We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Gran Melia experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Rio Grande
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My Gran Melia experience”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Ok so I visited the Gran Melia resort with my boyfriend and a couple friends of ours from July 3rd-July8th. Let me start by saying that this resort has the potential to become a really great resort. However my experience was not that good.

The rooms: Clean and just as shown in picture nothing fancy. They were clean every morning. Although in one occasion we had to ask for extra towels.

The pool: Big clean but definitely needs an upgrade!

Restaurants: We dine at two restaurant while there Passion and Nashi. At Passion the service was horrible. We waited for ever to get our food and the waitress was not attending at all. At Nashi the service was better and the food was decent not spectacular just good enough to eat.


Room Service: Was horrible they would take over an hour to deliver that food.

Overall the resort seems like it’s under staff and a bit over pricey. Considering that is not an all inclusive resort you would think that quality and service would be better but sadly this was not the case. I personally won’t be going back to Gran Melia Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Lizzie R,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments which are always welcome and for considering us as your vacation destination.

Kindly accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience you had in our restaurant Pasion, also for the service received by their waitress. I assure you we take into consideration our guests’ feedback in order to continue striving for excellence.
We certainly hope for our guests to have far better than an average stay.

We would love to welcome you back, should you ever decide to give us another opportunity, feel free to contact me directly at GMPRGuestExperience@granmeliapr.com.

Cordially,

Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director
GMPRGuestExperience@granmeliapr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,813
    1,679
    1,131
    841
    804
See reviews for
2,045
2,414
92
374
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,420)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marion, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is now our favorite resort in Puerto Rico. We just returned from a vacation in Puerto Rico and we booked 2 rooms for 2 nights in the Gran Melia. This was our 3rd time staying in the resort and we will definitely return!

Hotel facilities and grounds are amazing. Very well cleaned and maintained. My family loves the hotel's pool. Pool area, Bar area and restaurants are also great!

The only complaint we have was that during our stayed, the housekeeper clean the room but doesn't leave any clean towels. We called to request towels and front desk said that they will take care of it. 30 minutes later, I called again. This time they said that someone will bring the towels within 15 minutes. 25 minutes later we were still waiting. We called again and the same. At the end, we were a family of 5 waiting to take a shower to get out that night but no towels. Someone finally showed up with the towels after more than an 90 minutes waiting.
Other than that, everything in the hotel was great!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauricio O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Mauricio O,

Thank you for your continued patronage, and for your valuable feedback from recent your stay in Gran Melia Golf Resort.

I am very happy to learn that we have once again surpassed your expectations and that we were able to make your family vacations enjoyable. Please accept our apologies for the delay with the towel delivery, we are currently working with our housekeeping department regarding this matter.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your "favorite resort", so that you may continue enjoying the wonders of our Resort.

Sincerely yours,

Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director
GMPRGuestExperience@grnameliapr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

The entire lobby area is absolutely gorgeous, and the whole resort was built quite beautifully. The staff are friendly, and mostly try to be helpful, but I feel they and the facilities are poorly managed.

We reserved a room with two beds (there were four of us), but were told on arrival that they only had a room with a bed and a couch — the correct room "appeared" after we asked if we could cancel our reservations.

The ice machines were always out of ice, forcing a walk to the bar to get a bucket of ice. We had ants in our room. Housekeeping often left us notes about running out of towels, and rarely delivered replacement towels by the end of the day. The bartender did not know how to make a drink on the menu (and then ended up making the wrong one anyway). During an outdoor event that focused on food, they seemed to have no reliable way to take orders for or serve the food (food never arrived in a timely manner anywhere, regardless of how busy it was). The pool was designed beautifully, but many of the water-jet features failed to work.

It just seems like management has abandoned the resort, failing to make any repairs or improvements, and failing to fine-tune their team to deliver exceptional guest service. Quite a disappointment, as the resort could be absolutely wonderful.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Chad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Chad R,

Thank you for choosing our property for you recent vacations. We strive to provide an exceptional experience for all of our guests. We do not like hearing that we fell short on delivering on your expectations.

We commend your remarks regarding our beautiful facilities and the friendliness of our staff. However, reviewing the service mishaps you encountered during your stay we are genuinely sorry about your experience. You pointed in your review important topics which we are currently addressing with operational departments to ensure that situations such as the ones related to Food and Beverage and Housekeeping are dealt with immediate diligence. Regarding the ants in the room it is very common, although not the norm being in a tropical island, but our maintenance team constantly works on a fumigation program to control them.

We appreciate your business and hope you can give us another opportunity to wow you with an outstanding Meliá experience.

Cordially yours,

Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director
GMPRGuestExperience@granmeliapr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Lyme, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Every year my mom, sister and I come to the Gran Melia for a girls trip. We are never disappointed. Everyone is always so nice and eager to help. The pool area is beautiful and we found ourselves spending more time there than at the beach. However, the beach is beautiful and provides for a long, relaxing walk. The resort has many activities like morning yoga and salsa lessons-all for free! While it is not too close to San Juan, there are plenty of fun things to explore in the area!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Sophia R,

It a pleasure having you and your family as loyal customers of our Resort. We are glad that you enjoyed our facilities through the years.

We look forward to welcome you to Puerto Rico again next year to enjoy another relaxing vacation in our resort.


Sincerely yours,


Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director
GMPRGuestExperience@granmeliapr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Great service, great pool and I liked the red level! everything was cool but restaurants too expensive and the rides in the golf carts from the villa to main lobby or main pool and every time you need to move inside of the hotel was not comfortable.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karry007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Karry007,

We were very happy to know that you enjoyed our hotel specially the Red Level Service and our facilities. I am very glad that our staff fulfill your service expectations during your stay.
Regarding the restaurants we are in the process of making changes in our menus to ensure all of our guests have alternatives for every budget.

Our goal is that every guest leaves our hotel with a positive experience and we hope that you choose our brand again on your next trip to the beautiful island of Puerto Rico or any other destiny around the world.

Sincerely yours,


Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director
GMPRGuestExperience@granmeliapr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Gran melia has its ups and downs. First off its located 30-40 mins west from san juan (tourist/heart of PR), about 20 mins east of fajardo (where they do the bio-bay excursions and the ferry leaves for culebra island and about 15 mins from the rainforest el yunque, with a nearby zipline, the caves are far away, 1.5-2hrs). It would be wise to rent a car. The hotel itself is very nice. Rooms are clean. Restaurants in hotel are pricey $20-40 per person. 1 huge main pool which was ALWAYS full of kids and people. Then there was a "red-level members" only pool which was more private. The beach sucked. Rocks and coral lined the coast just a few feet into the beach so no swimming was possible. U could get in the water and sit there and wade in it but because of the rocks u couldnt get a good swim. The sand is full of shells and small rocks, (wear water shoes) and there is about 5-7 feet of sand to lay in before u hit the water which disappears completely with a high tide. There is a nice beach in luquillo (15 mins away) but whats the point in staying in a pricey "beach resort" that beaches arent good. Hotel is huge. We were lucky enough to have good weather during our stay but if it rains on you, you have a long way to walk in the rain (or get a ride in a golf cart) to your room.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Karen C,

First we would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your review based on recent stay at the Hotel.

Your opinion and each one of your comments are very useful for us, we share all this information with our Managers in order to take corrective actions and avoid situations like this.
Our main goal is to make our guests have a great experience, and we feel sorry whenever we don't achieve this goal.

We apologize for all the inconveniences that you may have experienced with our beach area; let me highlight that our beach has physical and biological characteristics that are not only important, but unique. Around the hotel we can find vast populations of organisms on the reef and the ocean; however there are some areas along the coastline that are less rocky than others.

Again thank you very much for your review and comments, and hope you give us the opportunity to host you in a near future.

Cordially yours,

Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director
GMPRGuestExperience@granmeliapr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We visited Puerto Rico last month and chose to stay away from the tourist area at the Gran Melia. During our last visit we stayed on Ashford Avenue in San Juan.
I absolutely loved our stay at the Gran Melia. The staff were very accomodating and friendly. Our hotel package included free parking and breakfast. We took advantage of their breakfast daily. The hours are very convenient as they provide breakfast until 11AM so you aren't pressured to wake up early while on vacation. There are plenty of options from fresh fruit, homeade omlets, pancakes, waffles, juices and your typical breakfast choices.
The pool area is beautiful and the food at the swim up bar is amazing. Quick and fresh.
The beach access is also very nice. I had some hesitation after reading many reviews about their beach access but there is plenty of nice access and you can even pull your chairs in the water and soak up the sun while enjoying the crystal clear water.
My only complaint is that we booked a double bed room and when we arrived there were only king beds available. We traveled with our 2 children so my son ended up sleeping on a sofa bed. After 3 nights they were able to change our room and even sent a bellman to help. I was just dissappointed that for $200/night my 13 year old, 5'10" son slept on a sofa bed!

Here's a blog I've started which includes pictures of the hotel and some of our trip to PR!
http://amysheartandsoul.blogspot.com/

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Amy G,


Thank you for choosing our resort to spend your last vacations and for the review.
I am joyful we meet your expectations and that you were pleased with our accommodations, employees, food and facilities.

We apologize that we were not able to provide you with a room with double beds at the beginning of your stay.I'm glad we were finally able to fulfill your request.

I encourage you to come again and revive the relaxing and luxurious experience we can provide.The entire staff is looking forward to serving you again in the near future.


Sincerely,

Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director
GMPRGuestExperience@granmeliapr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
1.8 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
19.4 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#21 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,886 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
19.1 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,704 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Property: Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico
Address: 200 Coco Beach Blvd. | Highway 955-I, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Rio Grande
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
#3 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico 4*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an idyllic location on Puerto Rico's northeastern coast in Coco Beach, Rio Grande, Gran Melia Puerto Rico brings the privacy and exclusivity you deserve and allows you the opportunity to escape from the rest of the world. From the moment you step inside this tropical oasis, you will be enveloped by the beauty and grandeur of Gran Melia Puerto Rico. Boasting a world-class YHI spa, the nearby Trump International Golf Club and the best pool on the island with four integrated whirlpools, Gran Melia Puerto Rico is the place to live the true resort experience in Puerto Rico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Hotel Rio Grande
Gran Melia Rio Grande
Sol Melia Rio Grande
Paradisus Puerto Rico
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing