We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love, love, love this bakery!”

La Familia Bakery 2
Ranked #1 of 5 Bakeries in Rio Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Breakfast and lunch, all kinds of pastries and cakes, opens from 6:00 am to 9:30 pm Monday to Sunday
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Love, love, love this bakery!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stopped into the restaurant every other day to stock up on fresh bread, get our cheese flan fix and try some of their amazing sandwiches. The owners are so friendly and everyone was very helpful. I highly recommend the stop if you are in the area!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ltngold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    120
    20
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pastry Heaven”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The fresh pastries and sweet breads are amazing. I had a Cuban sandwich, bread pudding, and the guava cake roll. Killer good!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank IndianaMadmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We made several trip to the La Familia Bakery on our Rio Grande trips! The cases are always stocked with fresh, sweet baked goods. There is an area to purchase some convenience items and a grill where you can order fresh breakfast or anytime sandwiches. I highly recommend this bakery!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eatex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place for a sandwich or pastries!”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I get to visit Puerto Rico two or three times a year when my husband is there on business. We always make a point of stopping by the bakery for lunch and in the evening for some pastries. I am partial to the chocolate cake, but the cheese cake, carrot cake, birthday cake, flan, tre leche cake, and many others are great. A Cuban sandwich for lunch on the sweet bread is outstanding! The staff there is awesome, friendly and helpful. While I have not eaten breakfast there, I hear it is the best. A real authentic Puerto Rican treat just slightly off the main highway.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yum! And wonderful staff, too. ”
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

We had sweets and sandwiches from this bakery and loved it all. Great cheesecakes and pastries; even delicious chocolate covered strawberries. The hot sandwiches on sweet bread were great and the price was very reasonable. We visited twice and each time the staff was very friendly and helpful. Don't miss this bakery!

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Familia Bakery 2 also viewed

Palmer, Rio Grande
Rio Grande, Puerto Rico
 
Rio Grande, Puerto Rico
 
Rio Grande, Puerto Rico
 

Been to La Familia Bakery 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing