoon tea. The porter took our bags to our room which was a Spa Room. Spacious enough with iPod dock, DVD player and flat screen TV,fridge, newly refurbished bathroom with TV in the tiles. Terrace outside which would be nice if it wasnt raining.
The spa was busy on Sunday afternoon but again spacious. All parts were spotless from the pool to the sauna and steam rooms. Drinking champagne in the outdoor hot tub while it was hailstoning was certainly different to other spas.
The evening meal in the LakeView restaurant was one of the best meals I've ever had. The wine wasn't as nice as expecting but the food and the service of the waiters was top quality.
Breakfast was a cold buffet and a hot menu with choices English breakfasts. Again the waiters were extremely polite and the food and views over the lake were enjoyable.
Overall an extremely clean, top quality, friendly luxury hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

A beautiful Hotel, situated in stunning scenary. This hotel was more than we anticipated. We stayed here on a 2 night spa package and was treated to a free room upgrade. Our room, was spotless, exceptionally decorated and the bed was just so comfortable!! Just one downside was the poor tv! Such a shame when every other aspect is to such a high standard! There was a wedding on when we arrived on the Saturday but this did not affect our stay. The spa area was amazing and the treatments we received where second to none. The food here was gorgeous, not a single complaint! We loved the fact that the Hotel has kept traditional standards in the Lakeview restaurant, which meant smart attire had to be worn (no jeans or t-shirts), yet there was also the option of eating in the hotel's second restaurant The Courtyard Brasserie which was a more relaxed affair. I can understand that in old buildings such as this that not all the rooms would be to such a modern standard, however in our opinion this lovely hotel oozes charm, character and traditional values. The staff where nothing but professional, polite and helpful. We will return here. It would be a crime not to!!

Room Tip: Spa rooms are bigger, and offer their own terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Had Sunday lunch with 8 friends and then stayed the night. Great welcome and service. Only disappointment was the bedroom. Although it had everything we needed, it seemed to lack space, being slightly small.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outofthecity57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

A bit of a disappointing arrival to be honest due to a wedding. Mayhem in the carpark and reception. I guess the receptionist could read my mind and quickly defused the situation. The stay improved from then however.

We stayed in a spa room - bathroom fully refurbished even had a tv. Such a shame they haven't gone the whole hog with the rest of the room which is still a bit 70s'ish. Extremely comfortable bed and great soundproofing. We also took our dog and these rooms are ideal for dog owners as they have doors straight outside.

A few steps down the corridor and you enter the new extended part of the hotel with spa and brasserie - absolutely gorgeous!

I definitely think we'll return, maybe even bring the girls for a spa break.

Improvements - if there is a wedding on, and I can totally understand why couples would want to use this place, some further thought needs to be given to other reservations. Additional parking clearly marked, possibly a porter on hand to take luggage at the main entrance while you find a parking space. And consider allowing dogs in some areas of the hotel ie bar.

Room Tip: Spa room if you're taking your dog
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betsy1420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Hi,

We have stayed at armathwait hall on a number of occasions and have also just been to dine and have afternoon tea. The setting is breathtaking with views across bass lake and the Cumbrian fells. The hotel itself was built in the 1500s and oozes character and history. The staff are extremely friendly and can't do enough to make your stay pleasant and enjoyable. Also they work very hard. On the occasions we have stayed there some of the staff that were working 9am where also serving dinner later at 10pm.

Afternoon tea at the Artmathwaite is a very pleasant experience and a bargain given the level of service, the delicious food and relaxing surroundings. The tea is really good too and we want to find out where they source it.

We would highly recommend the armathwait to anyone.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
24.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
9.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,073 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
19.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#2 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armathwaite Hall Country House Hotel and Spa is a beautiful four red star 17th-century former stately home situated near to Keswick on the shores of Bassenthwaite Lake. The hotel and spa is private owned and features forty six bedrooms of individual character from stylish spa bedrooms to the luxury of studio suites with stunning lake views. The rosette fine dining Lake View Restaurant serves table d’hote lunches and dinners in elegant surroundings to both residents and non resident guests. The Courtyard Bar and Brasserie is a stylish modern alternative serving meals in a relaxed atmosphere. Afternoon teas are served daily and are a great way to celebrate with family and friends. Licensed to hold civil ceremonies for romantic weddings up to 150 guests. The award winning spa, offers the best in facilities from the 16 meter infinity edge pool to the luxurious outdoor spa pool, thermal suite and life fitness gym. Ten treatment rooms including a double treatment room offer relaxing and soothing treatments to guests, day spa and members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Armathwaite Hall Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing