We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Bassenthwaite, Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
amanda a
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Damp, Cold, Smelly”
Reviewed April 4, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

After really needing a break (4yr old just getting over pneumonia and mother in law who is just recovering from chemo) I was very disappointed.

Firstly the location and views were gorgeous with a lovely garden for the dog. The driveway did run to a main road though and is not closed off. The pub (the sun bassenthwaite) around the corner is top notch.

When we arrived we were greeted and shown round - and all the faults pointed out. The sink in one of the bedrooms was blocked. The light above it did not work. Nor did the light in one of the other bedrooms. The shower was a dribble and only worked if you turned it on a certain way. We were told how to use the fire which runs the hot water and heating. The first thing we did on arrival was put this on as the house being large was freezing. Heat is a basic these days in the winter. It took a few days for it to really warm up and even then it wasn't ever so warm. My son now has an awful cold. The kitchen was always cold. There was an oil rad which we put in the kitchen and moved upstairs to my little boys room at night. The door to the kitchen had to be closed constantly as the stench of cigarette smoke which we can only assume came from the owner who lived next door in a blocked off room/shed was quite frankly disgusting. The whole house smelt of damp. All clothes - even the ones we didn't wear are now being washed as they smell awful. The oven was not big enough for a large family (7) and the aga was out of use! There is no dishwasher. But there was a washing machine and fair size fridge freezer and downstairs loo! We had to ask for extra wood to keep the fire going, This was brought to us but it was no where near enough and we didn't like to have to ask again. There was a little steam in the garden which was pretty. It was all a bit tired and dated and for the price we paid we expected better!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: the smell
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glyndwr99
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Idyllic!”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The photos really don't do Low Kiln Hill justice! Spacious, clean, well equipped, cozy...the list is endless. There were six of us and two Labradors so space inside and out was critical, and we weren't disappointed. The gardens are well tendered with superb views up to Skiddaw and down towards Catsbell. Vicki (the owner) couldn't do enough; even to the point of putting up some temporary barricades in the rain to keep one of our dogs from picking all of the apples off the trees! Some of the reviews commented on the lack of shower but a new, permanent, one has now been fitted over the bath. One feature not shown in the photos is the kitchen - large, well equipped, large porch for muddy boots and the cleanest oven I have ever seen. If you are planning on staying in the North lakes then I would highly recommend Low Kiln Hill.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and position.
Liked least: Trying to lock the back door
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2014
Thank you for your feedback after your stay at Low Kiln Hill, Bassenthwaite, Nr Keswick.

Thank you for recommending Low Kiln Hill to others!

We are delighted you found the accommodation on offer at Low Kiln Hill to be spacious, well equipped and found the owner of the property helpful during your stay.

Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to Low Kiln Hill or another Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewed September 29, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of this property.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in September and that the house was clean and comfortable. The views from the garden are beautiful and we are happy that you were able to enjoy them.

We hope that we can welcome you back to the Lake District again in the future.

Kind Regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brighton
Reviewed August 18, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Shepton mallet
Reviewed August 1, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bourne End Buckinghamshire
Reviewed April 21, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bedford
Reviewed August 24, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing