We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most magical place I've ever stayed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rio Grande
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hacienda Siesta Alegre
Ranked #1 of 2 Rio Grande B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The most magical place I've ever stayed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is a bed and breakfast unlike any you'll have seen. It's set on a serious horse farm at the edge of the rain forest, Very quiet, very private, The setting is truly spectacular because of the natural beauty, and because the owners have created an enormous house--more a collection of living spaces--with no walls. The rooms, however, do have walls, and they were very comfortable.

The owners were excellent, generous hosts and delightful company. Breakfast was as beautiful as it was delicious, and the staff was very accommodating.

We would eagerly return here. They also own a rental villa on a nearby hilltop. We went to visit it and were dazzled. We hope to come back soon.

Room Tip: The two rooms that overlook the pool are particularly nice. They were about to open a new room that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oliver T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    12
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
49
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

this incredible and unique place is located in the middle of the forest and it's very easy to find if you follow the direction that will be given to you by the staff.
It's halfway between San Juan and Fajardo and it's close to many restaurants, supermarkets etc.. (most of them are 5 minutes drive). But when you are inside this property you'll fell thousands of miles away from everything. It's really incredible.
The room we had was clean, very nice and with a good size bathroom (shower only, no bathtub). There is now TV but honestly we could not care less! It has lots of space to store your clothes too.
The air-conditioning is kind of noisy but it worked well.
They make the room everyday and change the towels too.
The only negative note about the room is the humidity. In our case I'm sure it was higher due to the lots of rain that had come down. I'd recommend to keep the air conditioning system on while you are away during the day so the room will be dry when you'll be back at night.
The internet connection in the room was excellent and incredibly fast.
When you go back to sleep at night, the only noises you'll hear are the one from the forest which are incredibly relaxing and unique.
There are lots of area in the main building where you can hang out and enjoy the views and the place. Most of the pictures posted cannot really explain how beautiful is this place.
Linda and Greg (the owners) are simply great and very friendly. They make you feel at home and they give you lots of great recommendations on restaurants and places to visit.
We really had a great and fun time with them!
The breakfast is amazing! The only "standard" part are the eggs and bacon (the eggs are the one made by the chickens that are in the Hacienda) which are super! everything else changes every day. They prepare some local dish too, which is very cool. Portions are very generous so you'll have plenty of food to keep going for most of the day.
I definitely recommend this place. It's an experience you'll remember
Quick recommendation: don't forget the mosquito repellent and put it on before you go to eat breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enrico2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Follow the directions provided and once you get the hang of it you'll notice how conveniently close this is to Highway 3, yet how secluded you are, tucked into the edge of the El Yunque area forests. Charming and imaginative decor. Delicious breakfast. Be sure to ask for the wifi password. Not the cheapest around but reasonably priced and a great value for what you experience.Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WittHouston_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

From the moment we pulled into the gates we thought we were in heaven. We were met by the owner as he returned from a mountain bike ride and immediately offered a cocktail. The rooms were awesome. Super clean and comfortable. The vibe was easy going but there wasn't a minute we wanted for anything. It really felt like we were staying with old friends. Our kids loved it too. They made up stories and games about living in a castle. Great place! Awesome hosts! Wonderful staff!

Room Tip: We stayed just off the pool. Awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carroll-Hinkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

My Husband and I stayed here 2 night during our babymoon/Anniversary. It was amazing!! The staff is so friendly and the grounds are spectacular. Breakfast in the morning is great!. If you want peace and quite and a place to relax and get away, look no further. Thank you Linda and Marta for all your hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leti b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Based on the reviews my husband and I decided to stay at the Hacienda for a few days. To sum it up, we loved it and wouldn't have changed a thing...well maybe the weather! The room was lovely, I enjoyed the rustic chic design. I loved the bathtub! The freshly made breakfast was reason enough to get up every morning. The staff was super friendly and the owners were wonderful. It was quiet, serene and we really felt we were in the rain forest. If you are looking for a relaxed setting then Hacienda Siesta Alegre is the place for you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EZLaVie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
92 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were here for a wedding, let me tell you something, this place is amazing, it is a bit difficult to find the location, specially at night, you must use GPS, inside the hacienda is also difficult to find the place no signs but finally we find the place. The ambience is super romantic, this is 100% authentic Puerto Rico. If you need a place to organize an event(business, family etc..) this place will exceed all expectative.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
3.8 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
7.6 mi away
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
17.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
4.7 mi away
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico
3.8 mi away
El Escondido Guest House
El Escondido Guest House
#1 of 2 in Canovanas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Siesta Alegre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Siesta Alegre

Property: Hacienda Siesta Alegre
Address: Carr. 186 Km 23. 9 | Sector El Verde, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Siesta Alegre is a beautiful rustic style bed & breakfast and wedding venue located just 30 minutes east of San Juan . The private property is nestled in a quite area surrounded by tropical fauna and breathtaking views.Currently, we have 9 rooms including one suite. In addition,we offer a private 5-bedroom villa. Area attractions include El Yunque National Rain Forest,Fajardo's Bioluminescent Bay, Piñones State Forest, Luquillo Beach, Historical Sites, and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hacienda Siesta Alegre Hotel Rio Grande
Hacienda Siesta Alegre Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing