We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Awesome pasteries and sandwiches!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Familia Bakery 2

La Familia Bakery 2
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Rio Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Breakfast and lunch, all kinds of pastries and cakes, opens from 6:00 am to 9:30 pm Monday to Sunday
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Awesome pasteries and sandwiches!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Very clean and attractive store and displays. Sandwiches are made to order in many varieties. Highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    111
    19
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Breakfast sandwiches are to die for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We ate breakfast here every morning of our stay. The breakfast sandwiches are huge, 2 adults can easily split one. Imagine Puerto Rican sweet bread pressed with egg, cheese, ham and montadello (kind of like salami). Omg, yum. Plus they have tons of pastries and Danishes for you to choose from. Cafe con leche is also to die for. Highly recommend. For 2 adults, we split one sandwich and one Danish and got 2 coffees for the price of $8.50. I mean seriously- when was the last time 2 people could eat and drink for $8.50??? People are very nice there too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Acforrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

The pastries look delish, and we will be going back tonight for them! We had ham and cheese and ham egg and cheese sandwhiches on the sweet bread. The cashier was helpful and let us know what they had since we couldn't read the menu! The coffee was strong and very good, needed sugar only! Cheap too!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Fantastic Bakery.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Had both cuban sandwich and breakfast pasteries at this restaurant. The cuban was fresh and fantastic with the best bread baked fresh. The pastries were also fantastic. This is the place for baked goods but not for ambiance.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bogey18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great local bakery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hot ham and cheese on sweet bread was delicious! It's definitely a local place and the signs are in Spanish but there were fluent English speakers there to help us tourists out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank charissa1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Familia Bakery 2 also viewed

Rio Grande, Puerto Rico
Palmer, Rio Grande
 
Rio Grande, Puerto Rico
Rio Grande, Puerto Rico
 
Rio Grande, Puerto Rico
 

Been to La Familia Bakery 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing