We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“An excellent week say at the St. Regis Bahia Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rio Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We just spent a full week (last week in April) at the St Regis Bahia Beach in Rio Grande. We decided on this resort vs. the Ritz Carlton in Isla Verde and boy were we glad. First the property/grounds are absolutely beautfil. Unlike the crowded Miami Beach looking resorts in Isla Verde the St. Regis is in beaitful lush rain forest area of Rio Grande (about 15 minutes east of San Juan). The grounds are immaculate and designed to fit in with the nautral surroundings - birds, coqui frogs, lizards, and tropical plants are all around with the resort blending in nicely with the environment. Other hotels like the Ritz and Conquistador (in Fajardo) all lack the beauty and "integration with the surroundings" like the St. Regis.

Check was a breeze (a tropical drink while you check in sitting down is a nice touch) as is the Planation House where you get in. We stayed in a St. Regis Suite which is fabulous and quite large (1200 sq ft) witha terrific terrace. There are three restaurants plus room service with Fern being the best (it's also fine dining so a bit pricey) but the service and food is the best (as for Joel he's terrific) as you can eat outside watching the lawn and beach. Molassas is a bit further away (near the golf course) food was good with emphasis on Puerto Rican favorites (ceviche, mofongo etc). We loved both Fern and the poolside restaurant Seagrapes.

We found the service overall good to excellent (witha few issues here and there but were correct immedilately with grace). We found overall experience to be one of the best high end resort experiences we've ever had (and we've stayed in many including European castles).

The only small issue we had was that during the last two days of the trip large groups of events were going on (one for the 2013 club and one for the a software company) and they took up large areas of the resort (with seagrapes being closed for two nights which mean no pool side resaurants and on another nice the areas to the Planation were taken). I recommend to the St. Regis manage that they move some of these events to the conferece areas (or other parts of the property) to allow some of the regular guests access to the amenities.

If you're looking for a place that's unique, away from the crowded resort, areas and utterly beautiful St. Regis is for you. A bonus is that it's exactly half way between San Juan and Fajarado (where the best beaches, boating, bio bay outtingsand other activities are near the Conquistador) and only 10 minues from El Yuque Rain Forest.

Absolutely great time and we thank everyone at St. Regis Bahia Beach. Made us great fans of the St. Regis brand.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sammythetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Greetings from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at our resort. Rest assured, we have shared them with our team.

We hope to have the pleasure of indulging you once again, at the Best Address in the Caribbean.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

916 - 922 of 1,445 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

The property is stunning. It is large and spread out....not up. I never felt like I was staying at a large hotel. Each of the buildings are connected with a raised wooden pathway. At night, you can hear the tree frogs. During the day, you can see the lizards running by. Our room was large and very comfortable. My only complaint was with the bottom sheet (I simply prefer a fitted bottom sheet). The bath was amazing....a large wet room which had the rain shower and large tub. My son who normally fights whenever it is shower/bath time had one every day because he loved the shower so much. I liked having an outdoor space that had a table and sofa that overlooked the garden.

Maybe it was the timing and how the place was booked, but I took daily hour long walks on the beach with a friend, and generally ran into less than five people along the walk. My son loved the pools and was constantly going from one to the other (they are basically connected).

There are some large iguanas that hang by the pool. I learned that they can swim...which was kind of cool once you got over the shock of seeing one hoist itself out of the deep end.

The spa was well appointed and lovely, although a bit pricey for me (but I still had the hour long massage).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank noranekko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Greetings from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at our resort. Rest assured, we have shared them with our dedicated staff in a continuous effort to further enhance our unique guest experience.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Your exceptional experience is precisely what we at the St. Regis Bahia Beach strive for – absolute serenity combined with luxury, and sumptuous cuisine. Perfect for a romantic getaway, or a week of exploring and adventure on our beautiful island of Puerto Rico.

We hope to have the pleasure of indulging you once again, at the Best Address in the Caribbean.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Beautiful property, escape from the hustle of San Juan. Beach is not great as the ocean is rough and the water sandy and brown in color. Rooms are amazing. The food choices are limited and no real nightlife

Room Tip: ask for a room close to the pool, otherwise you will walk a lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turnerboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at our resort.

We are elated that you thoroughly enjoyed your vacation! Although we strive to deliver an unforgettable vacation experience, it is unfortunate that you were not able to fully enjoy the beach. The two rivers which enhance our spectacular tropical surroundings only affect the beach water occasionally, when the weather and tide are extremely very adverse. To this end, we employ a strict sand sweeping program.

Furthermore, we are concerned about your thoughts regarding our prices, and have taken the liberty of sharing your comments in an effort to improve this perception.

On a positive note, we are thrilled that you still were able to indulge in our world-renowned facilities, and found our staff to be sincerely dedicated to your absolute pleasure.

We hope to have the pleasure of indulging you once again, at the St. Regis Bahía Beach, the best address in the Caribbean.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

This was a gorgeous resort with wonderful beachfront view rooms. I would recommend it to anyone who doesn't mind paying a little extra. Prices were extremely high but the resort was beautifully landscaped and had wonderful rooms and service. A great vacation destination.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RMattern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our distinctive resort.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to your home away from home, the St. Regis Bahía beach, in the not too distant future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This resort is only two years old, so it's still a bit of a "hidden treasure! While it sits on about
460 acres of property, it's almost hard to imagine that the Garden of Eden could have been more
beautiful or lush. It is a tranquil paradise! Miles and miles of pristine beach offer plenty of restorative rejevenation! The accommodations are amazing . . .such as an 8 ft. by 8 ft. shower!!!
There are three restaurants on site, awesome golf, pool, kayaking, water boarding, fishing, spa . . whatever your heart could desire. An off-site trip to the rainforest is enchanting! Only
a half hour from the San Juan airport!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a floor of stone steps to climb, so if this is a challenge for you or you have youn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa5911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our distinctive resort.

We are thrilled that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to your home away from home, the St. Regis Bahía beach, in the not too distant future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

You've got to be kidding me. A reviewer complained that the butler did not "unpack our suitcases." Please people. I am currently at the St. Regis and the people are absolutely wonderful. The resort is gorgeous. The beach is private and huge, though so far often windy. This resort was built for people who wanted to get away so it is secluded. There are not many food options. In fact outside of the onsite restaurants you will need to take a taxi into town for anything. That said, if you want a private getaway in a beautiful resort with huge rooms and beautiful balconies, this is a great place. With very few rooms compared to other resorts, this is a place for someone who wants to relax and read a good book, or five. The pools are lovely. The food is expensive, but at a resort of this quality you would expect that. If I wanted an active vacation, or nightlife, or a lot of people, I would not stay here.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank ulebwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our distinctive resort. Rest assured, we have shared them with our dedicated team, in a continuous effort to further enhance our sophisticated guest experience.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to your home away from home, the St. Regis Bahía beach, in the near future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for four nights. It is a great hotel if you need a little R&R but it can dig into your wallet.
The room was very nice with the main highlight being the HUGE bathroom and shower area. The rest of the room was a good size but no different than a Westin or Intercontinental. Our veiw was of the golf course but with all the vegatation you couldn`t see past the trees. I look at this as a positve since we didn`t want golfers looking into our room as they went by.
The food in the restaurants was good and worth the price.
The grounds were fantastic with a feeling of being in a tropical paradise.
The pool was the best I have ever seen. Every area gives off the feeling of privacy.
The beach was beautiful and the water was very warm. You can walk for a mile on your own.
We used the kayaks in the pond area but it was very limited to how far you can go. Still it was a nice diversion since there isn`t a lot to do when you are in the middle of nowhere. We lloked into golf but with rental clubs it would have cost $500 for us to play

Room Tip: get an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank polarbear12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our distinctive resort. Rest assured that your valuable feedback has been appropriately addressed.


We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to your home away from home, the St. Regis Bahía beach, in the not too distant future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
31.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
17.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
12.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.5 mi away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,843 reviews
4.5 mi away
Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar
16.7 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico

Address: State Road 187 kilometer 4.2, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
#1 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range: $496 - $1,769 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designated as Puerto Rico’s first and only AAA Five Diamond resort and the leader in luxury on the island and in the Caribbean, The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico has been designed with the entire family in mind, providing a variety of extraordinary services and activities that will keep all guests entertained from sunrise to sunset. Located on a former 483 acre coconut plantation, our Rio Grande resort in Puerto Rico sits between El Yunque National Forest and the sparkling Atlantic Ocean on the northeast coast. A Certified Gold Audubon Signature Sanctuary, the lush Resort features a tennis center, a golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones Jr., as well as 4 miles of nature trails, 70 acres of lakes and a boat house for water sports. The intimate St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico boasts suites where The St. Regis’ iconic Butler service is available. Most of the guestrooms overlook amazing ocean and garden views setting a new standard in luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Hotel Rio Grande
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing