We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
The Pheasant Inn(Bassenthwaite)
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lyzzick Hall Hotel(Castlerigg)
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel(Bassenthwaite)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,785)
Filter reviews
1,785 results
Traveler rating
1,073
339
196
96
81
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,073
339
196
96
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe outdoor hot tublake view restaurantarmathwaite hallafternoon teaclub roomhush roomglass of champagnearoma roomcream tealakeview restaurantstately homethermal suiteon arrivalsconescourse mealquichechristmas decorations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,257 - 1,262 of 1,785 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is simply one of the best, the hotel and spa are of the highest quality, without being pretentious. Our last stay was exceptional from the moment we arrived to when we left. The staff are friendly and attentive with nothing to much trouble for them. The food (Breakfast and Dinner) is equally of the highest standard with a very extensive wine list!
The older part of the hotel is very traditional with each room having a unique charm, the newer part surrounds the spa and is nice but not just as charming!
If you want a wonderful weekend away with the Northern Lakes as the backdrop, this must be at the top of your list!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We visited Armathwaite Hall along with friends on 5th April for 2 nights. The building and location are stunning with views to die for but the rooms in the hall (room138) need a complete refurbish.
The bath was so small one could barely sit in it, the towel rail did not heat and it was hit and miss as to whether water came out of the cold tap. The carpet on the stairs leading to our room was stuck down with gaffer tape. On the positive side the spa was wonderful especially the hot tub. The food both at dinner and at breakfast was superb. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We will definitly return but not to room 138

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

hi, went for lunch on the bank holiday Monday expecting the option of a 5 coarse lunch like they do on a Sunday but the menu only gave you a choice of 3 coarses, that said the food was fantastic, this food is not cheap nor is the drinks, 2 gin and tonics, 2 glasses of red wine, 2 starters, 2 mains and 2 puddings cost me £60.00 but this is high end food i don,t mind paying extra for eating in a place like this, the hotel, the ambiance the views and location and the super service is worth every penny.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keekeeowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Booked half board stay 5th April for 2 nights, having just spent a week in Center Parc, Penrith with our grandchildren we thought we would finish off our holiday with a leisure break. The Hall itself is very impressive with fabulous grounds, the setting is perfect, Very friendly staff at reception we were shown to our room No 152, noticed a foisty smell in the corridor leading to the room, disappointed at the room, small and cluttered and could just about see the lake between the trees, pubic hair in the bath was the first thing that put me off and did not quite get the television bit behind the toilet!! however not to be put off booked a meal in the main dining room but as they were did not start serving till 7.30pm decided to go to the brasserie, very friendly staff in there ordered our starters nice enough but the main meal of belly pork was not the best we have had the belly pork was very stringy and i must say i left most of mine including the glass of wine which cost £5.20. For breakfast we has a lovely table in the conservatory by the window with a lovely view of the lake but were again disappointed to find it was a buffet style meal, not freshly cooked and goodness knows how long it stood there, some of the items were lukewarm, offered toast which arrived 1 slice each!! . Had a lovely day out touring around the lakes and arrived back at the hotel in time for evening meal with our relatives who live in the lakes and had come to the hotel for a meal with us, again not the best meal we have had went to the brasserie again I chose the lamb which was nice enough but tiny portions and as my husband and i had paid £46 per evening meal not worth it at all, we did not have a starter and all had the cheesboard so we considered this to be way overpriced!! We did spend a bit of time in the spa and swimming pool which was very nice. Overall not worth the £540 for 2 night stay plus the cost of drinks on top, would not go back again

Room Tip: room 152 has nice view gardens and yo can just see the lake between the trees
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moira053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Myself and my wife stayed here for two nights, this is a wonderful old building, with a great spa that has been sympathetically added, our room was part of the spa complex addition, making spa access excellent. There was a lovely little terrace leading out from our rooms french doors, we had booked a half board option and the food was very good, the cooked cumbrian breakfast was superb, with the staff being very attentive, the staff in the bistro were so friendly and helpful it was a pleasure to dine there, the location is remote, but lends its-self to country walks and various activities that the Hall offers.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davebennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews