We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melia Coco Beach
Nearby Hotels
$230
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$920
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Pearl(Luquillo)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn(Luquillo)(Great Value!)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$188
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
$203
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$334
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (6,547)
Filter reviews
6,547 results
Traveler rating
1,871
1,727
1,195
891
863
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,871
1,727
1,195
891
863
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred levelbali bedscafe soleilpuerto ricobeautiful resortprivate poolwet barmain poolpuerto rican restaurantrented a cargarden viewbutler serviceswim up barold san juanel yunque rainforestocean frontlounge chairs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,989 - 3,994 of 6,547 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I have traveled to Puerto Rico before but decided to gamble and stay at the Gran Melia despite numerous negative reviews. We just returned last week from traveling with 3 small children and wanted access to a resort with tennis facilities and golf. The resort has all of the trappings of a future 5 star resort but fails to be consistent in service and some key amenities. If you are reading this, you are doing your research and be prepared.
1. Pay for the Red Level
All the previous reviews that state there are multiple additional amenities are true- just do it

2. Meet your Butler early- Oddly, we almost forgot it was part of the package because the hotel neglected to assign us one. However, once requested, Josue was well worth the wait!!! Not only was he prompt, he was exceptionally courteous, very informative and always willing to assist in matters regarding our comfort and satisfaction. He booked all of our accommodations, dinners arranged evening babysitting, requested golf lessons, and kids activities for our 5 year old. We also lost a bag at a downtown restaurant and the the staff called on our behalf, found the bag, arranged to have it secured and returned the next day- very seamless...again this is Red Level

3. Rent a vehicle- the rainforest and Luquillo beach are minutes away- Great food at Ceviche Hut-read our review

PROS
-resort grounds and golf course are beautifully landscaped and well maintained
-incredible decor and spacious common areas
-Room was extremely clean and the maid service very thorough, organizing and even folding some of our children's items
-never had a sense that it was crowded though the resort was fully booked
-high tolerance for small children; the grounds people are very good with kids and were not bothered in the least by my little tyrants
-plenty of grounds staff to answer questions and offer golfcart rides around the resort
-professional babysitting service for our children so that we could enjoy a private adult dinner
-Value!!! we could have easily spent three times as much in a neighboring resort that had marginal added benefits

CONS
MAJOR (Josue, our butler personally addressed each of these complaints...Thank You Josue)
-while the staff was well meaning and made every attempt to accomodate, there was inadequate staff at the front desk- rarely more than one person attending the desk and service was inconsistent (thank goodness we had red level and could walk over to the red level lounge for questions)
-the tennis court is poorly constructed, not level and has been allowed to deteriorate over time with cracks in the asphalt which ruined my husbands much anticipated playing time
-phone service was poor- we called the operator on numerous occasions and waited several minutes before an answer

MINOR
-beach was not spectacular but met our needs with small children -Luquillo is just 10 minutes away
-food pricing was consistent with industry standard; quality of food was nothing extraordinary

We never had an issue with hidden costs or being overcharged- we asked for our bill several hours before check out, thereby allowing us to review all charges before leaving the facility
The resort was an easy 30 minute ride from San Juan; the drive was quite lovely.
Overall, lovely visit. If they can ensure parents of 3 small children can relax for the better part of 3 days, then they must be doing something right. We will likely visit again, when the tennis courts are repaired.

Room Tip: The difference between an average and an excellent stay is Red Level; if there are no rooms request an upgrade to a timeshare apartment - which have better beach areas and less crowded pools
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank honeymners-for-life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This place is Epic! It has such a beautiful ambivance and excellent for a romantic gettaway. The butlers, service employees at the pool, bars, and pool bars are all great customer service employees.
Several issues I had with it was
1- The cooler in the room should be free and unless a customer request for it to be filled with Grand Melia's products then and only then should there be a fee. A customer should not have to pay to rent it for $25.00 if they bring their own jucies, soda's or minial things. Its a cooler not a mini refrigerator.
2- When you pay for Red Level Service or rooms, then that means VIP, but if the Pool Bar is only serving drinks at the Red Level Area, then there should be a system in place where the customers could order from a Menu and get the food brought to them from the general pool bar that is open with full service. Also if there is no food availble on certain days, then it should be posted.
3- It is great to add a special touch with this place with these HIgh Cuisine restaurants, but if you are paying a high price and not getting sufficient food, then it is not worth the money. Grand Melia should contract Metropol and take out Passion! Very poor customer service at that restaurant. Latinos like to eat, and if a spoon of rice and one pork chop is worth $19.00, then the latino community would all be skinny or broke. Rice is something that is made in majority portions and probabaly alot gets throw away at night. why charge for a little extra rice on an already expensive meal. Plus charge an extra $6.00 for ripe plantains at six dollars for six. Everyone eats, a starch, a meat, poultry, or fish with a vegetable or salad. If everything is charged seperate, that restaurant will not last too long. So my husband and I went outside of the hotel to eat and we ate at Metropol in Farjardo, EXCELLENT! A CUSTOMER SHOULD PARK THEIR CAR AND HAVE NO NEED TO VENTURE OUT OF A HOTEL RESORT! EVERYTHING SHOULD BE ACCESSIBLE TO THEM AND ONLY IF THEY CHOOSE TO EXPLORE THE SURROUNDING AREA THEN THAT WOULD BE THEIR DECISION, NOT THEY HAD TO VENTURE OUT.

Room Tip: Ocean Front, top floor with the view of the beach and the ocean "Priceless". But if that is too expensive, then just being on the resort is great.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cyn420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Gran Melia is a fine resort ! We have become hooked on Puerto Rico over the past several years and have stayed at the 4 Star resorts in the Rio Grande/Fajardo area - which are the El Con, Wyndham - Rio Mar, and the Gran Melia - and the Gran Melia is our favorite. I am amazed at other reviews and I do not profess to be a travel critic (knowing if this place is a "true" 4 star) ... but we have been here a few times and love it . The grounds are beautiful as the resort is a large property with the lobby area and restaurants at the entry, and the rooms are situated along a long oval walk way in a villa style that are 2 story buildings (not hi-rise). The property is quite spread out with plenty of walking ... but the staff offers you frequent rides in the golf carts. The lobby/common area/bar is very nice and there are lots of places to sit or hang out. They have 3 pools, but we used the main pool - which is hugh and nicely done. The only complaint I have is that there are a lack of umbrellas - but lots of trees and bushes that make some shade. You can rent a bali bed for $25/day. The Gym is pretty good also.

The resort is about 18 miles from SJU airport and and just far enough from San Juan. Take Rt 3 (not toll road - Rt 66 that requires Easy Pass) and you will see big signs for Gran Melia/Coco Beach in Rio Grande. It is a 8 minute ride off Rt 3 and most of it is a beautiful ride past golf course and lakes. I have seen other reviews that that complain that the resort is out of the way ...but that is exactly what you want ... if you can't handle an 8 minute beautiful ride you might as well stay on Isla Verde and hear the planes fly over. We always rent a car (unless you want to be stuck at the resort all day) - self park is $15/day and gets you closer to villas than valet parking which is more $$ and less convenient.

FOOD - is "resort pricey" and only eat a few meals here. The breakfast buffett is good at Soliel, but they have raised the price to $22 - which is steep. If you join MAS rewards and give them you membership # it is half off - $11. The Wet Bar at the pool is ok - decent lunch spot and they give 10% off with MAS rewards. The Market has coffee, muffins, ice cream and is a handy little store on property. Back on Rt 3 there are lots of stores to buy food or snacks -like Amigo or Ralphs. Also same fast food as home Wendy's, McD, Burger King. The good dinner places are local spots in Luquillo -Pasta y Pueblo, and Boardriders at Pared Beach ...or at the Rt 3 kioskos in Luquillo. At first appearance they look kind of scary ...but some are great like Ceviche Hut, Ay Bonita, or Jefe Burger - DON'T go on Saturday or Sunday. Fajardo is a 30 minute ride, has some great places to eat - La Estacion, Tasca, El Veradaro and DiYukas are all good. Food at the local places I mentioned are reasonable - alot less than resort ...and better - most take credit cards - some cash only.

BEACHES - most of the beach at resort is just OK ...no long white sand here ...but some of the spots are decent - you need to hunt them out. Great online source is www.puertoricodaytrips.com
Lots of good articles about beaches in Puerto Rico - beware driving around on the island can be tricky. Balenerio Monserrate is a great white sand well maintained beach near kiosks in Luquillo - 15 minutes from resort. They charge $4 to park a car - and is worth it. Bring a towel and rent a chair. Lots of trees for shade.

RAIN FOREST - 15 minutes ... and is a must ! - start at visitor center and then hike top trails.

IN SUMMARY - Gran Melia is a fine resort. The rooms are nicely done and big. It is a great location in a great part of island. Lastly, the staff and Puerto Ricans are special people ...very warm and friendly ...been going for several years and not one bad experience. They work hard and life is much different for them. If a guest acts like a jerk - the treatment in return might be less than expected ...remember English is not their first language. Be gentle with them and over tip ...I always do - it might made their day a little easier !!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank old-man-orange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Melia Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear old-man-orange,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and our facilities. We appreciate your kind words regarding the lobby, pool and the gym among other areas you mentioned.

Also, I’m glad that our staff was welcoming, like you said in your comment “Puerto Ricans are special people ...very warm and friendly”.

We look forward to having you back in the near future!


Sincerely yours,

Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

When we first arrived we were taken by the beauty of the resort. We had spent a few nights in San Juan at El Convento and we were excited to spend several days at a resort, relaxing and enjoying the water. The grounds are beautiful, with several access points to the beach and two different pool areas. The common areas are stunning, modern and tropical at the same time. The room seemed a little dated in comparison and had some issues with mold, I assume due to the humidity and the proximity of the ocean. It is extremely expensive to eat and drink on the premises which is a challenge since the resort is slightly isolated and you need a car to go to the nearby grocery store. The staff was incredibly helpful and kind, I would say they were one of the highlights of the stay. Which is why it is so surprising that in the end, we had a really bad experience. When we first checked in we told the front desk that we would stay until the coming Friday, not Saturday as their records showed. No problem they said and notated the account. We checked out and spent our last night in Puerto Rico at La Concha Resort in San Juan. When we came home and reviewed the credit card statement we noticed that Gran Melia had charged us for an additional night. We called them, went over the situation and were asked to submit bills that showed that we indeed stayed somewhere else as well as boarding passes showing Saturday departure. Not an issue on our end, we submitted the requested material and waited. For 8 months we have called regularly to follow up just to be passed back and forth between different staff members. To this day, we still have not been reimbursed. What a poor way to treat your guests!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cecper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

we enjoyed our stay at Gran Melia, but there were many hidden charges that added up. there was a daily resort fee that was not covered in our package, they charged for us to park our vehicle, they charged your credit card $500 right away and then when you ordered anything there, it went on your card. drinks at the pool were $15 a piece. they were great, but not $15 great. the staff was not that friendly. and the directions sucked, not because of the hotel, but because there are many 955 turn offs. otherwise, gorgeous resort, great rooms. beach was ok, but was nice. would stay again, but will plan ahead for the costs. oh and the Pasion restraunt was pricey but great food.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hippeewannabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews