We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,904)
Filter reviews
1,904 results
Traveler rating
1,141
362
212
104
85
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,141
362
212
104
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lakeview restaurant the outdoor hot tub armathwaite hall afternoon tea club room aroma room quiche hush room glass of champagne cream tea dress code stately home thermal suite on arrival sandwiches course meal main restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
1,516 - 1,521 of 1,904 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2012

My husband booked this hotel and Spa for a one night treat, for our wedding anniversary. It was absolutely fantastic, could not fault a simple thing. Sherry offered on arrival in reception. Shown to our room which was amazing (husband particularly loved the television in the bathroom!) Big fluffy dressing gowns on the bed, small bowl of fruit and bottled water.
We had a massage booked in the spa, but we spent a couple of hours in the spa before, fantastic, relaxed facilities, the outside hot tub/jacuzzi was great, even though it was raining you didn't notice the weather, with spectacular garden views.
The restaurant/food in the evening was lovely, and our waiter was so funny but polite, could not fault the staff at all. As for breakfast - again fantastic, sat in the conservatory with a lakeside view - brillant.
Only one bad comment - why didn't my husband book it for two nights - joking aside it is a bit expensive but it is worth every penny and as a special treat, it is a fantastic place. We are definately going back at the end of the year for a xmas/birthday treat this time instead of doing presents.
We cannot have enough priase and good comments for this hotel.
Fantastic, out of this world, brillant etc...........

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

The impressive drive up to the Hall was matched by the friendly welcome from the staff. The public rooms are beautiful and immaculately maitained. Our room was large with a wonderful view of the gardens and lake beyond. It combined a relaxing country house feel with an excellent modern batroom and facilities..The service from all the staff during our 3 day stay was friendly and very attentive, including providing an extra menu of additional choices because we do not eat meat. The food and service were simply first class.
A memorable stay in a beautiful part of the Lakes and excellent value too.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main Hall for that true Country House feel
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

totally relaxing first class experience ,at a price but worth every penny! Rooms luxurious,food excellent and spa and treatments divine. You won't be disappointed

Room Tip: Splash out on a Garden room for comfort and luxury
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed recently booking with Secret Escapes. We had such a lovely relaxing time. Arrived lunch time on the Friday, warmly welcomed at reception we were informed our room wasn't quite ready (but we were early) and they would arrange to collect out robes as we had treatments booked in the spa an hour after we arrived. The housekeeper appeared and our room was ready so had time to sort ourselves out before heading to the Spa. We had a king spa room, so a short walk to the Spa & the Brasserie. Room was pleasantly decorated and looked quite recent, but was let down by not changing the wardrobe doors which were cheap ply board. The bathroom was lovely with a huge bath and TV, towels nice & big and fluffy.
Spa is stunning and has a slight Aqua Sana (Center Parcs) feel about it. We both had a massage in the dual treatment room, both done well a great start to the weekend.
Headed for afternoon tea later (upgraded from a cream tea as part of the package), we sat at a table in the window overlooking lake Bassenthwaite, have to say though very quiet we were the only ones in there as the was a small wedding on needed a little atmosphere. Couldn't finish all served, tried to find a member of staff to box it up but couldn't find anyone so just took it away on a plate.
Meal booked in the Brasserie also included in our package (could of upgraded to lake view restaurant but there is a dress code). The food hot and delicious, the sticky toffee pudding is a must. No real atmosphere and more staff that guests but service was good. The music was also a little random with love songs playing needed something more up tempo. Headed back to the main bar for a drink, pricey but expected.
Breakfast plenty of choice & hot on the buffet, would of liked to of seen though skimmed milk and cranberry juice. Food cooked to order liked poached eggs if required. We were seated in the conservatory with more lovely views of the lake and beyond.
Took cream tea again later in the afternoon, make sure you BOOK, it was very busy.
We booked facials in the spa which were both very good, and the hush room afterwards very relaxing.
Dinner in the Brasserie again very good couldn't fault the service but still very quiet, which sort of lets it down but there was another wedding so most guests there.
Pool & hot tub looked great just didn't get round to using it, will be next time.

Overall a really lovely hotel and will be going again.

+ Points - Very comfy beds, great breakfast and a very good spa

- points - staff sometimes very hard to come by, lack of atmosphere in the Brasserie and one for the ladys, take your own hairdryer - motel style fixed in the drawer type with only 2 speeds not what I would of expected in a hotel of this quality

Room Tip: Spa rooms have little courtyards, we were very lucky and had good weather so was able to sit outside
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jones7778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Very expensive but worth ever penny! The welcome from the reception on the spa was outstanding! The pool and outdoor hot tub is fantastic with such amazing views. I also had lunch in the spa- i went for the the chicken salad, which was perfect. The highlight of the day was my treatment with Claira Hew at first I was a bit unsure about having reflexology of such a young girl who looked like she had spent more time in the gym and at make up counter than she would in treatments but how wrong i was! This girl is the most inspiring person I have met in a long time not only did she give me a world class treatment, she also had so much knowledge, passion and enthusiasm. She also gave me advice on my over all health and well being. Such a wise girl for a young age and I will return to see her to thank her one day, as i was reborn when i left. Best treatment and spa i have ever been to and I am among some of the best living in London! Afternoon tea in hotel was perfect although the service was a bit slow but well worth the wait as the views were the lake district at its best! . I am looking to return at christmas!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank London_Gal857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews