We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice Honeymoon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
rugby, warwickshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very nice Honeymoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I came here for 5 nights as part of our honeymoon in June. Overall we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, and the quality of food from the two resturarants superb. We were also very pleasently suprised that well behaved dogs are accepted in the main hotel. Its not cheap but its very classy and i would reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dk401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    936
    292
    169
    86
    69
See reviews for
301
867
18
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

My partner and i, needed a weekend break to re-charge our batteris. We found a wonderfull Hotel that had it all for both of us. The Hotel was like a step back in time ,with all modern amenities, very relaxing, with period surroundings, topped with health spa and swiming pool etc. all the hotel staff are very professional, polite,and couldnt do enough for us. The food in the restaurant, was prepared, served, with attention to detail.

Room Tip: All rooms have fantastic views, just pick what you prefer, lake view, open country side, they are al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Having been treated to this for my 40th birthday I decided to return the favour for my wife's 40th. Full brownie points received! I cannot see how anyone could ask for more from a hotel. The setting is wonderful the food is absolutely first class and the spa offers a real treat. I would also recommend the lovely oak paneled lounge for a lovely relaxing pot of tea in front of the roaring fire. Just perfect. From what I could see I would agree that the experience could be a little different staying in the rooms along the corridor - I suppose it would depend how much time you intend to spend in your room. (you still have access to the rest of the hotel). I'll be honest there is no way we could afford to pay these prices very often but if you like the Lakes and the romance of a beautiful English Country House then look no further. if this place doesn't your heart then nowhere will!

Room Tip: Don't feel you have to have a lake view - our room on the other side was grand and had lovely op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryfromLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, UK
Level Contributor
209 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

My Sister kindly treat me to a Spa here in October and I have to say it was a wonderful day. From first walking into the Spa we received a warm welcome and a tour of the gym, pool room, spa area all of which was amazing!

We then both had appointments for a massage which was pure bliss, we were wrapped in fur blankets and given complimentary drinks and biscuits. We then finished off our afternoon soaking in the hot tub overlooking the beautiful woodland gardens.

A beautiful escape from everday life and I will definitely be going again for a treat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland UK
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Spent two indulgent days at this fabulous old hall staying in the biggest bedroom we've ever seen! Our Travelzoo deal gave us an upgrade to a superior room overlooking the lake. Far superior to the rooms in the annexe leading to the spa. Supper in the Brasserie was (part of the deal) very good and can recommend the goats cheese starter and lamb. The spa is large, light, and modern with friendly staff and extremely good massages. Snoozing afterwards in the Hush room on a lounger under a fur throw is highly recommended. As is a dip in the outdoor hot tub looking out over the lush and peaceful gardens - even in November! This wonderful old hall full of character and in a stunning setting, and the ultra modern spa, combine to make an excellent and extremely relaxing break. And Keswick is minutes away by car.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JubileePhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night, a mid week spa break. The hotel is indeed old and full of charm. Thankfully we had a room in the main building (126) as the rooms towards the spa don't look too appealing.
The spa is one of the best we have visited, topped off by fantastic treatments! Only criticism is the lack of 'service' while using the spa facilities. Drinks are served in the outdoor hot tub but you have to go back to reception to order!
We ate in the main dining hall and it was without doubt a superb meal, great service and very comfortable, whilst remaining formal.
Breakfast was also very enjoyable, promptly served and a good selection.
Make time for a walk down to the lake and relax by the open fire with a glass of vino!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S99SSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Had lunch in the Brasserie Sunday gone, menus were brought and drinks offered quickly.
Great selection on the menu , i opted for the burger which when it arrived looked gorgeous and tasted as good as it looked
Service all afternoon was brilliant from the young Spanish lady who personally recommended the wine , which was superb.
Cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KEVCO36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
17.9 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
9.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
24.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
2.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
18.6 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#2 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armathwaite Hall Country House Hotel and Spa is a beautiful four red star 17th-century former stately home situated near to Keswick on the shores of Bassenthwaite Lake. The hotel and spa is private owned and features forty six bedrooms of individual character from stylish spa bedrooms to the luxury of studio suites with stunning lake views. The rosette fine dining Lake View Restaurant serves table d’hote lunches and dinners in elegant surroundings to both residents and non resident guests. The Courtyard Bar and Brasserie is a stylish modern alternative serving meals in a relaxed atmosphere. Afternoon teas are served daily and are a great way to celebrate with family and friends. Licensed to hold civil ceremonies for romantic weddings up to 150 guests. The award winning spa, offers the best in facilities from the 16 meter infinity edge pool to the luxurious outdoor spa pool, thermal suite and life fitness gym. Ten treatment rooms including a double treatment room offer relaxing and soothing treatments to guests, day spa and members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Armathwaite Hall Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing