We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Rio Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had our wedding here in January and were given a free night's stay. We were blown away by the natural beauty Bahia Beach had to offer. It's amazing how much there is to do on the premises. We rode bikes and went paddle boarding, and then relaxed on the beautiful beach and had a drink by the pool. If you want to see more of the "real Puerto Rico," you can leave the resort and drive to Sylvia's down the street for delicious empanadas. The staff at Bahia Beach made us feel so special. We highly recommend a stay here in paradise!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanessaSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Greetings from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our magnificent resort.

We are delighted that your luxurious vacation was surpassed only by the natural beauty of our captivating surroundings. It is our absolute pleasure to share with you the distinctive charm of our rooms, pool area, and above all, the superb service from our dedicated staff.

Thank you for the gift of feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon, so that we may indulge you once again, in another uncompromising St. Regis experience.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    291
    110
    43
    29
See reviews for
379
655
18
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia, pa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is an amazing property. I am totally spoiled because the room, the bathroom and the pool area are so lovely and large. Additionally, the people there bend over backwards to please, as well they should as the prices are very high for both the rooms and the food but it is a 4 diamond resort. Golf course was great and we loved going to nature center to go out on kayaks. Also used the bikes to ride around the property and it was private and relaxing.
We were told the property was 80% full, but never really saw a lot of people. Plenty of seats at pool area which was probably the nicest landscape I have ever seen. The whole resort was planned to give privacy for discerning clientele. Sitting on the balcony both mornings and evenings was pure heaven.
We had an ocean front suite (i would say that ocean front was worth it, as you got to hear the surf which was very soothing) with a huge patio.
My only complaint is that I thought drinks at the pool were just too expensive. I didn't mind paying $16 to $18 at the St. Regis Bar (the bartender was the BEST), but I felt having a pineapple mojito in a plastic cup for $16 was over the top. Food at the pool was pricey too but it was easy to share because it was a good amount of food.
We enjoyed both Fern Restaurant, which was a lovely restaurant and also had dinner and lunch outside at Molasses, the restaurant at the golf course.
Overall, we have been spoiled by this gorgeous property. It is top rate, with just a few snafus which were easy to overlook as the people were very accomodating and tried to rectify any issue as soon as it was known. The welcome rum punch was a nice touch too.
Concierge and front desk check in ladies were top notch.

Room Tip: we liked ocean front, although didn't get a clear view of the beach, due to the gorgeous palms t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trust52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us.

We are thrilled that you were so enraptured at St. Regis Bahia Beach, where our daily mantra is for our guests of all ages to enjoy the ‘art of living’.

Your compliments for our staff is most appreciated, as our team is very genuine in their intention to fulfill your every need and make you feel at home in our little slice of paradise.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back soon, so that we may continue our tradition of extraordinary stays for the entire family.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the St Regis in December before the holiday season kicked in. It was a great time to travel, relatively empty. The Regis was perfectly situated for getting to spend quality time at the nearby rainforest, which we did and loved. It’s own setting was quite breathtaking as well, the rooms very comfortable and the showers amazing. Despite all this, we won’t return. It is over the top expensive, and while the quality is good, there were lots of trade offs. We tried to use the free bicycles they offer to tour the property, but the bikes were in such incredibly bad condition and so uncomfortable we gave us after about 20 minutes (I love to bike so to forfeit the opportunity says a lot). The pool area while lovely, was ruined for us by constant pounding muzak. I had hoped to spend an afternoon lazing by the pool reading, but gave up after about a half an hour and hit the beach instead (thank goodness there was at least an alternative). Same muzak is piped along all the outdoor walkways too, so it the first thing you are hit with when you come out of your door. At the end of one day, they offered s’mores at an open air fire: the chocolates/marshmallows were snatched up immediately and we unfortunately we weren’t among the lucky front row recipients and no more were offered. Considering how much they charge in general and for every single extra, we felt disappointed when the little things like these did not meet our expectations. I have waited for the hotel to send some sort of card or email asking us to rate our experience so I could let them know some of our impressions, but none has ever come.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brookmoor10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach -

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our distinctive resort.

Your suggestions regarding music have been duly noted.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back soon, so that we may continue our tradition of extraordinary stays for the entire family.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

With any St. Regis property you expect a level of quality and service that makes it very difficult to stay anywhere else! We spent 7 days at this fantastic resort..first time ever in Puerto Rico, and had such a great time that we met with the hotel GM to express our satisfaction at checkout time. With the exception of one day off the property touring the rainforest , we spent the entire time at the resort and never ran out of options to take advantage of. Our room was outstanding..garden view, service was incredible...the room was always cleaned and the cleaning staff are just incredibly nice people. The pool area is great, you never feel crowded, and there is enough pool space that the smaller children have their own pool area as do the adults ( deepest pool section is 5 1/2 feet). Poolside food is very good, although if I have a single complaint at all it is that the poolside staff rarely came by for drink/food orders and when our wet towels were removed, they did not replace them. That changed for the better after the 3rd day when we gave constructive feedback to the hotel GM regarding poolside service. Beach is amazing..activities like tennis instruction was top notch, transportation around the property was always available, and the kids club was so well run our kids didn't want to leave! Friday the kids club had an "ice cream social", with at least 10 different ice cream toppings, games, movies, etc...amazing. Nice that there are no solicitors on the beach selling goods..it is perfect solitude. By the way, the friendly iguana that walks around the property likes to occasionally swim in the pool and is the coolest thing to see!

I try to find someplace that a hotel or resort could improve and share it here...I just can't find much to suggest this resort change! Maybe they could use one more restaurant (3 restaurants at the retort including Fern..run by .Jean George's. Maybe the gym could be bigger but it's still a very nice gym with modern equipment and nice yoga/stretch area.

Night before we checked out, the concierge was so thorough and professional, my wife and I still talk about it. I have never seen someone represent their organization so well..anywhere.

Listen..St. Regis will spoil you with amazing service and top notch amenities. It's not inexpensive but it's a treat that is well worth the time if you can swing it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank techtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us.

We are thrilled that your family had such an extraordinary vacation, replete with adventure and discovery! As you mentioned, our unique property, a true nature sanctuary, captures the distinctive personality of Puerto Rico and its enchanted tropical setting.

Your words of praise toward our staff are genuinely appreciated, and have been duly noted.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to St. Regis Bahía Beach , in the near future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

With any St. Regis property you expect a level of quality and service that makes it very difficult to stay anywhere else! We spent 7 days at this fantastic resort..first time ever in Puerto Rico, and had such a great time that we met with the hotel GM to express our satisfaction at checkout time. With the exception of one day off the property touring the rainforest , we spent the entire time at the resort and never ran out of options to take advantage of. Our room was outstanding..garden view, service was incredible...the room was always cleaned and the cleaning staff are just incredibly nice people. The pool area is great, you never feel crowded, and there is enough pool space that the smaller children have their own pool area as do the adults ( deepest pool section is 5 1/2 feet). Poolside food is very good, although if I have a single complaint at all it is that the poolside staff rarely came by for drink/food orders and when our wet towels were removed, they did not replace them. That changed for the better after the 3rd day when we gave constructive feedback to the hotel GM regarding poolside service. Beach is amazing..activities like tennis instruction was top notch, transportation around the property was always available, and the kids club was so well run our kids didn't want to leave! Friday the kids club had an "ice cream social", with at least 10 different ice cream toppings, games, movies, etc...amazing. Nice that there are no solicitors on the beach selling goods..it is perfect solitude. By the way, the friendly iguana that walks around the property likes to occasionally swim in the pool and is the coolest thing to see!

I try to find someplace that a hotel or resort could improve and share it here...I just can't find much to suggest this resort change! Maybe they could use one more restaurant (3 restaurants at the retort including Fern..run by .Jean George's. Maybe the gym could be bigger but it's still a very nice gym with modern equipment and nice yoga/stretch area.

Night before we checked out, the concierge was so thorough and professional, my wife and I still talk about it. I have never seen someone represent their organization so well..anywhere.

Listen..St. Regis will spoil you with amazing service and top notch amenities. It's not inexpensive but it's a treat that is well worth the time if you can swing it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank techtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Greetings from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our magnificent resort.

We are delighted that your luxurious vacation was surpassed only by the natural beauty of our captivating surroundings. It is our absolute pleasure to share with you the distinctive charm of our rooms, pool area, and above all, the superb service from our dedicated staff.

Thank you for the gift of feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon, so that we may indulge you once again, in another uncompromising St. Regis experience.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed at this new facility after many stays in puerto rico. there is a totally different vibe from the older hotels closer to san juan. the room was amazing as was the bathroom. Food was excellent and the golf course is the best on the island. A truely beautiful facility well worth the 30 minute drive from the airport

Room Tip: my room was ground floor on the golf course, peaceful and beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 174scottm211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Greetings from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our magnificent resort.

We are delighted that your luxurious vacation was surpassed only by the natural beauty of our captivating surroundings. It is our absolute pleasure to share with you the distinctive charm of our rooms, pool area, and above all, the superb service from our dedicated staff.

Thank you for the gift of feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon, so that we may indulge you once again, in another uncompromising St. Regis experience.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Wow, Wow, Wow... what luxury

What a beautiful property on a beautiful Beach.

This is our second year staying here and it is well worth every penny. The staff is exceptionally professional and very friendly. Everything about the property is beautiful. The hotel is built into the landscape so that it does not take away from the beauty of the area. It feels as if you are in a nature sanctuary.

Biking, boating, golfing, tennis, swimming... or just reading a book on one of the canopy "beds" on the beach.. Whatever you choose you will have a great time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfpdpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at our resort.

Your brief and perfect description is precisely what we intend for every guest – absolute serenity combined with luxury, and wonderful cuisine. Perfect for a romantic getaway or a week of exploring and adventure on our beautiful island of Puerto Rico.

We hope to have the pleasure of indulging you once again, at the St. Regis Bahía Beach, the best address in the Caribbean.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
12.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,077 reviews
31.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
17.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
16.7 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
13.2 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort

Property: The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Address: State Road 187 kilometer 4.2, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
#1 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designated as Puerto Rico’s first and only AAA Five Diamond resort and the leader in luxury on the island and in the Caribbean, The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico has been designed with the entire family in mind, providing a variety of extraordinary services and activities that will keep all guests entertained from sunrise to sunset. Located on a former 483 acre coconut plantation, it is nestled between El Yunque National Forest and the sparkling Atlantic Ocean on the northeast coast of Puerto Rico. Certified Gold Audubon Signature Sanctuary, the lush Resort features a tennis center, a golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones Jr., as well as 4 miles of nature trails, 70 acres of lakes and a boat house for water sports. The intimate St. Regis Bahia Beach boasts 139 rooms including 35 suites, where The St. Regis’ iconic Butler service is available. Most of the guestrooms overlook amazing ocean and garden views setting a new standard in luxury accommodations, service levels and facilities for the Caribbean. An indulging Remède Spa and the exquisite dining options will delight all senses, including Fern Restaurant, featuring culinary creations by world famous Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten, Molasses Restaurant, St. Regis Bar and Seagrapes. In addition, abundant banquet space is available to accommodate a variety of outdoor or indoor events. Featuring amazing ocean or garden views, it is the perfect setting for small or big gatherings as well as weddings. The elegant tropical magnificence of The St. Regis Bahia Beach creates a world for its guests that they will never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Hotel Rio Grande
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing