We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A VIP experience”
Review of Melia Coco Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melia Coco Beach
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Rio Grande
Reviewed August 30, 2004

My husband and I went to the Paradisus 8/16-8/20/04. We booked a 1 bdrm royal ste, the hotel and room was breathtaking.............The ride from the airport was about 30-35 min, no problem as soon as we checked in we were ushered into the Royal Guest Lounge w/2 mimosa awaiting us. We had a upgrade with package we booked (oceanview) no problem they took care of it while we where at our adults only pool in the private cabana.....This resort are for those seeking a calm relaxing vacation with premium drinks and service. I would like to thank Jose (our butler) & Veronica in (Royal Service)..........we had a great time Tonya & Cliff

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 30andover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,644 - 5,650 of 6,542 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Milwaukee, WI
13
Reviewed August 19, 2004

Just came back from our honeymoon stay at the Paradisus. We had a wonderful honeymoon here. We had a room in the 1300 building with a great view of the mountains and the landscaped grounds. Service was outstanding. We ordered room service half of the nights we were there and we always got our food within 30 minutes. The room was great. Very clean. The bathrooms are nice with an outstanding shower and nice sized tub. The air conditioning was excellent. The lunch buffet at the Grill was just ok, with a limited menu. The breakfast buffet there, however, was excellent. We had two outstanding dinners at the Italian restaurant. The pool is wonderful. The beach is just ok--not really a swimming beach. Still, the beach area is shallow so one can safely enjoy boating or paddling (this was important to us since my wife cannot swim). We rented a car for a day and went to El Yunque and shopped at the outlet mall. We used Cabrerra rental (50 bucks for day). Highly recommend renting car rather than taking taxis or organized day trips. Everyone was very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. We will definitely return again.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Bronx, New York
13
Reviewed August 16, 2004

Just returned froma week's stay at Paradiscus. The place was fabulous, the grounds were very impressive. We were always made to feel at home. Edwin at the Royal Service Pool was the greatest. Jennifer at the front desk, knew us by sight and always looked for us at events. We did have a few complaints, slow bathtub, light out and it was fixed immediately when we told the front desk. The followup calls to make sure the work was completed was unbelievable. The restaurants were good, Bamboo and Romantico were superb. The other restaruants feature buffets - sometimes good, sometimes okay. Everything was plentiful and the Towel have to be the plushest towels I used at a hotel in a long time. The conceriege level was great. Always someone there to point you in the right direction. The drinks were made to order. Frankie was by far the best service staff member, He drove us around in the golf cart and showed us everything. Emillio, Roberto, Dario just to name a few were excellent. We are still looking for our butler Alex- actually just kidding, last day we found him : )

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Oklahoma City, OK
11
Reviewed August 10, 2004

This resort is beautiful! The staff is helpful, the food is very good, and the grounds are incredible! Our only complaint is that the beds were so hard it was unpleasant to even sit on them.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Raleigh, NC
19
Reviewed August 5, 2004

The resort was beautiful, and the accomodations great, but the management plays games with the restaurants. Paradisus won't take restaurant reservations until you check in. Half hour after check in, we were told both Bamboo and Romantico were full for both nights of our stay. My husband paid the concierge and we were given lunch at Bamboo, dinner at Romantico. 10 tables were open for 3 hours at Romantico! They are obviously boxing people out of the expensive restaurants and sending them to the buffets--where the food is cheap and terrible. Inexcusable in an all-inclusive. I'd never go back. Oh, and the beach is miserable.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
NYC NY
13
Reviewed August 1, 2004

Beautiful grounds.. great pool.. good food..nice staff..BUT NO BEACH..IF YOUR LOOKING FOR A BEACH RESORT THIS IS NOT THE PLACE...the sand is very rocky,you must wear sandals or you will cut your feet on the rocks,the water is not your typical clear carb.beach water it is murky and always appears dirty,we never saw anyone swimming at the beach. I attempted to go in the water,BUT MY FOOT GOT STUCK IN THE MUD!Also they could have more activities for kids,our three kids started to get bored..On the whole the place needs some help..especially the beach.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Newark, DE
229
Reviewed July 27, 2004

I recently stayed at the Paradisus Resort and your first impression of the actual resort is awe. The resort is beautiful. The detail in the architecture and the decorating is great. The Lobby, the pool, and the grounds are beautiful.

Upon our arrival, we were offered a tour by Emilio, one of the bellman. He was great. He gave us a tour aboard a golf cart and escorted us to our room. The rooms are truly nice. Very large. Big bathrooms with large soaking tubs, bath robes, a king sized bed (yes, it was very hard), a sitting area and a balcony.

We attempted to experience every facet of the resort....each of the restaurants, the casino, the pool, etc. The food in the restaurants was good, however the service was lacking, with the exception of the Romantico and Bamboo, which provided good service. The casino was tiny and not very exciting. The pool was nice. Very large, nice built in loungers and even cabanas with padded mattresses nearby.

My few complaints, I'll simply list:
-Mattress was entirely too hard. Drink enough so as to just pass out!
-Activities at the resort were limited. Basically you could eat, drink, swim, gamble and do it again! I recommend renting a car and experiencing the island.

**My Number 1 Complaint!!!!! - Apparently they sell day passes ($100) to residents of the island. This wouldn't be too bad, but we had a number of busses come one day. Nothing against the locals, after all I am PR, but the resort was overtaken by many many kids and teenagers who were very loud and boisterous and naturally weren't very caring for those of us who spent the money to be there to enjoy the tranquility of the resort. My suggestion would be to limit the number of day passes!!!! Peace and quiet one day, and then all hell broke loose at the pool for two days. It wasn't too much fun!

12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
1.8 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
15.2 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
19.5 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 47 in San Juan
7,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar
18.4 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
18.6 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Coco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Coco Beach

Address: 200 Coco Beach Blvd | Highway 955-I, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
#4 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range: $161 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Coco Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an idyllic location on Puerto Rico's northeastern coast in Coco Beach, Rio Grande, Melia coco beach Puerto Rico brings the privacy and exclusivity you deserve and allows you the opportunity to escape from the rest of the world. From the moment you step inside this tropical oasis, you will be enveloped by the beauty and grandeur of Melia coco beach Puerto Rico. Boasting a world-class YHI spa, the nearby International Golf Club and the best pool on the island with four integrated whirlpools, Melia Puerto Rico is the place to live the true resort experience in Puerto Rico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Coco Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Hotel Rio Grande
Gran Melia Rio Grande
Sol Melia Rio Grande
Paradisus Puerto Rico
Melia Coco Beach Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing