We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kids enjoyed it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lake District Wildlife Park

The Lake District Wildlife Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Trotters World of Animals has rebranded to become the Lake District Wildlife Park, representing the transition from its early days as a farm park. Today, emphasis is very much on conservation, education and engaging with visitors - our Keepers are keen to talk and enjoy passing on their knowledge and enthusiasm. Wander around our beautiful 24 acre parkland and see over 100 species. The magical Bird of Prey flying displays have been a regular feature since the park opened and we have gathered an eclectic mix of over 100 species from Anaconda to Zebra. The Granddad of the park is Brian the Lar Gibbon - he is the oldest in Europe and has pride of place in the centre of the park where he and his family can be seen swinging from the massive Oak tree. We joined the Zoo Federation (now BIAZA) in 2002 and over the years we have successfully worked with Zoo stud books to breed rarer species like Canadian Lynx, Asian Fishing Cats and Ring Tailed Lemurs to name just three.
Sunderland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Kids enjoyed it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Not too big to take forever getting around but enough by the way of animals and activities to keep the kids going

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TandDSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    150
    42
    7
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Keswick, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“same as always spot on.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

been to trotters lots of times the children always really enjoy it. lots of different animals for the children to look at. also a great little cafe serving yummy food. great gift shop 2 but a bit expensive

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank cumbrian-lasso1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

And adults too!!!! Lots to see and do with a good selection of animals and other attractions. Nice areas to just sit and watch the world go by

Helpful?
Thank Hazlehurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli, Libya
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Sadly disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Visited the park based on the website (not trip advisor reviews) and while we did enjoy our visit we found the overall experience disappointing. The entrance fee is high for what's on offer, and a number of the pens were empty as we started to walk around. Thankfully there are enough monkeys to keep you entertained, and enjoyed the talk on meerkats by their keeper.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Llyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“OK for a couple of hours.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Nothing wrong with this place, it's just like many others which can be walked around in an hour or so.
Most suitable for the under 10's I think, any older and they will probably find feeding a goat with grass a bit boring.
I am unsure what I think of the price, seemed expensive for what it is but compared to others places it's probably about right.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank msteve1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lake District Wildlife Park also viewed

Bassenthwaite, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Bassenthwaite, Lake District
 

Been to The Lake District Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing