We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PARADISE DELIVERED”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rio Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We just stayed at this beautiful resort and it was as advertised top shelf. Sadly beach swimming was off limits all week with red flags flying Fortunately they have an amazing pool area with the best seating i ever experienced at a resort. We found 99% of the staff happy to help and very pleasant. The rooms are large and gorgeous and the grounds are immaculate. You absolutely get the feeling that you are in a tropical paradise. The landscaping, resort layout and service all make you feel special.

The food is very pricy, but superb. My only complaint is that there is no light dining option at the resort. You can get an english muffin and coffee for breakfast but be prepared to shell out $15.00 - $20.00 when the check and tip are paid. A complete Breakfast will easily cost you $30-$35.00. Lunch will easily equal that and dinner will run a couple a minimum of $150.00. As noted, at least the food is delicious and beautifully presented. I have been to many resorts where i paid 80% of these prices and received mediocre food and service. All they need is a nice in room coffee maker and one simple casual restaurant for a non gourmet dining experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden view room and preferred it over the ocean front rooms we saw. We put the $800...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our distinctive resort.

We are pleased that you indulged in our well-orchestrated guest experience, and discovered that almost every aspect of our little paradise met your fulfillment. We do apologize for your disappointment regarding food at one of our restaurants. Rest assured that your valuable feedback has been appropriately addressed.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to your home away from home, the St. Regis Bahía beach, in the not too distant future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

810 - 816 of 1,449 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

Fantastic location, service and relaxation. I am planning on making this my primary hotel when visiting the island of Puerto Rico. Beautiful location , white glove service would not compare to any other resort i have visited in Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Greetings from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your stay at our magnificent resort.

We are delighted that you had such a wonderful vacation, and were enraptured by the natural beauty of our captivating surroundings. We are extremely proud of our dedicated staff, and their attention to detail as they pamper our distinguished guests.

Thank you for the gift of feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to another uncompromising St. Regis experience.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Our family of four was not able to book two rooms over winter break this year and I was worried about being stuffed into 1 room w/my husband, our two kids and a ton of luggage! Amazingly enough, we were all able to unpack in our GORGEOUS room. Lots of storage and closet space! YAY! The rooms in our building were set up in a way so that the patios are completely private. They too are spacious w/a couch, chaise lounger and table for 4. The bathroom was quite large - kids loved the rain shower! The grounds are lush, well-manicured and accessible. We took the kayaking tour and the nature tour offered by the hotel. Both were great and our 11 and 14 year old kids agreed! Nice to have the lakes on the property. Easy place to swim/play/paddle board or kayak! Although the beach is really beautiful, the water was very rough and prevented people from swimming. There is plenty of beachfront to take a long walk/run or just perch yourself on a chair w/umbrella and read. The sound of the waves is wonderful! We only ate at the hotel 3 times, but each meal was great. The food is served relatively quickly (catering to mainland guests, for sure) and is very fresh! Don't miss the avocado pizza served at FERN. Amazing! We rented a car and ventured out most days. The idea that the only way to get your car and park it is through valet is a little bit of a hassle and sometimes takes a few more minutes than one would like. No big deal. I think this cuts down on accidents! The front desk staff was very accommodating as was the safety/security staff. We had to call a doctor to our room to check on one of our kids (ear infection). The whole process was handled really well! Bravo! The only thing I would change about the resort is the need to constantly tip everybody. We fully understand that many of the employees there probably rely on tips, but it got annoying after a while - tipping every time the car was pulled around, every time we went to sit around the pool, etc. We love those high-end resorts that do not permit tipping. It just makes the vacation much more stress-free! Oh yeah, one other thing...although the head concierge there is friendly and quite colorful, we did NOT like his restaurant suggestion - La Parilla! I am so shocked he suggested it at all. It was AWFUL! There are many other great restaurants on the island. Do your homework and you'll find 'em. I grew tired of listening to him drop names and tell tales of how he receives royal treatment wherever he goes because, "...he just doesn't wait for tables, honey!" . All in all, this resort is truly a beautiful haven!

Room Tip: We were in building 6. Our room was located near the pool, but you couldn't really see the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chitownwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our distinctive resort.

We are pleased that you indulged in our well-orchestrated guest experience, and discovered that almost every aspect of our little paradise met your fulfillment. Our concierge only recommends places they have personally visited and meet our recommendation requirements. We sincerely apologize that this particular instance fell short of your expectations. Rest assured that your valuable feedback has been appropriately addressed.

On a positive note we are absolutely thrilled that you completely indulged your senses in our cherished nature sanctuary.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to your home away from home, in the near future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We retuned over ThanksGiving for our third time at this resort. Although none of our stays have been great, the ease of getting to the resort outweighed its mediocrity. This time we have finally had enough. Lunch was so bad that a stay of more than 4 days would be dreadful. We stay almost exclusively st regis resorts because of SPG, and have had amazing repeat experiences at Punta Mita, skiing in Deer Valley, and others. At this resort they nickel and dime you for everything, and never make you feel truly welcome.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank Dal0373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

When you arrive at the most bespoke address in the area, it is understandable that you would want to be seduced by the beauty of your surroundings, and we regret that your lunch experience fell short. Rest assured, your generous feedback has been appropriately addressed.

We look forward to welcoming you back again, so we may have the opportunity to demonstrate a truly extraordinary St. Regis experience next time.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

This is a beautifull place in PR. The Beach is gorgeous and the service is great. My family love this resort. Is a good place to be with family. Golf is excelent. The places to walk are gorgeous. Is a unique place in PR. Very secure.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Sammytopr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Happy New Year from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent visit at our resort.

We are thrilled to that you had such a wonderful stay at our magnificent nature sanctuary, and look forward to welcoming you back, in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Was here for 5 days, speaking at a retreat that rented the entire resort. Place was incredible! Food, scenery, service, golf. Everything. Golf course was one of the best I've ever played on, food from room service to restaurants was top notch, and even the lizards were awesome! Would have liked a better convenience/tuck shop for things, but really wasn't a big thing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stratola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Happy New Year from The Best Address in the Caribbean!

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed our distinctive cuisine, spectacular guest accommodations, and the natural beauty of our tropical paradise.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the St. Regis Bahía Beach, in the near future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed in a 1 BR St. Regis Suite in Building #11 and were pleased with the accommodations. Oceanfront doesn't necessarily mean that you have vast views of the ocean, but we could see the water and the property is lush so views were perfectly fine. As well, the lights on and near the beach are turned off in the evening because the property is apparently a sea turtle sanctuary...so views don't really apply in the evening. That really didn't bother us, just thought I should disclose this info.

We really enjoyed the property and the natural landscape is beautiful. We enjoyed the spa, pool, beach and boat house. The beach is expansive and quiet; it is exclusive to the St. Regis, so no peddlers or tourists from other resorts. I liked the wooden boardwalk that runs throughout the resort, but it does get slippery in the rain and is not so well lit at night. There are golf carts for transport if needed and I would recommend this for elderly travelers or those with small children. There is only one pool, but it is large and multi-layered. While crowded around mid-day, the pool was nearly empty in the late afternoon. The boat house is great if you are interested in kayaking or paddle boarding. We ate at all 3 restaurants on the property - food was good, not great.

The staff was very friendly and super nice, but customer service is not exactly what you might expect of a 5 star resort. It is often times very slow and in some cases, non-existent. Read the little paper that comes in the morning to find out what is going on because no one will tell you about any of the events...champagne saber, s'mores, etc... As well, I would advise you to keep up with concierge/butler requests. If the person you are talking to is not working one day, no one follows up. We requested a transfer from the airport to the hotel more than 24 hours before our arrival, but because the person we were talking to was off, they never showed up. We let this roll-off our shoulders and grabbed a taxi, but its just an example of the lack of focus on customer service. Also, the restaurant recommendation list is a total joke...do your research online if you want to venture off property for a meal. Just FYI - Palio at the nearby Wyndham is on the list of recommended restaurants and it is pathetic...we actually walked out after looking through the menu and asking the waiter if there was any fresh seafood on the menu...no, there isn't...a resort on an island in the middle of the ocean and no fresh seafood on the menu- WOW!

The resort is extremely remote which has pros and cons. For a relaxing getaway, it's ideal; however, getting to other towns or sights is a long drive or taxi ride. The resort has only 3 restaurants (only 2 open for dinner), so that eating out tends to be a challenge. The closest resorts are not worth a visit. Old San Juan is about 35 minutes away.

All in all, this trip was about relaxation for us and we were able to achieve this. We really enjoyed this resort and would recommend for anyone considering Puerto Rico. I struggled with a 3 or 4, but since we often stay in 5-star resorts around the world, I had to compare to others and they just missed the mark overall. The rating for the property is a 5, the rating for the services is a 2 - 3.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TwiggyCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Happy New Year from The Best Address in the Caribbean!

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you had such and a wonderfully memorable experience in our little slice of paradise found...

We look forward to welcoming both of you back to the St. Regis Bahía Beach in the near future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
31.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
17.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
31.5 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#3 of 48 in San Juan
857 reviews
29.5 mi away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,844 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico

Address: State Road 187 kilometer 4.2, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range: $547 - $1,049 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designated as Puerto Rico’s first and only AAA Five Diamond resort and the leader in luxury on the island and in the Caribbean, The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico has been designed with the entire family in mind, providing a variety of extraordinary services and activities that will keep all guests entertained from sunrise to sunset. Located on a former 483 acre coconut plantation, our Rio Grande resort in Puerto Rico sits between El Yunque National Forest and the sparkling Atlantic Ocean on the northeast coast. A Certified Gold Audubon Signature Sanctuary, the lush Resort features a tennis center, a golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones Jr., as well as 4 miles of nature trails, 70 acres of lakes and a boat house for water sports. The intimate St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico boasts suites where The St. Regis’ iconic Butler service is available. Most of the guestrooms overlook amazing ocean and garden views setting a new standard in luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Hotel Rio Grande
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing