We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,890)
Filter reviews
1,890 results
Traveler rating
1,132
358
211
104
85
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,132
358
211
104
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslakeview restaurantthe outdoor hot tubarmathwaite hallafternoon teaclub roomaroma roomquichehush roomglass of champagnecream teadress codestately homethermal suiteon arrivalsandwichescourse mealmain restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
1,438 - 1,443 of 1,890 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night, a mid week spa break. The hotel is indeed old and full of charm. Thankfully we had a room in the main building (126) as the rooms towards the spa don't look too appealing.
The spa is one of the best we have visited, topped off by fantastic treatments! Only criticism is the lack of 'service' while using the spa facilities. Drinks are served in the outdoor hot tub but you have to go back to reception to order!
We ate in the main dining hall and it was without doubt a superb meal, great service and very comfortable, whilst remaining formal.
Breakfast was also very enjoyable, promptly served and a good selection.
Make time for a walk down to the lake and relax by the open fire with a glass of vino!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S99SSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Had lunch in the Brasserie Sunday gone, menus were brought and drinks offered quickly.
Great selection on the menu , i opted for the burger which when it arrived looked gorgeous and tasted as good as it looked
Service all afternoon was brilliant from the young Spanish lady who personally recommended the wine , which was superb.
Cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEVCO36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a one night stay at the hall and it feels like we've been away for longer. Driving down the long winding drive, you leave the rest of the world behind and enter a picturesque setting of days gone by. We were greeted by a big smile, a glass of sherry and a young man who collected our luggage and showed us to our room - plus the offer of discounts on treatments in the Spa.

Ok so it's expensive, we paid £200 for bed and breakfast and the drinks are 4* prices, but again they come with a smile and very quick and attentive service - I'm not sure how this price reflects other hotesl of similar character but the log fires, cleanliness and wonderful views made this feel like a really special experience.

The best bit of the whole trip was having a glass of bubbly (£9.00 a glass) in the outside hot tub on a cold and frosty evening, I really didn't want to leave it but stopped so that I could try out the free treatment room, which includes a sauna, steam room, aromatherapy steam, another inside jacquzi and a blast tap which you switch on to blast the back of your neck in a never ending relaxation of the shoulder muscles - wonderful

Our room in the main house overlooked the court yard and although cozy was exceptionally decorated with a bath that was enormous and had a double shower, the toiletries were of good quality and we had robes and slippers to relax in. The bed was very comfy with soft bedding and a nice touch, I thought was the small bowl of fresh fruit that had been left for us, with the usual tea/coffee biscuit selection. I am glad that we asked for a room in the main building as I did feel sorry for the occupants of the rooms leading to the spa, because as we walked down, although not trying to be noisy, our foot steps echoed which cannot have been good for that area of the accommodation. Plus there was a musty smell in that area.

Breakfast lived up to the hotel, with a vast selection of muffins, pastries, fruits, hams, cheeses, cereals and speciality teas. We opted for the cooked English and there was so much that I couldn't finish - all this was set within the Lake view conservatory which was wonderful first thing in the morning.

We were asked on check out, which was efficient and equally as smiling whether we wanted assistance with our bags, but we declined, we were then wished a safe journey home. If I had lots more cash, then I'd certainly go back, as this was a real treat.

Room Tip: Avoid the corridor rooms to the spa, ask for one in the main building.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateWill76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We visited this wonderfull place with family in order to experience the Downton Abbey style afternoon tea. The setting is superb, the building is amazing, the views from the main area were staight out onto the lake. I could get used to this lifestyle very quickly. Afternoon tea was served in a splendid manner but with good humour and fantastic attention to detail. We spent the whole afternoon relaxing, eating, enjoying the company and the view, then wandered through the building and grounds before tearing ourselves away feeling very replete. We were presented with beautifully packaged "leftovers" as we were leaving. If we get back to the Lakes we intend staying in this Hotel and experiencing the full treatment. Awesum

Room Tip: Check sites like this one before booking!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

had a two night stay in Oct 2012, the grounds, hotel and spa facilities were fabulous. The best bit was the breakfast and with a view of the lake. The choice at the spa, the outdoor hot tube that lights up and allows you to feel like a lottery winner. very dog friendly. had a great time, definatley going back. The HAWORTH's

Room Tip: our room was dog friendly with a terrace and was lovely.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheHaworths08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews