We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“Perfect Day Hiking El Yunque” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rubio's Tours

Rubio's Tours
Ranked #11 of 17 things to do in Rio Grande
Attraction details
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
352 reviews
133 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Perfect Day Hiking El Yunque”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our group of two women had a personalized hike in El Yunque. The arrangements were flawless and easily arranged via e-mail. John Druitt picked us up at our hotel and drove us to the rain forest, preparing for the visit with numerous interesting facts about Puerto Rico. Our hike was almost 5 hours and took us through various parts of the rain forest to some of the most amazing viewpoints we had ever seen. Along the way, John pointed out birds, flowers, trees and explained the forest in an interesting and clear manner. We hiked the El Yunque trail to the peak. It was a miraculously clear day and we had perfect 360 degree views at 3500 ft. Quite breathtakingly beautiful. We went to Roca El Yunque, then took the Mount Britton Spur on the way back. I had been on a group tour to El Yunque a couple of years ago and was disappointed that the advertised "hike" was only a 30 min slow shuffle, but the hike with John was just perfect and the pace was geared exactly to our abilities. I recommend a personalized hike with John Druitt very highly. It was an incredible and unforgettable experience!

Visited January 2013
1 Thank TravelFan48105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Tours!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Our family went on two tours with John Druitt. We spent one day in the rainforest and another touring Old San Juan. Everyone had a wonderful time, age range 8yrs-72yrs. John customized the tours to fit our needs, what we were able to do, and what we wanted to see. John is extremely knowledgable and told us a wealth of information we wouldnt necessarily have got on a bigger, more commercialized tour. I think we spent about 12-13hrs with John during our tours and by the end it felt like he was part of our family:) We had a wonderful time and made us feel extremely comfortable. I will continue to use Rubios Tours whenever visiting Puerto Rico

Visited January 2013
1 Thank lanie880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
140 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A Great Way To Explore El Yunque”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

John Druitt, the Rubio in Rubio's Tours, runs a first rate tour guide business. His knowledge of the El Yunque rain forest is extensive and his general knowledge of environmental science is astounding. The combination of the two, coupled with his dry British wit, results in an experience you are not likely to ever forget. John will completely customize your tour to suit your needs. If you want simple and paved, John will deliver the tour. If you want rugged and challenging, John will deliver that experience as well. In fact, he favors the off road route to see El Yunque in all of its glory. That's the tour week took and we have no regrets. If you want to leave El Yunque with a new depth of knowledge about rain forests, have John lead the tour.

Visited November 2012
1 Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
122 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

This was such a fantastic tour. John was involved in a reforestation effort so is really knowledgeable about the rainforest. Although we got rained on the forest we still had a great 1.5 mile hike along a paved walkway. John provided plenty of water and info. We highly recommend this tour.

Thank Joyce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“good day tour of el yunque wil john druitt rubio's tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Excellent day tour; John Druitt (Rubio's Tours/ Island walkers) picked up our disparate group of 7 ranging in age from 18 to 70 in San Juan, took us the scenic route along the coast, stopped at a local bakery for coffee and cakes and then provided a wealth of information in the rainforest. It really does rain, and is quite steep on the trails we took, so take a raincoat and wear decent shoes. It really helped having a guide, as the maps are very inaccurate (plus we didn't have a car and there's no public transport). On the way back, John went on ahead and moved the minibus so we wouldn't have to walk so far, then we stopped at a roadside stall for lunch on the way back. My only slight quibble is that it might be better to take a packed lunch, as we ended up very late for lunch! John is also a really interesting source of information about Puerto Rico. I'll post this review in the El Yunque and Rubio's tours sections as well.

Visited July 2012
1 Thank mendip_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rubio's Tours also viewed


Been to Rubio's Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing