We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T stay at St. Regis.,Stay at the Ritz or El Conquistator by Waldorf Astoria.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rio Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great drive up and grounds are beautiful. As staying at an establishment worthy of a 4-5 star rating I expect good service, clean room, etc. however, as reviews have read before mine, my room was never cleaned. The first night we found a large hair ball in the drain of the shower so I brought it to the attention of housekeeping. As sorry as Brandon (super of housekeeping) was as he sent wine, my room still went dirty. We kept watch of a pile of tortilla chips found under a chair and some kisses rappers to see how long it would take them to clean . We wrote "hi" on the dusty lamps too. He said they would do a thorough cleaning and to let him know. As I was on vacation I really don't want to check his work- just get it right . I had a camera set up in my room for personal security (belknet) he never came into my room to check his staffs work and they came in "on camera" to straighten only. I saw him everyday at the pool 3/5x a day hunting down unhappy guest as he did myself apologizing and giving favors but never a clean room - favors - so do you want a 8.99 bottle of wine or some old chips, hair balls, old cookies under the bed, old fingerprints everywhere doors and walls?? There's more to come

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Beentoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent visit to our resort.

Allow us to preface with an apology for your disappointment. It is certainly never our intention for any of our guests to depart with a less than flawless impression. We are extremely dedicated to the sophisticated level of expectations that has become the St. Regis hallmark and legacy.

When you arrive at the most bespoke address in the area, it is understandable that you would want to be seduced by the beauty of your surroundings, and we regret that your experience fell short. Rest assured, your feedback has been addressed appropriately.

Thank you for the gift of feedback, and the opportunity to address your concerns.

Warm regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,440)
There are newer reviews for The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

872 - 878 of 1,440 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

We recently considered this resort due to an advertisement my wife saw related to a supposed pet friendly hotel in Puerto Rico.

If you are considering this please think about it twice.

We stayed in the Hotel with our two dogs (Oreo a 4 lbs toy poddle and Benjamin a 16 lbs schnauzer), it was such a stressful exprience since we check inn. There were so many limitations starting from the fact that the dogs were not to be allowed in most (if not all) conditioned areas of the resort (even in the building where the reseception was located).

The most ridiculous rule was that pets were not allowed even in the surroundings areas of the swimming pool. To this my wife walked our dogs (leashed) through the beach and when she sat in a lounge chair located several meters away from the pool area, a well groomed Hotel attendant (could have been from the General Manager to the Chief Security Officer) apporoached her in a very disrespectful manner pointing her : "dont you know how to read english" (relating to the absurd documents the Hotel administration make you sign upon your inmediate arrival). This went on and on to the point that we could not wait to see the time to depart.

We have travel through out the World and have never see a thing like this. We do not have any children and Benjamin and Oreo have become our adopted kids, both our dogs have been rescued pets and we have spend many lovely times with them (where I assure you they are well tame and properly managed).

If you will be traveling without pets, the facilities are fine and from a general standpoint the Resort attendants and personnel are friendly.

On the other hand dont even consider this Hotel if you are travelling with your Pets.

We were very disapointed as we were expecting something much more progressive. The Hotel advertise that they have implemented a dog and cat adoption program, they in fact shelter some pets in a facility adjacent to the Resort and to that I give credit. But do not expect to be well treated when you are withnd the Hotel with your dogs.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Marcos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience while staying at our resort.

Allow me to preface with an apology for your disappointment with regards to our pet policy.

As an animal lover and pet owner myself, I can certainly appreciate the passion you and your wife feel for your dogs, and the special bond which you all share.

Although there are certain limitations as to where pets are allowed, our property is blessed with almost 500 acres of pristine natural sanctuary, allowing vast areas, nature trails, boardwalks, and sun and shade, for you to walk and play with your precious companions. We do hope you will still return and discover what our so many guests and their cherished pets have truly indulged in.

Rest assured, your feedback has been shared with our team, in order to make sure that any shortcomings are handled appropriately.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back soon, so that we may treat you to the bespoke St. Regis experience you so deserve.

Thank you for the gift of feedback, and the opportunity to address your concerns.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here last summer and I can not wait to get back. I am angling for a September visit. It was just my husband & I on a romantic weekend. We flew in & drove ourselves t the resort. We were told we could get a lift but we prefered to explore a bit & get there when we felt like it, unfortunately, our flight was delayed & we had to navigate in the dark at 10pm at night. We found it with no problem though thanks to the GPS!
Reception was friendly & welcoming, even at the late hour. We were shown to our room which was incredibly spacious, with a fabulous private wood balcony, a very large tub that they will draw for you on request & luxury amenities in the bathroom from the Remède line.

They delivered a newspaper & french press coffee at a time of our choosing in the morning which was heaven to sit & drink on the balcony listening to the birds. They were prompt, pleasant & the coffee was hot. The furnishings were all high end, like new & very comfortable. I loved the decor so much I took excessive video & measurements to copy it in my dream home.

The pool was beautiful as well as designed & landscaped in a way to allow you to be social or stay secluded.

The front desk was very accommodating, providing us directions & information for when we decided to venture out and explore. Check out was expeditious & friendly.

Overall, I found the atmosphere perfect for a quiet, romantic getaway. I am hoping to return again very soon!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Greetings from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our resort.

We are quite passionate about pampering our guests, and what you describe in detail, from the beauty of our resort to our luxurious rooms and sumptuous cuisine, is all part of the St. Regis customized experience. As you can see, our staff is quite sincere in displaying our distinctive hospitality!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to your home away from home, the St. Regis Bahía Beach, in the near future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My daughter and I went to this hotel the last week in June. The property is magnificent! The room was beautiful with a shower that was huge! The people at the hotel were very kind and so pleasant. The beach and pool area was exquisite. One really needs to have a car as there are only two restaurants on the property. The price of the food is outrageous and after awhile, pretty boring. I would definitely return to this venue again.

Room Tip: Ocean front...although all the rooms are pretty spectacular.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leawooddoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Greetings from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent visit.

We are thrilled that you and your daughter completely enjoyed our uncompromising service and St. Regis hospitality.

Your feedback is most valuable to us, and serves to further enhance our tailor-made guest experience. To this end, we are working to improve your perception in any area where we may have fallen short of your expectation.

On a positive note, we are happy that you enjoyed our exotic surroundings complimented by our luxurious guestrooms and exceptional service.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel on a lovely, quiet stretch of private beach. The grounds are absolutely stunning -- lush and private. The pool is one of the nicest I've seen at many resorts, with good poolside service, great ocean views and good food in the adjacent "Sea Grapes" restaurant. The rooms are spacious and well-appointed, with very large showers and generous patios. The boathouse and small nature center with sea life petting tanks, kayaks and paddle boards seems a hidden perk that our family really enjoyed. The staff is attentive, helpful and very warm. The beach is lovely and perfect for long walks to collect shells. Golf course really beautiful.

Overall we had a very nice family stay with great combination of relaxation and sporting activity. We arranged tours to the rain forest and to kayak on a bioluminescent bay. Both were fantastic.

Families traveling with small children might want to know that adjoining rooms mean two separate rooms which share a common (fairly large) foyer/entry way to create a two-room private suite-like situation. It's very nice and feels special. But, if your children are quite young, this may be a bit intimidating to them unless you leave both room doors wide open -- which you can do because of the private entry area, but which creates quite a bit of light in the rooms as a result of the glass entry doors to the foyer. Also, the $25/day kids plan was a great deal for us, particularly given the extensive breakfast buffet options.

Only negatives are that breakfast takes much longer than it should due to having only one (two-pan) omelette station and no hot egg dishes on the buffet... so for a family of six, ordering eggs is quite a hassle -- especially with many other people in line. Also, for younger adults perhaps not traveling with children, I'm not sure there is much in the way of night life. This is a place for relaxation.

Room Tip: We did not miss an ocean view in our garden-view suite because the grounds are so lovely.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgiaOnMyMind_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Greetings from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your family’s recent stay at our resort.

We are quite passionate about pampering our guests, and what you describe in detail, from the beauty of our resort to our luxurious rooms and sumptuous cuisine, is all part of the St. Regis customized experience. As you can see, our staff is quite sincere in displaying our distinctive hospitality!

How wonderful that you were able to take advantage of convenient daily kid’s meal plan. We have, however, duly noted your suggestions regarding breakfast, and appropriately addressed them, in a continuous effort to deliver only the finest services that live up to the most discerning of expectations.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to your home away from home, the St. Regis Bahía Beach, in the near future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback, and the opportunity to respond to your concerns.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

A great hotel, large property,people were wonderful. The restaurants had a lot to justify the prices they charge ( ice tea $5.50) avg meal $ 100.00 for a couple. None the less we took cabs to old San Juan which was a 40 minute drive and cost $80.00 each way. Very quiet and beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: lot of walking if your room is not near recetion and pool.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SeasonedTraveler3780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Greetings from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent visit to our resort.

We are pleased that you were impressed with our world-class service. Our staff at St. Regis is sincerely devoted your absolute comfort and thorough enjoyment of our little slice of paradise.

Your feedback is most valuable to us, and serves to further enhance our tailor-made guest experience. To this end, we are working to improve your perception in any area where we may have fallen short of your expectation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the best address in Puerto Rico, the St. Regis Bahía Beach in the not too distant future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback, and the opportunity to respond to your concerns.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This resort is unbelievable and the grounds are absolutely stunning. We decided to walk down the beach and ended up collecting so many perfect seashells. That just shows that the property really has not been disturbed.
The restaurants are great as well. If you cannot get into Fern just go to the St. Regis Bar and have dinner. I had the avocado pizza and my boyfriend had the hamburger. Both were amazing.
Definitely check out the pool bar and order the drink with limoncello, coconut water, and vanilla vodka. It was quite possibly the best drink I have ever had.
I cannot say enough great things about this area. Great for couples.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 401jenniferm401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Greetings from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at our resort.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Your exceptional experience in our world-class restaurants, spectacular pool area, and Remède Spa, are precisely what we at the St. Regis Bahia Beach strive for – absolute serenity combined with luxury, and sumptuous cuisine. Perfect for a romantic getaway, or a week of exploring and adventure on our beautiful island of Puerto Rico.

We hope to have the pleasure of indulging you once again, at the Best Address in the Caribbean.

Thank you for the gift of feedback, and sharing your thoughts with us.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
31.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
12.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,254 reviews
17.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
16.8 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico

Address: State Road 187 kilometer 4.2, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
#1 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range: $503 - $1,664 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designated as Puerto Rico’s first and only AAA Five Diamond resort and the leader in luxury on the island and in the Caribbean, The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico has been designed with the entire family in mind, providing a variety of extraordinary services and activities that will keep all guests entertained from sunrise to sunset. Located on a former 483 acre coconut plantation, our Rio Grande resort in Puerto Rico sits between El Yunque National Forest and the sparkling Atlantic Ocean on the northeast coast. A Certified Gold Audubon Signature Sanctuary, the lush Resort features a tennis center, a golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones Jr., as well as 4 miles of nature trails, 70 acres of lakes and a boat house for water sports. The intimate St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico boasts suites where The St. Regis’ iconic Butler service is available. Most of the guestrooms overlook amazing ocean and garden views setting a new standard in luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Hotel Rio Grande
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing