We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort on a charming beach”
Review of Melia Coco Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Coco Beach
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Rio Grande
new york, ny
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort on a charming beach”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The resort at Gran Melia is beautiful. I highly recommend staying here for a relaxing escape. Some of the rooms smelled a bit so I would suggest staying on the 2nd floor. Also the restaurants were not amazing and it takes 8 minutes to drive out of the property to eat elsewere. Due to its "remote" location (8 minutes is not really remote), it is not the ideal place for a traveler on the go. However if you want a hotel to spend a few days relaxing on the premises, this is the place for you. Also as travelers mentioned, the beach is small and rocky. Personally I loved the beach on this property. It had a natural preserve quality to it. The rooms were quite nice and the service was great. Keep in mind this resort has over 400 rooms so it can get rather busy.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor in building close to the main facilities. Otherwise you are dependent on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kris410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Melia Coco Beach, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear kris410:

We are really happy to read words as nice as yours. To know that our staff and service have exceeded your expectations encourages us to keep working day by day to maintain the high level of customer service that characterizes us.

Our beach has physical and biological characteristics that are not only important, but unique. Around the area we can find a vast population of organisms on the reef and the ocean. In our effort to preserve our beautiful natural reserve we are dedicate to maintain the beach in its natural state. We are delighted to know that you loved our beach.

Hope to see you back soon!

Cordially,


Andrew Tilley - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,848
    1,710
    1,164
    862
    827
See reviews for
2,110
2,452
94
383
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,456)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful resort. Very clean, the grounds are very beautiful. But.....if you didn't rent a car, everything is very, very far away. I could say its in the middle of nowhere. Also, it a great place of you are looking to relax. If you are looking for fun and entertainment, not the place. The beach is pretty but you can't really swim on it, too many rocks. Other than that, its a beautiful place

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yermalis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decorah, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Just got back from our 1st time staying Puerto Rico. We had a great time,would recommend to all ages. All the staff was hard working and pleasant.Giovanni was a great bartender. Grounds were beautiful. Would love to go back again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Grande
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The grounds are beautiful, very comfortable and safe, service was friendly and we had a pleasent time, would come back during peak season to see how the mood would be more lively. The restaurants are nothing to ride home about but the breakfast buffet was a perfect way to start the morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank J. P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is remote. No hustle when you are here. If you are staying for a length of time a car is your best option. Then you may go any place your heart desires. Fabulous spa, the food excellent. Besure to get the breakfast plan, it is worth it. Wait for the secret code of the greeting. I had so much fun with it.

Room Tip: Building 15 upper level. Quick and easy to get to every location on resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niv3Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Melia Coco Beach, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear niv3Mac:

Thank you for your stay at the Gran Meliá and your kind review. As you mention, the Yhi Spa is a fabulous place to relax and recharge the mind and body. I personally recommend our signature Rainforest Spa, this treatment is being designed to honor the secret link between humans and nature.

Contact us when making your future visit; we will be delighted to welcome you back.


Andrew Tilley
Managing Director
GMPRGuestExperience@granmeliapr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Grande
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2013

had a wonderful vacation. Staff was incredibly friendly and professional
Ended up becoming a club member buying into the experience. The food was excellent especially the breakfast. Scenery was breathtaking, Décor was also truly amazing

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Louis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Melia Coco Beach, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Louis R:

Thank you for staying here at the Gran Meliá Puerto Rico, I am pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience. I am confident that you will receive this level of service again when you come back to the Club Meliá.

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.


Andrew Tilley
Managing Director
GMPRGuestExperience@granmeliapr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Beautiful Resort, very close to Rain forest. Room was beautiful, with ocean view and a soaking tub on balcony. Try to go during the week, seems weekends are VERY busy with locals taking mini vacations!!

Room Tip: Try for a beach front (red level) room. 2nd floor has better view and very private if you are going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeankeane13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran_Melia_GEX, Manager at Melia Coco Beach, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Jeankeane13,

Saludos from Gran Meliá Puerto Rico

Thank you very much for reviewing our property. We feel honored to receive such extraordinary compliments from you in regards to our facilities, especially the rooms. Making our guests feel at home and welcomed is our highest mission.

We are proud to be so near of El Yunque, one of the few tropical forests in the United States. El Yunque Rainforest is the home of many rare wildlife including the Puerto Rican Parrot, which is one of the ten most endangered species of birds in the world.

We are going to be more than glad to welcome you back on your next amazing vacation.

Warm regards,



Guest Experience Unit
GMPRGuestExperience@granmeliapr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
1.8 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
19.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
14.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,042 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#23 of 47 in San Juan
4,810 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Coco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Coco Beach

Property: Melia Coco Beach
Address: 200 Coco Beach Blvd. | Highway 955-I, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Coco Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an idyllic location on Puerto Rico's northeastern coast in Coco Beach, Rio Grande, Gran Melia Puerto Rico brings the privacy and exclusivity you deserve and allows you the opportunity to escape from the rest of the world. From the moment you step inside this tropical oasis, you will be enveloped by the beauty and grandeur of Gran Melia Puerto Rico. Boasting a world-class YHI spa, the nearby Trump International Golf Club and the best pool on the island with four integrated whirlpools, Gran Melia Puerto Rico is the place to live the true resort experience in Puerto Rico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Melia Coco Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Hotel Rio Grande
Gran Melia Rio Grande
Sol Melia Rio Grande
Paradisus Puerto Rico
Melia Coco Beach Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing