We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very special place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Rio Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A very special place”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is hands down, the best resort I've stayed at. It is hard to imagine that there could be a nicer tropical resort in the world. Although I only stayed here for two short nights, I felt as though I was rejuvenated with at least a week and a half's worth of relaxation. The rainforest suite was amazing - beautifully appointed with high quality toiletries and an amazing bathroom. I loved the private butler service and the french pressed coffee service in the morning. The pool was great, and there is 2.5 miles of private beach to explore. The service was fantastic... no matter what the request, the response from the staff is "allow me". Every night at 6pm, there is a champagne ceremony where they saber a bottle of champagne and do a free toast with the guests who choose to attend. The bar staff was wonderful, and even let me try sabering a bottle! Truly a memorable experience. If you are considering a stay at this property, you MUST treat yourself and do it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamGolf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our captivating resort.

We are thrilled that you were seduced by our magnificent accommodations and spectacular tropical setting, but most of all, the warmth of our devoted staff. They are quite passionate in their efforts to pamper our distinguished guests, and ‘Allow me…’ is at the heart of our emblematic service philosophy.

We hope you will return soon, so that we may treat you to another uncompromising St. Regis experience at Bahía Beach.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    875
    295
    112
    45
    29
See reviews for
388
658
18
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

This is a beautiful property with lots of things to do on property as well as off. Rooms were beautiful but had a musty, slightly wet dog type of smell. Our kids enjoyed the pool, going on a bike ride, the nature tour and golfing (kids golf free after 3)

They had great directions to the rain forest and old San Juan and we enjoyed this as well.

The only downside was the lack of local restaurant suggestions and the overpriced food/drinks. Breakfast buffet on the weekends were great but the other mornings breakfast was mediocre (do not order an omelet--I think the eggs were from a box).

Kids menu needs some healthier options.

Overall great experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Greetings from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our resort.

Our master plan is to design every detail for your absolute enjoyment. How wonderful that you indulged in our unique property, and how it captures the distinctive personality of Puerto Rico and its enchanted tropical setting. Rest assured, your suggestions with reference to our restaurants have been duly noted.

We also appreciate your words of praise for our dedicated staff. Your generous feedback serves as testament that their extraordinary service is what makes our distinguished guests feel so at home.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Bahía Beach, in the near future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

This resort offers a very secure and secluded retreat for families with small children that is easy to get to with great weather. Fern restaurant is outstanding. The check-in process was frustrating... just take us to our suite as we were dying to jump in the pool after a long flight. $25 pina coladas are just off-putting... The children's dining program would be outstanding if it included room service and at least covered the kids' meals at the iguana club when the parents were dining on-site. The spa is excellent although our initial requests for a tour at 11am were denied until a manager came to welcome us to the spa. We were told tours were arranged by appointment only yet we are subjected to a $35 daily spa fee (not included in $60 nightly resort fee). The rooms were very clean and the staff were kind although were sluggishly reactive and rarely proactive to offer butler services and amenities. We were in the st regis suite, 1113. A beautiful room with excellent access to beach and great views. Overall, I would not return because I prefer a more swimmable sea/ ocean. I also found that the costs of this resort were much higher with less value than peer properties.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetheluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Greetings from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our distinctive resort.

We are pleased that you indulged in our well-orchestrated guest experience, and discovered that almost every aspect of our little paradise met your fulfillment! Rest assured that your valuable comments have been appropriately addressed.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to your home away from home, the St. Regis Bahía beach, in the not too distant future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frontenac, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The resort is expansive and beautiful. It includes walking paths, a golf course, tennis courts, pool, spa, a workout facility and a boathouse. And then there is the beach. Wonderful! We visited during the last week in March and while there were families and couples throughout the resort, we never felt overwhelmed with crowds, lines, and noise. There are plenty of chairs, towels and umbrellas at the beach as well as a friendly wait staff. The rooms are spacious and very clean.

All employees from the housekeepers, to the servers, to the concierge were helpful, genuinely friendly, and attentive. The staff at the spa was equally top notch and I encourage you to pamper yourself there!

We enjoyed all the restaurants on the property and while it would have been nice to have some other dining options nearby we felt like we truly "got away" while staying at this spectacular facility.

This resort fits in well with its natural surrounding. The resort is motivated to incorporate natural flora and fauna with an eye on conservation. They employ naturalists so if you get a chance to take a walk with one or meet for the kayak trip at the boathouse, you will be impressed with their knowledge of the area and their commitment to perpetuating the local environment.

All in all, a very memorable stay and we will return again as a family or as a couple.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GBug38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our stunning resort.

We are pleased that you found our lavishly designed resort to your satisfaction, and our staff to be very genuine in making sure that your family’s every need was fulfilled and personalized.

We look forward to welcoming your family back soon, so that we may treat you to another superb St. Regis vacation.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The resort was beautiful and the staff was very helpful and accommodating. Rooms were very nice and spacious. Food was great at Fern and at the pool bar. Just wish there were more dining options nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jhtraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahia Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay with us.

It gives us tremendous pleasure that our dedicated staff made you feel so welcome, and that you thoroughly enjoyed how our unique eco-design captures the distinctive tropical enchantment of Puerto Rico and its sumptuous culinary delights.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your second home in the near future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for five nights in early March with our nine month old infant and had an incredible time. We cashed in nearly all the SPG points we had (24K / night), but it was worth it. We didn't get an upgraded room because the hotel was at full capacity, but the standard room had plenty of space, a private outdoor balcony and oversized bathroom.

We coordinated with the hotel in advance and they provided the roll away crib we needed and referred us to their babysitting service (outside company) which we used one night while eating at their Fern restaurant. Food all around was great - topped off by the tasting menu / wine pairing experience at Fern.

We rented a cabana one day at the pool, which was a nice experience, though not really necessary because even at full capacity, the hotel didn't feel overcrowded.

I snuck away for a round of golf at the resort on Friday morning and played a solo round in less than three hours. It was among the best golf courses I've ever played and it was virtually empty. The front nine meanders around a river and nature preserve while the last couple of holes stretch along a white sand beach and ocean.

The only downside was that the beach had two red flags each day indicating that it was closed to the public. It was shallow, but rough, with tough currents. You could still go in the water, but it's probably not safe for children or weak swimmers. Other than that, the beach was beautiful and private and the huge, multi-level pool made up for it.

We rented a car and made easy day trips to Old San Juan and the El Yunque rainforest, both within 30-40 minutes of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent visit to our resort.

We are delighted that you had such and a wonderfully luxurious vacation, and that the natural beauty of our captivating surroundings and decadent culinary delights made you both feel so welcome.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the St. Regis Bahía beach in the near future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

The property is spectacular.

The rooms are spectacular.

They are very kid friendly so probably not great for a honeymoon or singles, but excellent for families. We were on a Babymoon, so it was a good window into the near future.

Everyone is friendly. I do see some of the service deficiencies others complain about, but I don't know what hotel does it better. Yes, a personal house staff will do better, but we found the service to be excellent for a hotel.

We rented a car and would highly recommend it. There is much to see and do away from the resort and it opens up dinner options as well.

We would definitely return.

Two activities we highly recommend:

1. Catamaran trip to private island for snorkeling

2. Fly a microlight in Arecibo. I had the opportunity to spot humpback whales from a few hundred feet in the air. It was amazing!

We have two suggestions for improvement:

1). Remove password requirements from the wifi. It is free to all guests. This is a secure campus so only guests are here. From whom are they protecting the wifi? The iguanas? It is such a pain in the neck to have to login over and over. Just remove the password requirement!

2) A hotel of this caliber should have some tempurpedic pillows in stock for guests who request it. I sleep on one at home and don't sleep well without it. Ritz Carlton keeps a few in inventory. This place should as well.



Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hendlerj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahia Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay with us.

It gives us tremendous pleasure that our dedicated staff made you feel so welcome, and that you thoroughly enjoyed how our unique eco-design captures the distinctive tropical enchantment of Puerto Rico and its sumptuous culinary delights.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your second home in the near future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
12.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,110 reviews
31.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
17.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
6,755 reviews
16.8 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
13.1 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort

Property: The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Address: State Road 187 kilometer 4.2, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
#1 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designated as Puerto Rico’s first and only AAA Five Diamond resort and the leader in luxury on the island and in the Caribbean, The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico has been designed with the entire family in mind, providing a variety of extraordinary services and activities that will keep all guests entertained from sunrise to sunset. Located on a former 483 acre coconut plantation, it is nestled between El Yunque National Forest and the sparkling Atlantic Ocean on the northeast coast of Puerto Rico. Certified Gold Audubon Signature Sanctuary, the lush Resort features a tennis center, a golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones Jr., as well as 4 miles of nature trails, 70 acres of lakes and a boat house for water sports. The intimate St. Regis Bahia Beach boasts 139 rooms including 35 suites, where The St. Regis’ iconic Butler service is available. Most of the guestrooms overlook amazing ocean and garden views setting a new standard in luxury accommodations, service levels and facilities for the Caribbean. An indulging Remède Spa and the exquisite dining options will delight all senses, including Fern Restaurant, featuring culinary creations by world famous Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten, Molasses Restaurant, St. Regis Bar and Seagrapes. In addition, abundant banquet space is available to accommodate a variety of outdoor or indoor events. Featuring amazing ocean or garden views, it is the perfect setting for small or big gatherings as well as weddings. The elegant tropical magnificence of The St. Regis Bahia Beach creates a world for its guests that they will never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Hotel Rio Grande
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing