We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slightly Disappointed in the Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Slightly Disappointed in the Room”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Had Sunday lunch with 8 friends and then stayed the night. Great welcome and service. Only disappointment was the bedroom. Although it had everything we needed, it seemed to lack space, being slightly small.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outofthecity57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    962
    295
    177
    86
    70
See reviews for
310
888
18
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thirsk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

A bit of a disappointing arrival to be honest due to a wedding. Mayhem in the carpark and reception. I guess the receptionist could read my mind and quickly defused the situation. The stay improved from then however.

We stayed in a spa room - bathroom fully refurbished even had a tv. Such a shame they haven't gone the whole hog with the rest of the room which is still a bit 70s'ish. Extremely comfortable bed and great soundproofing. We also took our dog and these rooms are ideal for dog owners as they have doors straight outside.

A few steps down the corridor and you enter the new extended part of the hotel with spa and brasserie - absolutely gorgeous!

I definitely think we'll return, maybe even bring the girls for a spa break.

Improvements - if there is a wedding on, and I can totally understand why couples would want to use this place, some further thought needs to be given to other reservations. Additional parking clearly marked, possibly a porter on hand to take luggage at the main entrance while you find a parking space. And consider allowing dogs in some areas of the hotel ie bar.

Room Tip: Spa room if you're taking your dog
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betsy1420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Hi,

We have stayed at armathwait hall on a number of occasions and have also just been to dine and have afternoon tea. The setting is breathtaking with views across bass lake and the Cumbrian fells. The hotel itself was built in the 1500s and oozes character and history. The staff are extremely friendly and can't do enough to make your stay pleasant and enjoyable. Also they work very hard. On the occasions we have stayed there some of the staff that were working 9am where also serving dinner later at 10pm.

Afternoon tea at the Artmathwaite is a very pleasant experience and a bargain given the level of service, the delicious food and relaxing surroundings. The tea is really good too and we want to find out where they source it.

We would highly recommend the armathwait to anyone.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Dropped by here for lunch at the brasserie on way home to Newcastle from 2 night stay at New house farm. Really nice lunch of spicy chicken fajitas, sticky toffee pudding and glass of white wine. Nice friendly staff. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shona1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Just returned from a fabulous two night stay (3rd - 5th May) to celebrate our 22nd Wedding Anniversary. Please could I just say that myself and my Hubby have stayed in many Hotels of high calibre, since returning I have read some negative reviews, however we would suggest that Armathwaite Hall is definately scoring high on our favourites!!!! We rarely stay in the same hotel twice, however we are already looking at returning during the christmas festivites.
Please ignore the 'Nit Pickers'!!!!!!!, this beautiful country house is oozing with character and boasts some wonderful displays of Olde English Heritage, (There is a clue in the 'look' of the building as to maybe what can be expected from the inside).
A courtyard extension hosts a magnificent modern and very clean Spa.
Upon arrival we were greeted with refreshments, and had a friendly and prompt check-in. We were shown to our room and offered assistance with luggage. We had a double room in the main part of the Building (Room 171). The room was extremely comfortable and of an adequate size, yes there is a hairdryer fixed into a drawer which requires the switch to be continually pressed whilst in use but that is ok, I wouldnt particularly make a big deal out of it!!
The room was well equipped with refreshments ie, tea, coffe, hot choc, biscuits, bottled water - any of which were replenished at the evening 'turn down' service had we used them during the day, Thankyou.
The bathroom was exceptionally clean, adequate toiletries, heated towel rail and scented toilet paper, power shower, all perfectly acceptable.
The view from the window was over the courtyard (not picturesque) however once we had found the Spa we were only ever in the room to sleep, so never really noticed the view.
Staff were extremely friendly, polite and very attentive!!!!!
Breakfast was fab, plenty of choice - full english, toast, cereals, croissants, fruit, yoghurts, tea, coffee, juice etc...
We had table in the Lake View restaurant for Dinner and the food was exquisite!!!
Chefs that are absolutely talented in 'fine dinning'!!!!! (My background is as a chef myself, so I also know a little about good fresh quality food, and flavours) The portions sizes were perfect, we ate everything!!!!!
Wine was quality and reasonably priced.
A massive mention to our waiter 'anatoulizs' - He was one of the best we've ever been served by!!
THEN - we found the Spa OMG!!!!!!!! Pure indulgence, we spent two days relaxing in the beautiful facilities. No one EVER hassled us to have any treatments (this was amazing!!) we swam, used the modern gym, enjoyed the thermal suite - aroma room, tropical shower, rainforest shower, steam room, sauna, jaccuzzi, all communal, BUT most of all we thoroughly indulged in the outdoor Hot Tub, enjoying a glass of Champagne to celebrate our Anniversary.
Towels, robes and slippers were all provided, as was shampoo, conditioner and body wash. There was flowing cool drinking water to ensure that you remained well hydrated, and like I said - NO pressure to do anything other than 'Chill out', Relax, and Enjoy.
There was a Brasserie within the Spa environment where we had lunch in our robes one day - very nice.
Two other couples were also sharing our special weekend by celebrating their Wedding Days, it was a pleasure to see them, yet they had no impact upon the tranquility of the rest of the hotel whatsoever.
Unfortunately we did have to eventually check-out, which was also prompt, However!!! Guess what????? YES we were still able to use the Spa facilities for a few hours before travelling back home.

We would really like to thank Armathwaite Hall for a wonderful stay! We will definately be back!!!
If we felt the need to 'Nit pick', after a lot of searching the only thing we could come up with was that the toast was underdone at breakfast - Sorry....

Room Tip: Room 171 in the main building, appropriately furnished, comfortable, adequate size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyBagpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Went to this hotel for a lunch out with a group of 18 ladies. Service on arrival was excellent with our coats taken and drinks served in the comfortable lounge area. Menus duly arrived but with only three choices per course some of the ladies struggled to find a selection to suit them. We then moved to the dining room which was a wonderful setting and the waiters were very well presented and very attentive. I had ordered a starter of salmon gravadlax with beet root and a dill cream. The portion of fish was measly at best and there were four cubes of beet root which were smaller than sugar cubes. The dill cream was just a thin smear on the plate and may as well have been omitted as it brought very little to the dish. I was looking forward to my braised blade of beef for the main course but again I was to be rather disappointed. Whilst the beef was beautifully cooked there was simply not enough of it. The piece was perhaps five centimetres in diameter on top of a thin layer of horseradish mash. The vegetables were turned beautifully but very lonely. Two pieces of turnip and one of carrot. The ladies who had ordered the beef wondered if the other people would fare any better so our disappointment was complete when the other members of the party were served large plates full of food, including the same vegetables as the beef but with the addition of cauliflower and broccoli. The difference between the dishes was striking. When the beef ladies had finished eating after a few minutes, the other ladies were not even half way through their meals.
A complaint should have been made at the time but we all felt we did not want to embarrass or put under pressure the lady who organised the lunch.
I have had a residential stay at this hotel a few years ago and thoroughly enjoyed it but the food was again inconsistent during that stay. However the inconsistencies then were minor in comparison to this times experience.
Cannot fault the service by the waiters who were efficient , friendly and cheerful but I would have expected far better value for money from the food itself. Each choice on a menu should be of equal quality and value as every other choice. Don't think I will be returning to Armathwaite Hall Hotel again for a long time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 804JanetB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I am just writing to thank you and your staff for a wonderful holiday at your hotel.
We stayed between 23rd April and 30th April 2013 in room 140 and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. ALL your staff were polite, efficient, and friendly and we can’t speak highly enough about the way we were treated
We dined in the main Dining room and Bistro, enjoying the food and quality of service in both; the friendliness, and efficiency of staff in both was exemplary.
We did not frequent your Spar per say but I had reason to purchase beauty creams via the reception staff and, me being a typical man, having no idea what I wanted, was reliant on their expertise. My wife and 93 year old neighbour were delighted with my purchase so a big thanks to the young lady at the reception.
Marilyn and I peeked into the Billiard room and after some considerable time were disappointed that we were unable to read more of your “Punch” type cartoons – they are epic!
It was nice to see a good quality hotel catering for dogs - to see people walking their dogs was homely

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Llew500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
17.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
9.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,029 reviews
24.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
4.6 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#2 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armathwaite Hall Country House Hotel and Spa is a beautiful four red star 17th-century former stately home situated near to Keswick on the shores of Bassenthwaite Lake. The hotel and spa is private owned and features forty six bedrooms of individual character from stylish spa bedrooms to the luxury of studio suites with stunning lake views. The rosette fine dining Lake View Restaurant serves table d’hote lunches and dinners in elegant surroundings to both residents and non resident guests. The Courtyard Bar and Brasserie is a stylish modern alternative serving meals in a relaxed atmosphere. Afternoon teas are served daily and are a great way to celebrate with family and friends. Licensed to hold civil ceremonies for romantic weddings up to 150 guests. The award winning spa, offers the best in facilities from the 16 meter infinity edge pool to the luxurious outdoor spa pool, thermal suite and life fitness gym. Ten treatment rooms including a double treatment room offer relaxing and soothing treatments to guests, day spa and members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Armathwaite Hall Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing