We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“More than we could have hoped for”
other travelers have booked this property
First garden, poppies and picnic table
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
First garden, poppies and picnic table
Lounge with log burner Double Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
First garden, poppies and picnic table
Lounge with log burner
Double Bedroom
Hallway into bathroom
Single Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom; has separate shower cubicle as well
View from kitchen window
Christmas!
Second garden - more poppies! Kissing chair, and outdoor table for dinning. Out door toys for garden
Summerhouse. Wonderful for sitting in with a book and a glass of vino.
First garden with picnic table
Open in winter!
Cockermouth High Street 7 miles away. Wonderful quaint shops and Wordsworth museum.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Bassenthwaite, Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ali_Steve...
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More than we could have hoped for”
Reviewed May 2, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Where to start...what a beautiful cottage away from the touristy destinations but still close enough for when you are ready to get back in to the hustle and bustle (of the lake district). Lynne and Mark really do make the cottage feel like a home away from home with everything you could ever need to make sure your stay is comfortable (ladies don't worry about bringing the hair dryer or straighteners). The small touches make such a difference and knowing you can come back to put your feet up by the fire after a day of walking definitely helps motivate the non-adventurers of us!! We will definitely be back :)

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the small touches
Liked least: there wasnt anything to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rachelkon...
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Magical Christmas”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our second stay at the beautiful poppy cottage and was even more magical than the first. We stayed over the Christmas period, upon arrival we were welcomed to Christmas decorations and even a tree it was beautiful. We even had fresh eggs and a bottle of vino :) poppy enjoyed her treats too. Although the weather was miserable it was a perfect excuse to cosy up information of the fire. I have fallen in love with this beautiful cottage. Thank you again for a fantastic stay and a fantastic Christmas. Just waiting to plan our next visit.

Date of stay: December 2013
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane D
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cosy home from home!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Poppy Cottage is really lovely and the owners have thought of everything that you could possibly need during your stay.The location is very good for exploring the Lakes with some excellent walks from the village.
On arrival we found welcome gifts of wine, chocolates and new-laid eggs which were much appreciated.The towels were big and fluffy and the bed very comfortable. The stairs were a little steep which would prove a challenge for the elderly or infirmed, but luckily we're not at that stage yet !
For food shopping Cockermouth is nearest, having a Sainsbury and an Aldi.
The cottage has a beautiful garden with a summerhouse, an outhouse with washing machine, tumble dryer and freezer. The views are lovely and if you're lucky enough to have good weather you can sit outside and enjoy the afternoon sunshine.
We took our dog with us and found the cottage very dog friendly. Two bowls were out ready for our dog on a doggy place-mat.
To sum up I would say Poppy Cottage is one of the best and well equipped cottages I have stayed in and I look forwards to visiting again soon.

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and well equipped
Liked least: The steep stairs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet P
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is the best cottage I have ever stay in”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This is a beautiful cottage and is as everything inside that you could ever wish for. The gardens are very dog friendly and my two springer spaniels Tilly and Martha spent many an hour playing and lying in the sun.
The leaflets in the cottage for things to do are the best we have ever come across in a cottage. Big thanks to Lynne and Mark the owners. We will definitely be returning.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about it.
Liked least: Everything was perfect. Couldn't fault this cottage in anyway
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rachelkon...
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Absolutely fantastic little cottage. One of the best well equipped, cosy, clean , comfortable cottages I have ever stayed in. Mark and Lynne have a real gem there and should be very proud of what they have. Seriously could not fault one thing!!! Beautiful garden and friendly neighbours. Thank you for making our honeymoon perfect.

Date of stay: June 2013
Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pludmugge...
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful cottage. Our 'home from home' for a week. Excellent”
Reviewed May 21, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Poppy Cottage is a real credit to its owners. Attention to detail was astounding. The cottage has a real cosy and welcoming atmosphere to it. The whole cottage was really well equipped. All those things you usually forget, were there. Everything was very clean and well maintained. With 2 adults and a 2 year old we all felt truly spoilt. Stair gates and high chair etc. were all provided. My son (Harry) called it 'Harry's house' for the week. He loved the garden. We will definitely be recommending 'Poppy Cottage' to everyone!!!!

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact the owners had made that extra effort to make or stay special.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda E
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
“WONDERFUL COSY COTTAGE WITH EXTRA LUXURIES”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

One of the best cottages we have stayed in, the furniture was very comfortable and cosy. A lot of thought has gone into providing all the necessary items, plus lots more luxuries that we have not found in any other cottage Not only was there a bottle of wine, but also chocolates, eggs, milk, jam, tea, coffee. There was also boxes of tissues in every room, bathroom luxuries such as flannels, body lotion, soap wash and many more.

Date of stay: April 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and cosiness of the cottage
Liked least: No toilet brush in the bathroom
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing