We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I took my wife for an overnight stay at Armathwaite Hall and i must admit the place is very impressive! The hotel has fantastic views of the lakes and mountains which just looked like a picture postcard. The grounds are a delight to walk round and you could see all the wild rabbits running round. Staff are very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We were part of a package that was booked through Secret Escapes which included afternoon tea, a glass of bubbly in the hot tub and your evening meal. The only thing i would suggest is that you are told exactly what you can have. We had to ask twice for the drink in the hot tub and we felt a bit awkward having to ask for things that were included. This did not spoil the day though. Our room was on the second floor which was handy for reception. We did not have a very good view from the window, but again this did not spoil our time there! Food was great, but beware the drinks are very expensive, which you expect anyway in this sort of hotel. The spa is fantastic! I would recommend it. Overall a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake at the back of the hotel
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank turbs59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,661)
There are newer reviews for Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,292 - 1,298 of 1,661 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2012

My wife booked a night at Armathwaite hall for our 10th wedding anniversary on a dinner, B&B, cream tea deal.

From the moment we arrived at the hotel the staff were absolutely fantastic and more than happy to help - it was great to see staff who combined service and humour. In particular the French waitress in the Brasserie was outstanding and the way she interacted with the children eating was out of this world (very different from some reviews claiming the hotel is child unfriendly).

Our room was in the main building and was very tastefully decorated with stunning views across Bassenthwaite and a very stylish and modern bathroom including a mirror that was actually a TV. There was also a lovely touch of a box of chocolates and a congratulations card from Simon the manager.

The night we stayed there was a wedding on but there were no problems with noise whatsoever.

The spa is modern and very well maintained and tranquil. I appreciate some peoples comments about children not being allowed but this was a bonus for us.

Overall I'm struggling to find anything at all to fault and can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

My husband booked a night at Armathwaite to celebrate our anniversary. Our beautiful room was very large with wonderful views over the lawn towards the lake. So many doors leading to the loo (raised on a plinth in a tower), a small walk-in wardrobe, a huge bathroom (sunk in bath, TV! Set in the wall, wonderful shower) and a secret spiral staircase! leading to a larged decked area with views to die for.
The spa, and I love my spas, was one of the very best, with exceptional staff and a wonderful massage that literally was head to toe. Easter meant children in the pool but not the outdoor hot tub where champagne is served if you want it, and we sat in the sun, looking at the view enjoying the bubbles.
Dinner was a joy! From the tiny cup of asparagus soup, to the handmade chocolates served in front of the fire. Every mouthful was a delight!!
Breakfast was good but if a little busy, (the hotel was full). I found the copper lidded servers heavy to lift and caused a bit of a queue,
Staff at Armathwaite are helpful, pleasant, efficient in a nice way, not stuffy. The walk around the grounds is lovely in an unspoilt way, the walk goes through the caravan park back to the hotel.
I would love to return to Armathwaite and I am sure we will, very soon. Very well done to the whole team.

Room Tip: We checked out a more basic room for next time, it was very well appointed with a small walled outdo...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisnSue2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed on 1 night spa package break with a friend. The hotel is impressive as you drive up to the entrance - very old and traditional with a spectacular setting overlooking the lake. We had a twin club room - very top floor with a great balcony overlooking the gardens and part of the lake. Room was good, quite spacious and traditionally decorated with a decent bathroom. Water in shower was very underpowered but it is an old building and we were high up! Hotel staff were all friendly and helpful.

The best part of our stay was the spa - it was the best I have seen. It all looked very new and the outdoor hot tub is fantastic. The treatment rooms are all upstairs and the whole experience was relaxed; I had a facial (it was fabulous) and a lovely relaxing back/neck massage. The relaxation room used after treatments was a plus too.

We ate in the restaurant in the evening - great setting and good service. The food was excellent, apart from a steak I ordered which was very fatty and tough (and no steak knives provided). The food in the spa bistro was good too - we only ate there during the day but it is open at night. Breakfast was a hot or cold serve yourself buffet.

All in all, a thoroughly relaxing place to stay. The weather wasn't good but it didn't affect our stay at all. Highly recommended whether for a group, a couple or with a friend.

Room Tip: Ring ahead and be specific about your needs. The club room on the very top floor was great for the p...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacquelineroby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Well what can I say... We have just had afternoon tea and I must say it is the best I have ever experienced:)
The location is amazing with stunning views. The service was superb and the food is simply delicious. So much we even had to take some home. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonKatB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I visited Armathwaite hall to celebrate my 30th Birthday and was pleasantly surprised. It really is 5 star luxury. My boyfriend and I sipped a glass of champagne in the outside hot tub, which was a memory I will never forget.

The spa treatments were also amazing and the food was lovely although I did find a hair in my burger... which cost £13!!!


All in all, it was a lovely trip but I think rather expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I rate "Excellent" because overall it was the PERFECT stay for a much needed holiday (Service, Staff Responsiveness, Condition of Rooms, Grounds, Food). It was rural enough to give you quiet dawns and dusks, but close enough to Keswick that you didn't feel so isolated. The staff were all professional -- and Jemma (sp??) was AWESOME...she was able to put me into a Lakeview room w/ canopy bed and it was beyond amazing! I'm still amazed by the entire stay.

Pictures won't do it justice--especially if you are the kind who likes hills, lakes, hikes, long walks...your eyes must witness the place in real life. The Hall itself is stately but not so much that you feel like you can't touch anything. It's very inviting.

Here are the things to keep in mind: 1) sometimes wedding folks can be rowdy and the walls won't keep out VERY LOUD noises. First night there, a wedding party (the guests) decided it was in their best interest to raise a raucous until about 4am. They were on my side of the house so unfortunately, I heard it all -- but since I was still jet-lagged and it was someone's wedding day, i let it slide. Otherwise, they should have been warned, told to be quiet, or go home. 2) if there is a wedding party and you want to eat at the Brasserie and no one's there, don't be afraid to get one of the staff to find the colleague who's supposed to be "manning" the Brasserie...one of the nights, there was a wedding reception and while the Brasserie was open, no staff were there, so I went to the Spa and got one of the staff there to find their colleagues...and 2 minutes later the person was taking my order... Brasserie food is good though and they accommodated my dietary needs without complaint every time. 3) No lift / elevator in the house but the staff are VERY helpful with luggage.

Honestly, the entire stay was excellent -- but if you're one of those who would be very upset at anything I mentioned above, you should call them and get a weekend where a wedding is likely -- good luck, cause it's so beautiful out there that I can see why it's a popular destination. Can't wait to return one day...

Room Tip: Get a double so you get a bigger bed -- and I'd say go for a room with a Lakeview -- to wake up...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveller2177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
24.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
9.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,128 reviews
19.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
2.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
542 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#2 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range: $257 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armathwaite Hall Country House Hotel and Spa is a beautiful four red star 17th-century former stately home situated near to Keswick on the shores of Bassenthwaite Lake. The hotel and spa is private owned and features forty six bedrooms of individual character from stylish spa bedrooms to the luxury of studio suites with stunning lake views. The rosette fine dining Lake View Restaurant serves table d’hote lunches and dinners in elegant surroundings to both residents and non resident guests. The Courtyard Bar and Brasserie is a stylish modern alternative serving meals in a relaxed atmosphere. Afternoon teas are served daily and are a great way to celebrate with family and friends. Licensed to hold civil ceremonies for romantic weddings up to 150 guests. The award winning spa, offers the best in facilities from the 16 meter infinity edge pool to the luxurious outdoor spa pool, thermal suite and life fitness gym. Ten treatment rooms including a double treatment room offer relaxing and soothing treatments to guests, day spa and members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Armathwaite Hall Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing