We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walk a Hawk! Fantastic experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lake District Wildlife Park

The Lake District Wildlife Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Trotters World of Animals has rebranded to become the Lake District Wildlife Park, representing the transition from its early days as a farm park. Today, emphasis is very much on conservation, education and engaging with visitors - our Keepers are keen to talk and enjoy passing on their knowledge and enthusiasm. Wander around our beautiful 24 acre parkland and see over 100 species. The magical Bird of Prey flying displays have been a regular feature since the park opened and we have gathered an eclectic mix of over 100 species from Anaconda to Zebra. The Granddad of the park is Brian the Lar Gibbon - he is the oldest in Europe and has pride of place in the centre of the park where he and his family can be seen swinging from the massive Oak tree. We joined the Zoo Federation (now BIAZA) in 2002 and over the years we have successfully worked with Zoo stud books to breed rarer species like Canadian Lynx, Asian Fishing Cats and Ring Tailed Lemurs to name just three.
Bristol
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Walk a Hawk! Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

My boyfriend was given a walk a hawk experience for his birthday and he loved it! We live locally and have previously been to Lake District Wildlife Park (back when it was called Trotters). This experience was brilliant. John the falconer was incredibly knowledgeable and funny and made the experience brilliant.

We flew a tiny (and very cute) owl called Alan, then a Harris Hawk which we were able to take around the grounds and finally we flew the Tawny Eagle. A BRILLIANT experience. We were out for an hour and I managed to get some really good photos of the hawks with my boyfriend.

I would recommend this to tourists and locals alike.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank dolce309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    150
    42
    7
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A great place to go during a wet November weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

8.25 per adult and children enter free during the Winter, compare that to getting into Bristol Zoo for example. There may be no gorillas, penguins or lions, as you would find at the aforementioned, however this is more than compensated by the beautiful location and the silence of the Lakes as you head off down some of the tracks. The indoor soft play area is superb idea if the weather turns against you while you there. To be blunt about it I think my five year old had more fun in there playing with the other kids than she did looking at the animals.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bhagwhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Loved the lemurs and baboons running up natural trees
in their enclosures.
Small and cute pigs still remember

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank eldentooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Went here on a whim during a break in the somewhat seasonal weather. What a surprise that this little part of England is home to a wide and varied mixture of creatures. This place is great for a day out with kids and I'd hurry up and visit while they have the micro-pigs.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Owen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely wildlife park, good value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Visited on a showery day on 20 October, and enjoyed every minute. For a small wildlife park, there are a lot of animals - especially small mammals. The meerkats, otters, lemurs and gibbons were delightful: all the animals look well-cared for, and the staff are clearly committed. Really enjoyed hug-a-bunny, watching the otter feeding, and the bird show. The car park/visitor arrival is a bit too understated. The park is great for the little ones (and the big ones who still love animals), and I think it's excellent value. Make sure you stay for the shows, and check out the keeper experience in advance - for an extra £30 you can get up close with the animals.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Biggles17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lake District Wildlife Park also viewed

Bassenthwaite, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Bassenthwaite, Lake District
 

Been to The Lake District Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing