We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit or Miss Service (For a 5-Star Hotel)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rio Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This is a very difficult review to write, because I really love this property. The problem is, the St. Regis Bahia Beach is listed as a 5-star hotel, and the unfortunate reality is, this property simply is not 5-star, because they have not mastered the art and staff training of 5-star service. Which is not to say that the employees aren't friendly and mostly helpful, but visitors who are accustomed to 5-star service will immediately (and consistently) be aware that this property repeatedly falls short. I could give examples, but what I think is likely more beneficial to anyone reading this review is just to understand that while the property itself and the amenities are 5-star, the service is not. If 5-star service is not a priority for you, then this is a wonderful hotel to visit. The only other concern you may have is that this hotel seems to have decided to build their business on group events. This is great for the hotel because they are booked at maximum capacity, and it's great for any companies who are looking to host a large group sales club event or large group company meeting, or even for couples wishing to host a destination wedding, but as an individual traveler with your family, you will likely be treated as a 2nd class citizen behind the large parties for things like optimal room location and ability to book services at the spa, book tee times, etc. (unless - as I had to be several times - you are a squeaky wheel, which no one wants to have to be on vacation just to get the service they equally deserve). I had visited a year ago, when the hotel had not been opened for very long, so I was hoping that I would find this year that they had ironed out the wrinkles in service that a new hotel can experience. I'm sad to say that the service has deteriorated even further. Again, if service doesn't matter to you, then this is a wonderful hotel. ......Just not a 5-star. Also, be sure to pack whatever you need, because they have closed the gift shop and now instead keep a limited amount of gift shop products in the spa lobby. We found that they don't seem to manage the stock of necessities or products there very well (and you wouldn't even know they have many of those products, because they're hidden behind closed cabinet doors). So if you do find yourself craving a candy bar, or needing deodorant, you'll need to ask the spa receptionist to open the cabinets to show you what they have.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CWB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our magnificent resort.

Rest assured that your comments have been appropriately addressed with our team. Your feedback is crucial for us to continue demonstrating the extraordinary level of service which has become the St. Regis hallmark.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to your home away from home, the St. Regis Bahía beach, in the not too distant future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,440)
There are newer reviews for The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

754 - 760 of 1,440 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in early April. We had booked the Ritz Carlton originally but after 3 nights moved to the St Regis.
This is a beautiful hotel, well appointed rooms, magnificent location, great attention to details and Eco friendly to its environment.
The staff we very polite, always greeting us, first class all round.
I'm not sure about previous comments but our experience was perfect.
If you are looking for more of a tranquil, relaxed environment with excellent service and a location more like the real Puerto Rico then this is the place.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Keddy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent visit.

We are thrilled that you choose our AAA Five Diamond award winning resort. Your thorough enjoyment is precisely the experience we intend for all of our distinguished guests. Our eco-friendly property is actually the first Certified Gold Audubon Signature Sanctuary in the Caribbean. How wonderful that we could share its stunning beauty with you.

Your kudos for our staff are sincerely appreciated, and the details you point out part of the St. Regis commitment to highly personalized service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your second home, in the near future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is hands down, the best resort I've stayed at. It is hard to imagine that there could be a nicer tropical resort in the world. Although I only stayed here for two short nights, I felt as though I was rejuvenated with at least a week and a half's worth of relaxation. The rainforest suite was amazing - beautifully appointed with high quality toiletries and an amazing bathroom. I loved the private butler service and the french pressed coffee service in the morning. The pool was great, and there is 2.5 miles of private beach to explore. The service was fantastic... no matter what the request, the response from the staff is "allow me". Every night at 6pm, there is a champagne ceremony where they saber a bottle of champagne and do a free toast with the guests who choose to attend. The bar staff was wonderful, and even let me try sabering a bottle! Truly a memorable experience. If you are considering a stay at this property, you MUST treat yourself and do it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamGolf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our captivating resort.

We are thrilled that you were seduced by our magnificent accommodations and spectacular tropical setting, but most of all, the warmth of our devoted staff. They are quite passionate in their efforts to pamper our distinguished guests, and ‘Allow me…’ is at the heart of our emblematic service philosophy.

We hope you will return soon, so that we may treat you to another uncompromising St. Regis experience at Bahía Beach.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

This is a beautiful property with lots of things to do on property as well as off. Rooms were beautiful but had a musty, slightly wet dog type of smell. Our kids enjoyed the pool, going on a bike ride, the nature tour and golfing (kids golf free after 3)

They had great directions to the rain forest and old San Juan and we enjoyed this as well.

The only downside was the lack of local restaurant suggestions and the overpriced food/drinks. Breakfast buffet on the weekends were great but the other mornings breakfast was mediocre (do not order an omelet--I think the eggs were from a box).

Kids menu needs some healthier options.

Overall great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Greetings from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our resort.

Our master plan is to design every detail for your absolute enjoyment. How wonderful that you indulged in our unique property, and how it captures the distinctive personality of Puerto Rico and its enchanted tropical setting. Rest assured, your suggestions with reference to our restaurants have been duly noted.

We also appreciate your words of praise for our dedicated staff. Your generous feedback serves as testament that their extraordinary service is what makes our distinguished guests feel so at home.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Bahía Beach, in the near future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

This resort offers a very secure and secluded retreat for families with small children that is easy to get to with great weather. Fern restaurant is outstanding. The check-in process was frustrating... just take us to our suite as we were dying to jump in the pool after a long flight. $25 pina coladas are just off-putting... The children's dining program would be outstanding if it included room service and at least covered the kids' meals at the iguana club when the parents were dining on-site. The spa is excellent although our initial requests for a tour at 11am were denied until a manager came to welcome us to the spa. We were told tours were arranged by appointment only yet we are subjected to a $35 daily spa fee (not included in $60 nightly resort fee). The rooms were very clean and the staff were kind although were sluggishly reactive and rarely proactive to offer butler services and amenities. We were in the st regis suite, 1113. A beautiful room with excellent access to beach and great views. Overall, I would not return because I prefer a more swimmable sea/ ocean. I also found that the costs of this resort were much higher with less value than peer properties.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank lovetheluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Greetings from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our distinctive resort.

We are pleased that you indulged in our well-orchestrated guest experience, and discovered that almost every aspect of our little paradise met your fulfillment! Rest assured that your valuable comments have been appropriately addressed.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to your home away from home, the St. Regis Bahía beach, in the not too distant future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The resort is expansive and beautiful. It includes walking paths, a golf course, tennis courts, pool, spa, a workout facility and a boathouse. And then there is the beach. Wonderful! We visited during the last week in March and while there were families and couples throughout the resort, we never felt overwhelmed with crowds, lines, and noise. There are plenty of chairs, towels and umbrellas at the beach as well as a friendly wait staff. The rooms are spacious and very clean.

All employees from the housekeepers, to the servers, to the concierge were helpful, genuinely friendly, and attentive. The staff at the spa was equally top notch and I encourage you to pamper yourself there!

We enjoyed all the restaurants on the property and while it would have been nice to have some other dining options nearby we felt like we truly "got away" while staying at this spectacular facility.

This resort fits in well with its natural surrounding. The resort is motivated to incorporate natural flora and fauna with an eye on conservation. They employ naturalists so if you get a chance to take a walk with one or meet for the kayak trip at the boathouse, you will be impressed with their knowledge of the area and their commitment to perpetuating the local environment.

All in all, a very memorable stay and we will return again as a family or as a couple.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GBug38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our stunning resort.

We are pleased that you found our lavishly designed resort to your satisfaction, and our staff to be very genuine in making sure that your family’s every need was fulfilled and personalized.

We look forward to welcoming your family back soon, so that we may treat you to another superb St. Regis vacation.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The resort was beautiful and the staff was very helpful and accommodating. Rooms were very nice and spacious. Food was great at Fern and at the pool bar. Just wish there were more dining options nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jhtraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahia Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay with us.

It gives us tremendous pleasure that our dedicated staff made you feel so welcome, and that you thoroughly enjoyed how our unique eco-design captures the distinctive tropical enchantment of Puerto Rico and its sumptuous culinary delights.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your second home in the near future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
31.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
12.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,254 reviews
17.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
16.8 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico

Address: State Road 187 kilometer 4.2, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
#1 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range: $500 - $1,655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designated as Puerto Rico’s first and only AAA Five Diamond resort and the leader in luxury on the island and in the Caribbean, The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico has been designed with the entire family in mind, providing a variety of extraordinary services and activities that will keep all guests entertained from sunrise to sunset. Located on a former 483 acre coconut plantation, our Rio Grande resort in Puerto Rico sits between El Yunque National Forest and the sparkling Atlantic Ocean on the northeast coast. A Certified Gold Audubon Signature Sanctuary, the lush Resort features a tennis center, a golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones Jr., as well as 4 miles of nature trails, 70 acres of lakes and a boat house for water sports. The intimate St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico boasts suites where The St. Regis’ iconic Butler service is available. Most of the guestrooms overlook amazing ocean and garden views setting a new standard in luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Hotel Rio Grande
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing