We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring getaway for family: convenient luxury ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Rio Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Spring getaway for family: convenient luxury ”
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

This resort offers a very secure and secluded retreat for families with small children that is easy to get to with great weather. Fern restaurant is outstanding. The check-in process was frustrating... just take us to our suite as we were dying to jump in the pool after a long flight. $25 pina coladas are just off-putting... The children's dining program would be outstanding if it included room service and at least covered the kids' meals at the iguana club when the parents were dining on-site. The spa is excellent although our initial requests for a tour at 11am were denied until a manager came to welcome us to the spa. We were told tours were arranged by appointment only yet we are subjected to a $35 daily spa fee (not included in $60 nightly resort fee). The rooms were very clean and the staff were kind although were sluggishly reactive and rarely proactive to offer butler services and amenities. We were in the st regis suite, 1113. A beautiful room with excellent access to beach and great views. Overall, I would not return because I prefer a more swimmable sea/ ocean. I also found that the costs of this resort were much higher with less value than peer properties.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetheluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Greetings from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our distinctive resort.

We are pleased that you indulged in our well-orchestrated guest experience, and discovered that almost every aspect of our little paradise met your fulfillment! Rest assured that your valuable comments have been appropriately addressed.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to your home away from home, the St. Regis Bahía beach, in the not too distant future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    900
    300
    112
    47
    30
See reviews for
396
675
18
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frontenac, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The resort is expansive and beautiful. It includes walking paths, a golf course, tennis courts, pool, spa, a workout facility and a boathouse. And then there is the beach. Wonderful! We visited during the last week in March and while there were families and couples throughout the resort, we never felt overwhelmed with crowds, lines, and noise. There are plenty of chairs, towels and umbrellas at the beach as well as a friendly wait staff. The rooms are spacious and very clean.

All employees from the housekeepers, to the servers, to the concierge were helpful, genuinely friendly, and attentive. The staff at the spa was equally top notch and I encourage you to pamper yourself there!

We enjoyed all the restaurants on the property and while it would have been nice to have some other dining options nearby we felt like we truly "got away" while staying at this spectacular facility.

This resort fits in well with its natural surrounding. The resort is motivated to incorporate natural flora and fauna with an eye on conservation. They employ naturalists so if you get a chance to take a walk with one or meet for the kayak trip at the boathouse, you will be impressed with their knowledge of the area and their commitment to perpetuating the local environment.

All in all, a very memorable stay and we will return again as a family or as a couple.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GBug38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our stunning resort.

We are pleased that you found our lavishly designed resort to your satisfaction, and our staff to be very genuine in making sure that your family’s every need was fulfilled and personalized.

We look forward to welcoming your family back soon, so that we may treat you to another superb St. Regis vacation.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The resort was beautiful and the staff was very helpful and accommodating. Rooms were very nice and spacious. Food was great at Fern and at the pool bar. Just wish there were more dining options nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jhtraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahia Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay with us.

It gives us tremendous pleasure that our dedicated staff made you feel so welcome, and that you thoroughly enjoyed how our unique eco-design captures the distinctive tropical enchantment of Puerto Rico and its sumptuous culinary delights.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your second home in the near future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for five nights in early March with our nine month old infant and had an incredible time. We cashed in nearly all the SPG points we had (24K / night), but it was worth it. We didn't get an upgraded room because the hotel was at full capacity, but the standard room had plenty of space, a private outdoor balcony and oversized bathroom.

We coordinated with the hotel in advance and they provided the roll away crib we needed and referred us to their babysitting service (outside company) which we used one night while eating at their Fern restaurant. Food all around was great - topped off by the tasting menu / wine pairing experience at Fern.

We rented a cabana one day at the pool, which was a nice experience, though not really necessary because even at full capacity, the hotel didn't feel overcrowded.

I snuck away for a round of golf at the resort on Friday morning and played a solo round in less than three hours. It was among the best golf courses I've ever played and it was virtually empty. The front nine meanders around a river and nature preserve while the last couple of holes stretch along a white sand beach and ocean.

The only downside was that the beach had two red flags each day indicating that it was closed to the public. It was shallow, but rough, with tough currents. You could still go in the water, but it's probably not safe for children or weak swimmers. Other than that, the beach was beautiful and private and the huge, multi-level pool made up for it.

We rented a car and made easy day trips to Old San Juan and the El Yunque rainforest, both within 30-40 minutes of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent visit to our resort.

We are delighted that you had such and a wonderfully luxurious vacation, and that the natural beauty of our captivating surroundings and decadent culinary delights made you both feel so welcome.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the St. Regis Bahía beach in the near future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

The property is spectacular.

The rooms are spectacular.

They are very kid friendly so probably not great for a honeymoon or singles, but excellent for families. We were on a Babymoon, so it was a good window into the near future.

Everyone is friendly. I do see some of the service deficiencies others complain about, but I don't know what hotel does it better. Yes, a personal house staff will do better, but we found the service to be excellent for a hotel.

We rented a car and would highly recommend it. There is much to see and do away from the resort and it opens up dinner options as well.

We would definitely return.

Two activities we highly recommend:

1. Catamaran trip to private island for snorkeling

2. Fly a microlight in Arecibo. I had the opportunity to spot humpback whales from a few hundred feet in the air. It was amazing!

We have two suggestions for improvement:

1). Remove password requirements from the wifi. It is free to all guests. This is a secure campus so only guests are here. From whom are they protecting the wifi? The iguanas? It is such a pain in the neck to have to login over and over. Just remove the password requirement!

2) A hotel of this caliber should have some tempurpedic pillows in stock for guests who request it. I sleep on one at home and don't sleep well without it. Ritz Carlton keeps a few in inventory. This place should as well.



Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hendlerj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahia Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay with us.

It gives us tremendous pleasure that our dedicated staff made you feel so welcome, and that you thoroughly enjoyed how our unique eco-design captures the distinctive tropical enchantment of Puerto Rico and its sumptuous culinary delights.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your second home in the near future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed at the St Regis Bahia Beach from March 11-15. Very relaxing well conceived resort. Service was generally outstanding with lots of nice little touches. I like the fact that it is a low rise resort(no buildings over 3 stories) and blended into the landscape. Also a relatively small resort. Beach is 2 miles long and completely private which is a huge plus. Rooms were fabulous with huge shower and walk in closet and nice deck.
Food was very good but with only 3 dining options (2 for dinner) if you are not leaving the resort, you have limited options. Both food and drinks were pricey but drinks were well poured (other than wine pours which were below average pours by the glass--looked like 4 oz). One of my few complaints is that they never refilled (other than 1x) sodas/iced tea--when you are charging $6, refill the drink--it costs pennies!!
The fitness center is very nice and well equipped. The concierges are very helpful. Many staff knew me by name after a day or so. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and impeccable.
The pool and beach attendants are terrific.
I would and plan to go back in a heartbeat. I have stayed at many fine resorts and this is in my top 5.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Greetings from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our resort.

We are quite passionate about pampering our guests, and what you describe in detail, from the beauty of our resort to our luxurious rooms and sumptuous cuisine, is all part of the St. Regis customized experience. As you can see, our staff is quite sincere in displaying our distinctive hospitality!

We have taken careful note of your suggestions, and already shared them with our staff, in our continuous effort to deliver only the finest services for your pleasure.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to your home away from home, the St. Regis Bahía Beach, in the near future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

My wife and I just stayed here and have to say that the hotel, it's grounds and rooms were absolutely beautiful. Everything was well appointed and the food there was delicious. Fern and Molasses both were very good. Not as good as some in San Juan but good.

As far as the service goes....I was disappointed. For a what is supposed to be an elite luxury hotel, people should be bending over and be very attentive to your needs. Everyone says they will do things but it is all talk and no action. Concierge sent us to a dive for our anniversary. We asked for something very nice and even came down and were all dressed up for dinner. We left that restaurant and went somewhere else. The service at the pool was extremely poor. Employees seem very unwilling to accommodate. I even complained to the manager on duty named Lisa at the front desk and was told they will take care of it and get back to me and never heard back. I called that night to complain that I never heard back and was told to have 2 drinks on them for dinner and that 5000 points would be put in my Starwood account. That has not happened to date. I think this hotel needs a lot of work from a service point of view. They are very good at lip service and telling you what you want to hear but not very good at the execution and many people we met while we were there agreed with us.

For these reasons I probably wouldn't go back and should have considered another property. I read similar reviews about this and thought it might be just a disgruntled customer or someone who found the property too expensive but I do understand now. Starwood has some work to do here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AHart814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our magnificent resort.

Rest assured, your comments have been appropriately addressed with our team. Your feedback is crucial for us to continue demonstrating the extraordinary level of service which has become the St. Regis hallmark.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to your home away from home, the St. Regis Bahía Beach, in the not too distant future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
12.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,172 reviews
31.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
17.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
6,942 reviews
16.8 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
4.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort

Property: The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Address: State Road 187 kilometer 4.2, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
#1 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designated as Puerto Rico’s first and only AAA Five Diamond resort and the leader in luxury on the island and in the Caribbean, The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico has been designed with the entire family in mind, providing a variety of extraordinary services and activities that will keep all guests entertained from sunrise to sunset. Located on a former 483 acre coconut plantation, it is nestled between El Yunque National Forest and the sparkling Atlantic Ocean on the northeast coast of Puerto Rico. Certified Gold Audubon Signature Sanctuary, the lush Resort features a tennis center, a golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones Jr., as well as 4 miles of nature trails, 70 acres of lakes and a boat house for water sports. The intimate St. Regis Bahia Beach boasts 139 rooms including 35 suites, where The St. Regis’ iconic Butler service is available. Most of the guestrooms overlook amazing ocean and garden views setting a new standard in luxury accommodations, service levels and facilities for the Caribbean. An indulging Remède Spa and the exquisite dining options will delight all senses, including Fern Restaurant, featuring culinary creations by world famous Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten, Molasses Restaurant, St. Regis Bar and Seagrapes. In addition, abundant banquet space is available to accommodate a variety of outdoor or indoor events. Featuring amazing ocean or garden views, it is the perfect setting for small or big gatherings as well as weddings. The elegant tropical magnificence of The St. Regis Bahia Beach creates a world for its guests that they will never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Hotel Rio Grande
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing