We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Excellent Hotel, as good as it gets”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Rio Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Westchester County, NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Truly Excellent Hotel, as good as it gets”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Were spent a winter holiday week here in room 1013, an ocean front 1 bedroom suite. The grounds, rooms and service were exceptional in every way. The pullout sofa comfortably fit our 12 and 14 year olds, and the corner section of the sofa was made up by room service to happily fit our 8 year old. The Butler service kindly brought complimentary excellent tea and coffee each morning. Even during a fully booked week, the beach was never crowded. The water was great. Big waves but not forceful. The kids loved it. The golf course is beautiful. The restaurants very solid and at times excellent. Great bike paths, lake boast host, and the best overall service any where. A great luxury escape.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mssmdny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our magnificent resort.

We are pleased that you indulged in our well-orchestrated guest experience, and discovered that almost every aspect of our little paradise met your fulfillment.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to your home away from home, the St. Regis Bahía beach, in the not too distant future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    900
    300
    112
    47
    30
See reviews for
396
675
18
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

a fabulous property! hotel rooms, dining options, pool, beach & service are all equally amazing! expensive indeed, but worth every penny. money well spent. fabulous for a romantic getaway or family stay! a must visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACT72014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at our stunning resort.

We are thrilled that you indulged in our world class facilities, and found our staff to be sincerely dedicated to your absolute pleasure.

We hope to have the pleasure of indulging you once again, at the St. Regis Bahía Beach, the best address in the Caribbean.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

You can RELAX and live and feel the natural life at this perfect resort hotel. Enjoy miles long sandy beach, take along walk in the morning or eveming and just listen to the waves. Listen to whispers of leaves in your balcony and have a nap as if you are in Heaven.
Sometimes just listen to tropic rains and just calm down your soul. Although it was waivy because of high winds and rainy time to time we enjoyed playing with strong waves and it was a real fun. But watch out and be very close to the shore sine waves are really very strong.

Rooms, facilities, food were very very satisfactory. Can be considered as a perfect getaway for golflovers as well.

Be prepared to see lots of Iguanas around :)

Just enjoy and never miss the whispers of the trees.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms (especially 1114 - maybe the best rooms to listen to the trees) can be really recom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suat s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our distinctive resort.

We are thrilled that you indulged in our well-orchestrated guest experience, and discovered that every aspect of our little paradise exceeded your expectations.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to your home away from home, the St. Regis Bahía beach, in the not too distant future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

The resort is beautiful set in luscious forest setting. Rooms are spacious with a great bathroom. The balcony furniture was worn and dated but no big deal. Breakfast is the best meal of the day. Loved sitting outside for breakfast. Dining options are limited. The pool restaurant has great food (surprised for being "pool food"). One night we wanted beach side dining but needed to plan in advance so we had food delivered to one of the pool cabanas. Great evening of secluded dining and swimming. Service was good, people nice. The resort was empty so we had no issues getting chairs poolside during the day. The only drawback to this resort are the bugs. I had well over 50 bug bites. I used bug spray but still had numerous bites. I was extremely uncomfortable during my stay for this reason. This would be my hesitation for go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to detail your experience regarding your recent visit to our resort.

We recognize that our unique location offers a consistent challenge in respect to pest control, and as well the weather patterns which can cause a fluctuation in the local environment, including beach conditions, however, your safety is paramount. The hotel has a very strong pest control regime in place, which includes an automated system concealed throughout the property, regular inspections and preventative maintenance. These devices are consistently monitored and we have not noted any aberration in their function. With this being said, we cannot absolutely control the local insect population, and we are truly sorry that you seem susceptible to the tropical environment.

When you arrive at the most bespoke address in the area, it is understandable that you would want to be seduced by the beauty of your natural surroundings, and we regret that your experience fell short. Rest assured, your generous feedback is crucial for us to improve in these areas, and has been addressed with the appropriate departments, in order to avoid this from reoccurring.

Again, our apologies. Should you reconsider and wish to return, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back, so that we may reverse your initial impression and treat you to the uncompromising service that our distinguished guests have grown accustomed to.

Thank you for the gift of feedback and the opportunity to address your concerns.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caguas, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

My daughter and I decided to take a day off just before her wedding to recharge our spirits and get her ready for her "special day". We had been to this spa before years ago, and when prompted where she wanted to go her response was immediate! This is one of the top spas in Puerto Rico. The desk attendant is very helpful and kind, and the whole ambiance of the reception area is inviting. Locker areas are very spacious, and if you choose your timing well perhaps only one or two other guests may be sharing the whole spa with you. The treats at the entrance of the locker area are especially welcome when you arrive there on an empty stomach! For our treatments we chose a massage/facial combination, which was delivered expertly and with great care. The massage pressure was modified accordingly to each of us, but my special commendation goes to Maritza, who performed our facial therapies without a flaw! This was my first facial, but my daughter, who indulges in this type of enjoyment more than I, found Maritza to be the best. After the therapy there was time for relaxation at the suite, which has its own warm jacuzzi and shower. The experience was topped off with a great steam bath. If you are a spa freak like we are you will be very satisfied with this one.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOLIVAR A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Greetings from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent return stay at our stunning resort.

We are delighted that you had such a wonderfully luxurious vacation, and that the natural beauty of our captivating surroundings again made you feel so welcome. The distinctive charm of our rooms, pool area, and wolrd-class Remède spa, and above all the superb service from our dedicated staff, are all tailor-made to enhace our unique guest experience.

Thank you for the gift of feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West hartford, CT
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

When we drove to the front entrance at the St. Regis, the staff that welcomes us with "Happy to have you back" actually recognizes us, makes us glad to be back. Everything about the resort is dedicated to providing true relaxation. No pressure in any way. Anything you need is cheerfully attended to from extra bath towels to extra cookies at turndown. Having butler service is a hallmark of luxury at the St. Regis and there is no finer butler service than at Bahia(try to find Glenda, the nicest of the nice). Someone at the pool asked why we keep returning and the answer is very simple-the people are the kindest. The resort couldn't have found a more capable, charming and gracious manager than Eric. Seek him out if you need any help. Fern is wonderful restaurant and the drinks in the lobby bar are superb. Can't say enough good things about the resort, cannot wait to return again. Treat yourselves to a really luxurious break.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WH_VIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our magnificent resort.

We are pleased that you indulged in our well-orchestrated guest experience, and discovered that almost every aspect of our little paradise met your fulfillment.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to your home away from home, the St. Regis Bahía beach, in the not too distant future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We thought that a trip to Puerto Rico from Boston MA would be a good location for a quick trip - but not so much unless you really investigate. I didn't and we were to far away from the airport and other things to do. Taxi cabs are very expensive. We didn't look into a car ahead of time, but we prefer not to have to take long drives especially at night if we go out to dinner. The resort was quite nice - especially if you like golf. Very limited options for food, especially at dinner.

Room Tip: We didn't really see anything other than were we stayed. Oceanview/front - but a distance away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amt1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahia Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay with us.

It gives us tremendous pleasure that our dedicated staff made you feel so welcome, and that you thoroughly enjoyed how our unique eco-design captures the distinctive tropical enchantment of Puerto Rico and its sumptuous culinary delights.

Rest assured, we have takenthe liberty of sharing your comments with are staff, in a continuos effort to further enhance our sophisticated guest ecperience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your second home in the near future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
12.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,172 reviews
31.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
17.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
6,943 reviews
16.8 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
4.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort

Property: The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Address: State Road 187 kilometer 4.2, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
#1 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designated as Puerto Rico’s first and only AAA Five Diamond resort and the leader in luxury on the island and in the Caribbean, The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico has been designed with the entire family in mind, providing a variety of extraordinary services and activities that will keep all guests entertained from sunrise to sunset. Located on a former 483 acre coconut plantation, it is nestled between El Yunque National Forest and the sparkling Atlantic Ocean on the northeast coast of Puerto Rico. Certified Gold Audubon Signature Sanctuary, the lush Resort features a tennis center, a golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones Jr., as well as 4 miles of nature trails, 70 acres of lakes and a boat house for water sports. The intimate St. Regis Bahia Beach boasts 139 rooms including 35 suites, where The St. Regis’ iconic Butler service is available. Most of the guestrooms overlook amazing ocean and garden views setting a new standard in luxury accommodations, service levels and facilities for the Caribbean. An indulging Remède Spa and the exquisite dining options will delight all senses, including Fern Restaurant, featuring culinary creations by world famous Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten, Molasses Restaurant, St. Regis Bar and Seagrapes. In addition, abundant banquet space is available to accommodate a variety of outdoor or indoor events. Featuring amazing ocean or garden views, it is the perfect setting for small or big gatherings as well as weddings. The elegant tropical magnificence of The St. Regis Bahia Beach creates a world for its guests that they will never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Hotel Rio Grande
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing