We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Melia Coco Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melia Coco Beach
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Rio Grande
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The Gran Melia is beautiful and relaxing. We had 2 families with kids ranging from 10 to 24. Everyone enjoyed the accommodations. We loved hanging out poolside, feeding the iguanas each day, and the buffets . We received excellent service - the staff were amazing - from the minute you arrive to the moment you say good-bye the staff are warm, helpful and genuinely want you to enjoy your stay. The rooms were very clean and comfortable but initially had a musty smell - once we opened up the doors and aired it out it we didn't notice it again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo_Miller_JM_Grants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,145 - 4,151 of 6,544 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel is absolutely beatiful, the staff was great, service was impeccable. The restaraunts are awesome.. Great time, great place...The hotel lobby is beautiful, staff was very polite. Room service was great

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lola18_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful lobby, room, pool, views. Not the best beach. Room floor was dirty and smell like and old cabin. Pool was great. Didn't found the jacuzzi (if there were any). There is a kids club right beside the pool. The lobby smells great!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michellepr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I just stayed for 3 nights and it was awesome. I booked a suite with two Jacuzzi, one in the bathroom and the other one in the balcony with an excellent view to the pool and beach. Also it has two LCD-TVs, fully equipped kitchen, radio with iPod adapter, two toilet rooms, walk-in shower, great a/c, etc. This suite you can find it in the club area. Also I booked an appointment to the spa, the experience was relaxing and very comfortable!

Room Tip: Rooms in the club area are better, it has suites with Jacuzzi in the balcony. Unique experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank xaviermartinez5106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We've been home two weeks and I MISS IT THERE!!!! What a beautiful experience my husband and I had. EVERY single person there made us feel like royalty. We were on the Red Level. Gustavo Delgado, Ruben Llanos, Miguel Ruiz and our butler Elijuel we're ABSOLUTELY wonderful. Incredibly polite and considerate men who made our experience even more fantastic. They went out of their way to do for us, something we have never encountered in a resort like this. We have every intention of coming back. Thank you Gentlemen and Gran Melia for a beautiful 2nd honeymoon

Room Tip: Ocean view is a MUST!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sonia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I spent our first anniversary in this amazing resort. The staff, room, resort, view, everything was nothing less that perfect. If you consider staying here, may I strongly suggest that you opt for red-level. it's totally worth it! Eli ( the butler) is an amazing person who made us feel right at home, everyone should be so lucky to meet him. Bill, a massage therapist has ruined me for any other massage available here in Texas. Can't wait to go back. They spoiled us so much we're going back in January.

Room Tip: Ocean front with the jacuzzi tub (red level). Need I say more?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I am currently at the Gran Melia in Puerto and am surprised by what I have found. The grounds are lovely as is the beach. The lobby area is quite spectacular actually, the roo,s lovely. However, this is a quiet isolated resort snuggled on a beautiful spit of land an hour of so east of San Juan. We chose this resort because we were looking for a quiet, relaxing few days. However, this is not a resort for those seeking quiet. The weekend is a mob scene. The resort is open to locals, which is fine. It's just that it's mobbed and loud. The pool is extremely crowded and people are actually eating food along the sides. It's popular with families, therefore, the noise from kids is everywhere. The beautiful beach recliners pictured on the website are fine except that you are surrounded by loud visitors. This morning I spent my time in a beautiful open air lounge filled with gorgeous furniture. It was quite enjoyable until loud rap music began to play. I asked ithe bartender if the music could be changed but she was quite clear that it could not be changed but possibly turned down. After speaking with the manager, she the finally agreed to change to different music, hesitantly. She confirmed for me that this resort was open to everyone, not just the residents, and that this was the policy of the hotel, including the loud music. It is not a resort if you are looking for quiet. I am so sorry to report this as it is a lovely spot.

Room Tip: Look for a second floor bungalow as close to amenities as possible, otherwise you have a real hike t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
1.8 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
23 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Caguas Real Hotel & Casino
18.8 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
1,001 reviews
18.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
3.2 mi away
Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Coco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Coco Beach

Address: 200 Coco Beach Blvd | Highway 955-I, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range: $215 - $736 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Coco Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an idyllic location on Puerto Rico's northeastern coast in Coco Beach, Rio Grande, Melia coco beach Puerto Rico brings the privacy and exclusivity you deserve and allows you the opportunity to escape from the rest of the world. From the moment you step inside this tropical oasis, you will be enveloped by the beauty and grandeur of Melia coco beach Puerto Rico. Boasting a world-class YHI spa, the nearby International Golf Club and the best pool on the island with four integrated whirlpools, Melia Puerto Rico is the place to live the true resort experience in Puerto Rico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Coco Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Hotel Rio Grande
Gran Melia Rio Grande
Sol Melia Rio Grande
Paradisus Puerto Rico
Melia Coco Beach Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing