We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rio Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply Wonderful”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My fiancé and I enjoyed our stay two weekends ago at the St Regis Bahia Beach. We were welcomed by staff and guided throughout the resort by Raul. While the staff was wonderful, they weren't too invasive. All of the facilities were populated, but not too crowded. We enjoyed one day by the pool with great lunch and drink service. We dined at Fern and the small restaurant on the golf course; both were great. We enjoyed utilizing the bicycles and the kayaks during one afternoon. The only downside was the inability to swim in the ocean. The flags were up the entire time so we couldn't go swimming. We did however take advantage of the 24 hour pool and jacuzzi each night and we were the only people in either both nights.
We also planned some excursions, including the rainforest hike through the resort. Jeffrey, our guide, was wonderful and knowledgeable about the area. We asked him to make a stop at a local eatery and he took us to a charming local restaurant that satisfied both of our appetites. We also tried to schedule another excursion, but unfortunately ran out of time. All in all, it was a wonderful vacation at this great facility. The staff was great, especially Raul!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahia Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay with us.

It gives us tremendous pleasure that our dedicated staff made you feel so welcome, and that you thoroughly enjoyed how our unique eco-design captures the distinctive tropical enchantment of Puerto Rico and its sumptuous culinary delights.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your second home in the near future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    920
    301
    113
    48
    30
See reviews for
406
688
18
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stony Brook, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Everything and more. A bit stuffy but at that price I guess it's not such a bad thing. The grounds are incredible, nature walks, beautiful beaches with the perfect hard-packed sand to walk for miles. Sand dollar galore and shells to collect. Wonderful food and drink (very pricey). The spa is a must and a very goos gym.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PACObrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our magnificent resort.

We are pleased that you indulged in our well-orchestrated guest experience, and discovered that almost every aspect of our little paradise met your fulfillment.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to your home away from home, the St. Regis Bahía beach, in the not too distant future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

My husband and I have stayed at this resort twice and had wonderful experiences both time. We have stayed in a garden deluxe room and a St. Regis Suite due to an available upgrade. Both room types are very lovely and well appointed. Both times we were on the ground floor and while others feel the upstairs rooms are better due to moisture, we had no issues at all and enjoyed the easy access.

I strongly suggest that you rent a car at the airport. While you can take taxis, the resort is rather secluded and if you wish to eat offsite, having a car makes things much easier. Additionally, there is a Ralph's supermarket about 10 minutes away on Route 3, so you can purchase snacks, drinks, fruit, etc. and store it in the little fridge in the room as they are not pressure sensitive. Additionally, if you wish to sight see, a car is a must - San Juan is about a 30 minute drive, and perhaps another 10 minutes to the Old Town.

You do drive through a small town on your way in, but once you arrive on the property and take the long drive through past the golf course and grounds, you know you are on a St. Regis property - it's just beautiful. If you arrive at night, the fire lamps are just breathtaking.

Yes, the resort is on the edge of the rainforest, so don't be surprised if it rains. It did rain both times we stayed, but we also had copious amounts of sunshine and blue sky to enjoy laying out by the pool.

From arrival to departure, we felt so welcome and the staff are amazing. They are friendly, courteous and always available to assist. A big shout out to Mr. Velasquez, the head concierge, who is just incredibly engaged with his guests - his team is excellent as well.

There are three restaurants on the property. I love Seagrapes by the pool, the food is the perfect option for lunch and the staff remembered our drink orders from the previous day which was nice. On our last visit, we dined at Molasses for dinner and had a lovely dinner - the food and drinks were excellent and service was very good. We have not yet been to Fern, as we opted on both occasions to eat off site quite a bit.

The pool is large and has different sections with many options for seating - whether you desire sun or share, you can find it. It's also nice that they have sunblock and aftersun available near the pool so if you forget it like I did, you don't get burned! If you are really into swimming in the ocean, than this may not be the resort for you - both times, the ocean was quite rough and the red flags were out. My husband ventured in a bit and he had a good time, but for others who want calm, blue ocean - you would be disappointed. However, the private beach is lovely and truly private.

Yes, there are things about the resort that are not perfect - but I am confident that they would handle any issues that came up. I look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laryana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Greetings from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent visit with us.

Your thorough enjoyment of our AAA Five Diamond award winning resort, from our lavishly designed guest rooms and sophisticated pool area, to our world-class dining, is precisely the experience we plan for all of our special guests.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I have travelled to Hawaii numerous times from Atlanta. I have also travelled to quite a few Caribbean islands. St. Regis Bahia Beach offers the best of both. The resort is situated on a large, peaceful property filled with trails, long empty beaches and natural beauty. Staff service was amazing and amenities were excellent.

Only negative we could find was the concierge service. Their recommendations on off-resort dining and destinations weren't helpful. Also, you'll need a rental car to explore anything beyond the resort's 3 restaurants. There is no night life here.....but that's part of the beauty.

if you are looking for a secluded, get-away-from-it-all vacation easily accessible from the Eastern U.S......St. Regis Bahia Beach is it!

Room Tip: Don't worry about splurging on an ocean front room. There are palm trees between virtually ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at our captivating resort.

We are elated that you thoroughly enjoyed your vacation!

We hope to have the pleasure of indulging you once again, at the St. Regis Bahía Beach, the best address in the Caribbean.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hanover, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We just stayed at this beautiful resort and it was as advertised top shelf. Sadly beach swimming was off limits all week with red flags flying Fortunately they have an amazing pool area with the best seating i ever experienced at a resort. We found 99% of the staff happy to help and very pleasant. The rooms are large and gorgeous and the grounds are immaculate. You absolutely get the feeling that you are in a tropical paradise. The landscaping, resort layout and service all make you feel special.

The food is very pricy, but superb. My only complaint is that there is no light dining option at the resort. You can get an english muffin and coffee for breakfast but be prepared to shell out $15.00 - $20.00 when the check and tip are paid. A complete Breakfast will easily cost you $30-$35.00. Lunch will easily equal that and dinner will run a couple a minimum of $150.00. As noted, at least the food is delicious and beautifully presented. I have been to many resorts where i paid 80% of these prices and received mediocre food and service. All they need is a nice in room coffee maker and one simple casual restaurant for a non gourmet dining experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden view room and preferred it over the ocean front rooms we saw. We put the $800...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our distinctive resort.

We are pleased that you indulged in our well-orchestrated guest experience, and discovered that almost every aspect of our little paradise met your fulfillment. We do apologize for your disappointment regarding food at one of our restaurants. Rest assured that your valuable feedback has been appropriately addressed.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to your home away from home, the St. Regis Bahía beach, in the not too distant future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Fantastic location, service and relaxation. I am planning on making this my primary hotel when visiting the island of Puerto Rico. Beautiful location , white glove service would not compare to any other resort i have visited in Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Greetings from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your stay at our magnificent resort.

We are delighted that you had such a wonderful vacation, and were enraptured by the natural beauty of our captivating surroundings. We are extremely proud of our dedicated staff, and their attention to detail as they pamper our distinguished guests.

Thank you for the gift of feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to another uncompromising St. Regis experience.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Our family of four was not able to book two rooms over winter break this year and I was worried about being stuffed into 1 room w/my husband, our two kids and a ton of luggage! Amazingly enough, we were all able to unpack in our GORGEOUS room. Lots of storage and closet space! YAY! The rooms in our building were set up in a way so that the patios are completely private. They too are spacious w/a couch, chaise lounger and table for 4. The bathroom was quite large - kids loved the rain shower! The grounds are lush, well-manicured and accessible. We took the kayaking tour and the nature tour offered by the hotel. Both were great and our 11 and 14 year old kids agreed! Nice to have the lakes on the property. Easy place to swim/play/paddle board or kayak! Although the beach is really beautiful, the water was very rough and prevented people from swimming. There is plenty of beachfront to take a long walk/run or just perch yourself on a chair w/umbrella and read. The sound of the waves is wonderful! We only ate at the hotel 3 times, but each meal was great. The food is served relatively quickly (catering to mainland guests, for sure) and is very fresh! Don't miss the avocado pizza served at FERN. Amazing! We rented a car and ventured out most days. The idea that the only way to get your car and park it is through valet is a little bit of a hassle and sometimes takes a few more minutes than one would like. No big deal. I think this cuts down on accidents! The front desk staff was very accommodating as was the safety/security staff. We had to call a doctor to our room to check on one of our kids (ear infection). The whole process was handled really well! Bravo! The only thing I would change about the resort is the need to constantly tip everybody. We fully understand that many of the employees there probably rely on tips, but it got annoying after a while - tipping every time the car was pulled around, every time we went to sit around the pool, etc. We love those high-end resorts that do not permit tipping. It just makes the vacation much more stress-free! Oh yeah, one other thing...although the head concierge there is friendly and quite colorful, we did NOT like his restaurant suggestion - La Parilla! I am so shocked he suggested it at all. It was AWFUL! There are many other great restaurants on the island. Do your homework and you'll find 'em. I grew tired of listening to him drop names and tell tales of how he receives royal treatment wherever he goes because, "...he just doesn't wait for tables, honey!" . All in all, this resort is truly a beautiful haven!

Room Tip: We were in building 6. Our room was located near the pool, but you couldn't really see the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chitownwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our distinctive resort.

We are pleased that you indulged in our well-orchestrated guest experience, and discovered that almost every aspect of our little paradise met your fulfillment. Our concierge only recommends places they have personally visited and meet our recommendation requirements. We sincerely apologize that this particular instance fell short of your expectations. Rest assured that your valuable feedback has been appropriately addressed.

On a positive note we are absolutely thrilled that you completely indulged your senses in our cherished nature sanctuary.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to your home away from home, in the near future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
31.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
12.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,206 reviews
17.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,057 reviews
16.8 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
4.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort

Property: The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Address: State Road 187 kilometer 4.2, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designated as Puerto Rico’s first and only AAA Five Diamond resort and the leader in luxury on the island and in the Caribbean, The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico has been designed with the entire family in mind, providing a variety of extraordinary services and activities that will keep all guests entertained from sunrise to sunset. Located on a former 483 acre coconut plantation, it is nestled between El Yunque National Forest and the sparkling Atlantic Ocean on the northeast coast of Puerto Rico. Certified Gold Audubon Signature Sanctuary, the lush Resort features a tennis center, a golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones Jr., as well as 4 miles of nature trails, 70 acres of lakes and a boat house for water sports. The intimate St. Regis Bahia Beach boasts 139 rooms including 35 suites, where The St. Regis’ iconic Butler service is available. Most of the guestrooms overlook amazing ocean and garden views setting a new standard in luxury accommodations, service levels and facilities for the Caribbean. An indulging Remède Spa and the exquisite dining options will delight all senses, including Fern Restaurant, featuring culinary creations by world famous Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten, Molasses Restaurant, St. Regis Bar and Seagrapes. In addition, abundant banquet space is available to accommodate a variety of outdoor or indoor events. Featuring amazing ocean or garden views, it is the perfect setting for small or big gatherings as well as weddings. The elegant tropical magnificence of The St. Regis Bahia Beach creates a world for its guests that they will never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Hotel Rio Grande
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing