We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2007

This was our second stay at Armathwaite and was just as perfect as before.

From the moment we checked in, the service was FIRST CLASS.

The staff were friendly, attentive and happy to help with any request.

The hotel was beautifully maintained and a pleasure to be in.

The food served was out of this world.

Most importantly, it was the little things that made all the difference...

A sherry whilst we checked in, fantastic room service (our bed was turned down whilst we were at dinner!), staff always around to help you however they could. All this in a beautiful landscape.

Armathwaite Hall is worth every single penny.

Shaun and Kerry, Stoke on Trent.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank shaunandkerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,678)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,604 - 1,610 of 1,678 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2007

Background:

We estimate that this is our 7th visit to the Armathwaite Hall Hotel (AHH). Our first visit, back in 1997, was for our wedding and since then we have been back for Christmas celebrations several times and once in the summer of 2001. Although we thoroughly enjoy Christmas at the hotel this review is specifically about this most recent visit.

Our group for this visit comprised of myself, my wife and two children aged 3 and 8.

Since our last visit 2006 a couple of noticeable changes have taken place. Firstly our normal family room (165) had been refurbished and as a result seemed more spacious. This is probably because individual chairs had been replaced by a corner sofa. Our understanding is that this is part of a refurbishment programme taking place throughout the hotel.
The second notable change is the addition of an impressive conservatory on the rear of the hotel which runs parallel to both the restaurant and the Lake Room. Although we had no problem eating in the main restaurant as frequent visitors this made a nice change although this time of year the evenings are fairly dark and there isn’t a lot to see outside!

In our numerous visits to the hotel we have never have had one bad experience. We have found that all of the staff that we have dealt with to be friendly and helpful. I believe that this is an ethos with is empowered from the top. For example, when we arrived on the Friday afternoon we were (literally) greeted with open arms by one of the hotel owners and senior managers.
What makes this hotel very special for us is not only the beautiful location but the quality and warmth of service. Although the hotel is about 300 miles from home we know that at the end of the drive we can relax and when we leave to come home again we feel thoroughly refreshed.

I have to admit at being concerned by the presence of “Construction traffic” warning signs at the entrance to the hotel but we later found out that these related to the construction of the new spa complex which is due to open at the end of 2008. Even when we were down in the existing spa complex, which is near to where the construction work is taking place, at no point in time did the construction work interfere with our enjoyment of our stay.
In summary, if you recognise and enjoy the finer things in life we recommend this hotel to you. We can honestly say that we already planning our next trip “up north”

Our only two complaints? Having to take the kids with us and having to come home!

Note one of the attached pictures (viewfromlakeroom.jpg) was taken from a previous visit in December 2005

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bugsy1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2007

Unfortunately Armathwaite Hall is typical of many hotels in the UK: under-performing, therefore over-priced.

I was a little surprised at their rather aggressive reservation policy that requires a NON-REFUNDABLE £50 deposit to be paid at the time of booking. Any cancellations within 48 hours will incur a 100% room charge, with 50% payable if cancelled within 7 days.

The room I was offered was rather tired and had extensive mildew stains between the bathroom tiles - not surprising considering that there was no extractor fan in the bathroom!
I asked for a different room which was provided without fuss. This was a refurbished room and a considerable improvement on the first one, although brief but regular bursts of activity from the hot water system cirulation pump (I think) proved a little bothersome. Whilst searching for the concealed On switch of the LCD TV my fingers picked up a lot of dust from the top edge of the set. Also, one of the light bulbs in the room didn't work.

It is this lack of attention to detail that prevents the Armathwaite Hall from being a lovely hotel in a lovely location.

The hotel redeemed itself a little with the beautiful view from the dining room at breakfast.

In summary, Armathwaite Hall is not a bad hotel, but with better management it could be a good hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Chalfont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2007

I read the horrible review below and my reaction was "This is just not fair!" so having been to Armathwaite Hall in May this year and having experienced the lovely hospitality I felt I had to write a review. First things first:
- Rooms are lovely if a little small (well, that's not to say all of them are small but ours was a wee bit)
- breakfast buffet is not massive but sufficient and products are nice plus the hot breakfast menu is very nice (kippers or haddock are in addition to two or three other main course choices)
- Staff are very pleasant and helpful
- Access to the lake: there is access to the lakethrough the garden and over the bridge in the little wood at the back of hotel. You can easily get to it.
- Also I don't know where the reviewer get this from but the view over the lake is wonderful through the big lounge.
- We were there at the weekend and there indeed was a wedding but it did not affect other guests at all, there was plenty of room for everyone to do what they wanted to do

My advice to future readers here would be please do go and stay at Armathwaite Hall, as I will in the next year again! You will enjoy the experience, the ambience and surely the lovely surrounding area. There are lovely walking routes nearby and the lake is simply beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GlobetrotterNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2007

having recently spent a fantastic week here with my husband,
i just cannot understand the previous review,are we talking about the same place!!, this is our second visit to this hotel and from the moment we arrived until our reluctant departure, we were looked after, the staff are extremly helpful, friendly, and professional, and allways met us with a smile, we ate in the restaurant most evenings,and were never dissapointed, breakfast was excellent, we ate that much we didnt eat again until the evening, exept for the afternoon tea with wonderful homemade biscuits, our room was lovely, and very comfortable, with everything we needed and more, ( i love having my bed turned down for me) and yes there was also a wedding when we stayed, but it didnt put us out, (most hotels have weddings these days i would imagine) and considering how very busy they were, all the staff coped very well and made certain we were happy, i had a conversation with the bride the day after her wedding and she told me she had had a magical wedding and wished she could do it all over again.
we spent a lot of time in the spa which was very relaxing and will be coming back to check out the revamp.
if your looking for designer chic and minimilism then the hotel will not be for you
but if your looking for charm, elegance, beautiful scenery , and friendly people, oh! AND those fantastic homemade biscuits, then you will not be dissapointed, well done armathwaite we for two will certainly recommend you and will look forward to our next visit. 4* hotel 5* service

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Elvira85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2007

This hotel cares only about weddings and conference bookings. They close off the lounge on a busy sunday afternoon so as residents we had nowhere to have tea. The staff are so poorly trained that the porter knew nothing about the room, the chamber maids play radio 1 in the corridors as they work etc. It's so fake, a one star experience dressed up to be four star. They need to get the basics right before building their 4 million pound new spa.
Rooms were dusty and shabby. Linoleum on bathroom floors. Breakfast is a cheap buffet with hot food not cooked to order except kippers and haddock which was badly overcooked and served on cold plates. My mother asked for tomatoes on toast and HALF a vapid tomato came on unbuttered burnt toast. Nobody is managing these staff who seem to rule the place. Just don't go. Always ask if there is a wedding taking place during your stay and frankly stay elsewhere in the lakes - further south is prettier with better views from many hotels. No lake access from this hotel and no care for residents at all. We tried to go elsewhere after our first night but they refused to allow us a refund. This place is all show and no go - so don't go!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank Pippa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2007

Spent 2 nights at Armathwaite Hall to celebrate wedding anniversary and birthday. It was a most enjoyable experience. The bedroom was large and comfortable and was very quiet. The lounges were delightful and the staff very attentive. If I have a complaint it is that the dinner menu is not very adventurous and did not offer the sort of choice that I would have expected. Having said that the food was beautifully cooked and presented. Breakfast in the conservatory overlooking the lake was an excellent start to the day.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richie-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
24.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
9.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,152 reviews
19.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
546 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
18.0 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#2 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range: $262 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armathwaite Hall Country House Hotel and Spa is a beautiful four red star 17th-century former stately home situated near to Keswick on the shores of Bassenthwaite Lake. The hotel and spa is private owned and features forty six bedrooms of individual character from stylish spa bedrooms to the luxury of studio suites with stunning lake views. The rosette fine dining Lake View Restaurant serves table d’hote lunches and dinners in elegant surroundings to both residents and non resident guests. The Courtyard Bar and Brasserie is a stylish modern alternative serving meals in a relaxed atmosphere. Afternoon teas are served daily and are a great way to celebrate with family and friends. Licensed to hold civil ceremonies for romantic weddings up to 150 guests. The award winning spa, offers the best in facilities from the 16 meter infinity edge pool to the luxurious outdoor spa pool, thermal suite and life fitness gym. Ten treatment rooms including a double treatment room offer relaxing and soothing treatments to guests, day spa and members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Armathwaite Hall Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing