We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“"Already We Call It Home"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rio Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2014

This is our 5th year in St.Regis BahiaBeach Puerto Rico With The Carmelo Anthony Foundation,Were We Always Have A Blast.They Make Us Feel Like At Home And Specialy Relax Even When At Work. We Will Like To Give Thanks To All The STAFF In The Hotel From Erick Gonzagaz To The House Keeping Crew(Rooms Were Always Clean).But There Is SomeOne VERY Special And Thats LUIS VELEZ,He Was Always Making Sure We Were Ok,Making Sure Anthony Had Water After Hes WorkOuts,Everytime Asking If We Need Help.One More Time Thank You St.Regis BahiaBeach Puerto Rico For Everything,You Guys Are The Best In What You Do!

Room Tip: Talk To Erick
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Traci G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Greetings from The Best Address in the Caribbean!

Thank you greatly for choosing not only The St. Regis but our beautiful island to be a part of your caring and devoted foundation. It gives us great pride to be a part of giving back to the community and especially the local youth. Your praise and loyalty motivate us all to continue this beautiful tradition year after year.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and for mentioning the staff members who contributed in making your stay flawless as they truly go the extra mile to create a comforting connection with all.

We look forward to welcoming you once again next year, to another uncompromising St. Regis experience at Bahía Beach.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,
Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

691 - 697 of 1,445 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2014

Seriously overpriced... maybe at 1/3 the price I would have felt better about the experience. This is no where close to other similarly priced properties in terms of service, food, ambience, etc. Is this a nice place? Yes. But for this price point I've had near perfect experiences elsewhere, whereas here we were angry and ready to leave after being there four hours. Highlights:
- Screaming kids everywhere. I like kids but there was truly no where to go to escape them.
- Both my wife and I (separately) ordered champagne and flowers to be waiting in the room to surprise the other for our anniversary. We were certainly surprised, but that's because neither order showed up. Eventually some champagne showed up with a card that said "Happy Birthday, Bob!". Neither of us is named Bob, and neither of us was having a birthday. Seriously, you can't make this up.
- Beach furniture was rusty and looked like they bought it at Kmart. Beach itself was o.k. but not world class.
- Rooms didn't feel especially luxurious. Overall ambience had a mass produced feel to it. A lot of the finishes and details just seemed shoddy.
- Service was friendly but generally inept. They make such a big deal out of the St. Regis butler service but I still haven't figured out exactly what they do. Often when I called the Butler/ Concierge no one picked up.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank CStew2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at our resort.

Allow us to preface by apologizing for your disappointment. In our most concerned effort to improve any area in question, rest assured that your comments were taken very seriously and have been addressed with our staff.

We do hope that you will still consider returning to our property, as we very much look forward to reverse your last impression, and promise that you would indeed be treated to a flawless St. Regis experience.

Thank you for the gift of feedback, and the opportunity to respond to your concerns.
Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Just spent 5 nights at the St Regis Bahia Beach Resort with my two teenage sons. It is absolutely beautiful, comfortable w/ an intelligent and very friendly staff. The rooms w/ balconies are beautiful, clean and spacious. The pool is well designed, the beach is pristine. Food is fresh, delicious and plentiful (which is important when traveling w/ teenagers).
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K_SamNewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Greetings from The Best Address in the Caribbean!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our captivating resort.

We are delighted that you and your sons enjoyed our home, and that our fine dining and accommodations exceeded your expectations.
On behalf of all the staff we wish to welcome your family once again to indulge in paradise.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,
Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Pros:
• Beautiful beach
• Friendly and helpful staff
• Quick flight from Northeast

Cons:
• Mildew and mold. Everything smells. I stayed in a $1200 per night suite and it smelled like a locker room. The restaurant, the bars, the conference rooms, they all wreak of mold.

• This may be a time of year issue but the bugs are ridicules and they have 0 respect for bug spray! The entire time we were at the beach we were assaulted by noseeums. You could shower in bug spray. They do not care. You will be covered in bug bites.

• The stray animals.
The resort is over run with stray dogs and cats. Not wild animals mind you, abandoned house pets that are starving and clearly fighting off disease. If you're an animal lover, you will have an issue with this.

Given the amount of money you're going to drop to get to this location and enjoy it, I would say it's not worth it. There are plenty of beautiful resorts that don't have these issues...

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank mansourb767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at our resort.

Allow us to preface by apologizing for your disappointment. In our most concerned effort to improve any area in question, rest assured that your comments have been addressed. We have an outstanding insect control program, which, right after reading your email, we have done a deep maintenance service to make sure this is not an obstacle for any guest to visit The St. Regis.

The animals on property are indeed protected. We have created an adoption program "Alma of Bahia" where we care, shelter and provide medical assistance. Certain local guests and even guests from around the world have adopted animals here in to safe loving homes. This is a continuous program and indeed, we have seen animals that approach our facilities and of course are then adopted by our biologists at the resort.

We do hope that you will still consider returning to our property, as we very much look forward to reverse your last impression.

Thank you for the gift of feedback, and the opportunity to respond to your concerns.

Warmest regards,
Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

A short drive from San Juan, Puerto Rico ... but a world away! Serene, elegant, and perfectly tropical. Amazing beaches, tranquil pools, and a staff that has clearly embraced luxury service. Expensive, and worth every penny. The St. Regis Bahia Beach is tropical luxury defined. Enjoy!
Stand out staff. Eric At check in, my bellman ( forgot his name, sorry. Thin with glasses) John and Patricia and Jaime at the pool. And the young lady from Italy who helped me to choose the best chair at the pool each day - she speaks five languages! The great guys from valet.
Each staff member I encountered were well trained and wonderful!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Popeye21184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our captivating resort.

We are thrilled that you were seduced by our magnificent accommodations and spectacular tropical setting, but most of all, the warmth of our devoted staff. They are quite passionate in their efforts to pamper our distinguished guests, and ‘Allow me…’ is at the heart of our emblematic service philosophy.

We hope you will return soon, so that we may treat you to another uncompromising St. Regis experience at Bahía Beach.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,
Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

I will begin by saying we have stayed all over the world Ritz to Four seasons and have never had such an attentive staff they assign you a butler who will do what you ask. I gave the butler a generous tip at the beginning of the trip 300 dollars that made things go very well. Security excellent no crowds .... no one gets in unless you have a room. Great beach and poolside Cabanas with push button butler service .WE EVEN GOT TO SEE SEA TURTLES HATCH. I will be back.
Keep in mind not cheap$$$$

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sam g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your recent stay in our stunning resort.

We are delighted that you had such a wonderful once-in-a-lifetime experience, and could see our endangered Leatherback Turtles hatch! Being that you are well traveled we are much honored to receive your praise. From our Signature St. Regis Butler Service, to our exclusive gated community, your well being and comfort are our priority.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,
Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I am a nature's lover. I love the trees, when they naturally draw the landscape and the long sandy beaches. That is why I loved my experience at the St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort. I loved that there is not a big entrance in the middle of the street, but that you are welcomed by a friendly face at a big gate and then you drive into the magic of nature. The lake, golf course and trees all around make you feel good already. When I got to the main entrance, with fire torches and cabin like lobby another friendly face welcomes you by your name. It is a personal experience. It is not about big, fancy facilities, but more of a cozy, artistry and detailed oriented experience. The suites are spacious, the food is tasty, and even when one of the days was raining all day long, I enjoyed so much staying at the room watching the rain and resting... Even getting there was easy with the new highway that takes you from the airport directly to the hotel. The only constructive feedback I really need to give is that service at the restaurants must be more efficient and timely. Other than that, I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jalemare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Greetings from the Best Address in the Caribbean!

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent visit to our magnificent resort.

We are thrilled that you were seduced by our magnificent accommodations and spectacular tropical setting. We take much pride being the first and only Certified Gold Audubon Signature Sanctuary in the Caribbean. Keeping in mind the area was once a sugarcane and coconut plantation we wanted to keep the natural surroundings and concepts like the welcoming Plantation House you mentioned with the fire torches lit in the evenings. Thank you once again for appreciating ever corner of the 483 acres of land and its accommodations.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon, and treat you to another uncompromising St. Regis vacation.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,
Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
31.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
17.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
12.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.5 mi away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,843 reviews
4.5 mi away
Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar
16.7 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico

Address: State Road 187 kilometer 4.2, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
#1 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range: $496 - $1,769 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designated as Puerto Rico’s first and only AAA Five Diamond resort and the leader in luxury on the island and in the Caribbean, The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico has been designed with the entire family in mind, providing a variety of extraordinary services and activities that will keep all guests entertained from sunrise to sunset. Located on a former 483 acre coconut plantation, our Rio Grande resort in Puerto Rico sits between El Yunque National Forest and the sparkling Atlantic Ocean on the northeast coast. A Certified Gold Audubon Signature Sanctuary, the lush Resort features a tennis center, a golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones Jr., as well as 4 miles of nature trails, 70 acres of lakes and a boat house for water sports. The intimate St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico boasts suites where The St. Regis’ iconic Butler service is available. Most of the guestrooms overlook amazing ocean and garden views setting a new standard in luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Hotel Rio Grande
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing