We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous, secluded gem of a resort in the perfect location!”
Review of Melia Coco Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Coco Beach
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Rio Grande
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous, secluded gem of a resort in the perfect location!”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

My husband and I were worried about booking a resort in PR for our honeymoon both having not been to the area and not wanting to stay in an outdated, cheap looking room even though we were on a right budget. This resort was GORGEOUS!! The grounds are beautiful! The pool is huge and so pretty! The rooms were clean and really nice (even the standard, lowest priced ones). The whole resort has this exotic Spanish style to it with some Asian, Moroccan, and Mediterranean themes throughout (really nice, not tacky) and all open to the outdoors. It was so peaceful and secluded, but if you rent a car (highly recommended & inexpensive) you are close to the rainforest (which is free), the ferries in Fajardo ($5 round trip to beaches ex. Flamenco beach in Culebra or the luminescent bay at Vieques, etc), San Juan, American restaurant and stores, etc. You drive through beautiful, Trump golf courses to get to the resort and really feel you are in your own paradise..even if you're on a budget. *The beach is pretty, but not great for swimming because of the seaweed BUT the pool is amazing and you are close to other beaches you can take the ferry to or drive to. *The restaurants at the resort are good (the resort owned ones) & very nice, but pricey. You can get great food in Old San Juan (Raices has great authentic food (the pork!!), get Piña Coladas at Barrachina, & pizzas at Pirilo). This resort was a real gem!! PR is this hidden secret...beautiful and affordable!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emkruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Melia Coco Beach, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear emkruz,

I would like to thank you for such an excellent review and sharing your superb experience at our hotel.

It pleases me very much to know you got to experience much more of our great island than the hotel. In our constant effort to improve the quality of services comments like yours are very important.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to seeing you once again.

sincerely,

Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,857
    1,722
    1,187
    878
    847
See reviews for
2,162
2,466
95
384
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

First I must say the staff was wonderful my check in with Gasha was a pleasure. Daniel & Timothy in the club area were very helpful and courteous to us. The resort is pretty, but does need a make over especially rooms. My complaints were with the guest staying there not the staff. I actually had sympathy for the staff. My thoughts are MANAGEMENT needs to STEP IN. Things we saw were unacceptable. We travel all over, and I have NEVER seen a display of guest behaving this way. Restaurant and pool area were left so dirty and messy when they were done made you wonder how their homes are. We had to call attention 3xs to them when we went into pool, for them trying to take our towels off our chairs for them to sit. Their children leaving bags of empty chips inside pool. We watched them go into buffet area fill there plates and walk right out without paying. We actually checked out of hotel 2 days earlier and went to another hotel. Management needs to take control, we definitely will not recommend or return. It's to bad could be beautiful place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tori6110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Melia Coco Beach, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear tori6110,

I would like to thank you for your recent review.
I do apologize for your experience and I share your concern. We will be discussing your comments and suggestions with our management staff in order to take appropriate measures in the areas that require such.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to having you again with us.

sincerely,

Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This is a very hotel, it is a large property with a lot of beautiful foliage and well manicured grounds. There are several nice restaurants, and the food is good. It is well maintained, very clean and the people/staff are incredibly nice and accommodating. This is our second time here with our two young children and we are very pleased. Things to note: There is no hot tub, and you cant really swim at the beach. While it has beautiful ocean breezes and views, it doesnt really have an area to swim.

I highly recommend upgrading your stay to the Red Level. It is well worth the price.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Red Level, its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Melia Coco Beach, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Toby M,

I would like to thank you commenting on your excellent stay at our beautiful property. It brings us great pleasure to read such positive comments. It is our goal to continue keep on hosting you and your family in what is your home away from home.

Again, thank you for your excellent review and we look forward to having you with us again in the not so distant future.

sincerely,

Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Recently returned from the Gran Melia Golf Resort for a National Sales Meeting. The resort has a beautiful lobby area, but the rooms need a lot of attention. Several co-workers had to request new rooms during their stay because of mold, water leaks, etc.
The food was good, but the bar and wait staff were extremely slow. Several nights the bars closed at 11 p.m. The resort is not close to outside activities. This left our group disappointed and not overly thrilled with the service or customer care.
I would not return to this location for a family vacation. The beach was not great for family activities.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jtdman37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Melia Coco Beach, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear jtdman37,

Thank you fro sharing your experience in our hotel. In our constant effort to continue and improve our overall quality of service your comments and suggestions are very important. We will be discussing with our management team your experience to come up with solutions in the areas that require such.

again, thank you for commenting on your stay and we look forward to having you in the not so distant future.

sincerely,

Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

All staff, except the pool bar/restaurant , were outstanding.
The resort was beautiful.
The pool bar staff were rude and inattentive.
The restaurant meals and staff were top rate.
The pool bar staff, no so much.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Melia Coco Beach, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Bob M,

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. We will be looking into your claim regarding our pool staff to ensure that all service standards are being followed and reinforce them if not. I'm very pleased however that all of our other staff was to your liking.
Again, thank you for writing about your stay and we look forward to having you again with us.

Sincerely,

Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I bring my fours sons with their spouses and children every year We get five rooms and have a family gathering and we have a great time.
My grandchildren remind me months ahead of time to make reservations. they accommodate our request to have all five room close together, close to the pool and on the first floor.
The staff is excellent everywhere you go. Form the check inn, to the pool and pool bar. Their Red Level service is a dream.
The steak house is excellent. Tempo is not at the same level. I wish they would bring back the buffet type dinner of local food they had in the past.
Already planning for the return in early June after school is out.

Room Tip: The ocean front roms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JUAN285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Melia Coco Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear JUAN285,

I would like to thank you for sharing your comments and experience about the service received at our resort. Also, for making us part of your extended family. It is our pleasure to serve and continue serving you and yours.
I appreciate your comments on the Tempo restaurant, I will discuss these with our management staff and share your suggestions.

Once more, thank you for making us your hotel of preference.

Sincerely,

Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buskirk, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We just arrived home from a 10 day stay at the Grande Melia we had a great time our room was close by everything our cleaning lady was excellent rm 1622. it was never over crowded and for the most part the staff was pleasant. The beach is only a shore line not good for swimming but great to relax and tan at. The pool is nice and big the only problem I seen with the pool is there is only one bathroom way at the other end of the pool opposite of the wet bar and very few people use it during the day leaving me with the gross assumption. We ate at tempo once its very over priced and not good at all nor was the service. The wet bar food was ok but a hamburger cost 16.00 THE 11.00 drinks were not worth it. The store on the hotel side is very expensive the sole melia club side store has a reasonable priced store with more of a variety. Parking cost more than the car rental very disappointing. If your staying here for more than a few days you need a car the restaurants off the grounds are very cheap and the locals are very inviting. Drinks off site are 4.00 and are great. Management should consider a few more bathrooms and maybe a bar set up along the beach so guest don't have to walk a mile. Over all its a nice place Melia should concentrate on good reviews to bring in more people and revenue rather than try and make up for there losses with over priced amenity's

Room Tip: red level is not worth it try and get 1600 building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank markm5386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Melia Coco Beach, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear markm5386,

I would like to thank you for your recent review on our property. We at Gran Melia PR are constantly looking for ways to continue and improve our overall quality of service, and our best tool is your opinion.

I have gathered your comments and suggestions and will be distributing them to our management team in order to utilize them to take appropriate measures in whichever areas are possible. I was very pleased you enjoyed our lake style pool and our secluded beach. Both are unique to our property.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to having you again with us in the near future.

Thank You,
Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
1.8 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
14.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,231 reviews
19.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#23 of 47 in San Juan
4,857 reviews
19.4 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,115 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Coco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Coco Beach

Property: Melia Coco Beach
Address: 200 Coco Beach Blvd. | Highway 955-I, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Coco Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an idyllic location on Puerto Rico's northeastern coast in Coco Beach, Rio Grande, Gran Melia Puerto Rico brings the privacy and exclusivity you deserve and allows you the opportunity to escape from the rest of the world. From the moment you step inside this tropical oasis, you will be enveloped by the beauty and grandeur of Gran Melia Puerto Rico. Boasting a world-class YHI spa, the nearby Trump International Golf Club and the best pool on the island with four integrated whirlpools, Gran Melia Puerto Rico is the place to live the true resort experience in Puerto Rico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Melia Coco Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Hotel Rio Grande
Gran Melia Rio Grande
Sol Melia Rio Grande
Paradisus Puerto Rico
Melia Coco Beach Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing