We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SPECTACULAR”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rio Grande
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“SPECTACULAR”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

From the moment you set foot in this property, you know that you are surrounded by luxury. The hotel is something less than 2 years old. The hotel is approximately 40 minutes from San juan via PR-66 Toll Expressway. As you pass the gate entrance where you have to identify yourself, you will see lush tropical vegetation very dense and well kept.
The lobby entrance is beautiful and there is no counter type hotel registration. Instead, there are desks where the guest is cordially and royally received and explained all the diverse ameniteies of the property. There are plenty of workers handling the valet parking as well as many bellman. Checking inn was a snap. Rooms are beautifully decorated, extremely large with the highest quality of furnishings. At night, the lobby entrance is something to behold with ponds and lighted gas lanterns.
Sevice, freindship and quality of employees was outstanding. I would say it appears they were specially chosen. It was in fact one of the friendliest places we have ever stayed. Of course, for such special facilities, you can expect prices to be very expensive but well rewarded for the extra dollars you pay.
We ate in all of the restaurants in the hotel which are highly recommended. This way, you can try the variuos cuisines available. We ate for breakfast brioche french toast which were outstanding and one of the best that I have ever had anywhere.
This is a place where I woud return again and again.

Room Tip: Units are detached buildings with samllest room aprox 640 sq ft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HLGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our resort.

We are quite passionate about pampering our guests, and your detailed description, from the magnificent natural beauty of our resort, to our luxurious guest rooms and sumptuous cuisine, are all part of the St. Regis customized experience. As you can see, our devoted staff is quite genuine in demonstrating our distinctive hospitality!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to your home away from home, the St. Regis Bahía Beach, in the near future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    918
    301
    113
    48
    30
See reviews for
404
688
18
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed at the St. Regis Bahia over Columbus day weekend in a 2 br. suite. (A suite with a connecting room) and almost everything about it was fantastic. The food was good, property was beautiful, and the facilities were fabulous. However never have I been to a hotel with worse service. Nothing on the entire trip happened without an issue. Room service took an average of an hour for each order, much of the staff was surly and talked back when asked for something, and worst of all almost everything was departmentalized. We were told to dial 0 to get butler service which would take care of any need we may have but that was never the case, every phone call involved at least one transfer with hold music and when you finally reached the correct person they hardly understood what you were saying. We rented a couple cabanas everyday which were never ready on time and when we asked the pool staff to do something for us we often had to ask at least 3 different employees before one took it upon themselves to do something as mundane as get us towels. The hostess at Fern (the hotels restaurant) seemed overwhelmed and when we asked to be seated responded as if we were asking for a miracle. Our complimentary morning coffee from our butler arrived earlier then requested, cold, and in to go cups everyday leaving us wishing we didn't have it at all. That said the property was gorgeous and the golf course was a nice one for a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew_McSchnitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to detail your experience regarding your recent visit to our resort.

Allow us to preface with an apology for your justified disappointment regarding service in general, especially in our food & beverage areas. This is certainly not indicative of the sophisticated level of expectations that have become the St. Regis trademark and legacy.

When you arrive at the most bespoke address in the area, it is understandable that you would want to be seduced by the beauty of your surroundings, and we regret that your experience fell short. Rest assured, your generous feedback is crucial for us to improve in these areas, and has been addressed with the appropriate departments, in order to avoid this from reoccurring. We welcome any further comments that you may have.

On a positive note, as you point out, the exquisite beauty of our natural surroundings, make for a very magical location indeed, and we are very proud to be the first Certified Gold Audubon Signature Sanctuary in the Caribbean, and that you genuinely appreciated our intimate and peaceful, tropical atmosphere, as well as our Robert Trent Jones, Jr. world-class golf course.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back, so that we may have the opportunity to reverse your initial impression and treat you to the uncompromising service that our distinguished guests have grown accustomed to.

We appreciate your candor, and would like to thank you for the gift of feedback, and the opportunity to address your concerns.

Again, our apologies.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My hubby and I spent 3 nights here in July. Hotel is about a 45 min drive from the airport. A rental car is a must because there are no cabs at the hotel and the location is a bit remote. Once we arrived, we were greeted by the staff and met with the concierge. We are SPG Gold members and booked with SPG points. The hotel was not 100% occupied but they told us that there were no upgrades available for us the first night. They said they would contact us to let us know if we would be upgraded for nights 2 and 3. We never heard from anyone for the entire duration of our stay. We were a bit disappointed by this because a typical St. Regis prides itself on customer service and satisfaction - we were forgotten. I had better customer service at the W Vieques - Gold status was honored with an ocean view upgrade on the spot. Same hotel family but vastly different experiences.
Aside from not granting us an upgrade, our stay was pleasant. The room was spacious. The best part of the room was the bathroom and shower area with Remede toiletries.
Pool area gets high marks. The beach was nice as well but the staff made us return their beach chairs at exactly 6pm. Not sure why.
Food - Molasses, hands down, the best restaurant on the premises. Fern for dinner was a let down (don't order the avocado pizza) but redeemed itself for breakfast. Sea Grapes was average.
Tip - for really good authentic Puerto Rican breakfast, drive 5 minutes to La Familia Bakery 2 for the best coffee, pastries and egg sandwiches!
Another foodie tip - be adventurous and drive to the Luquillo Beach food kiosks. Another reason you need to rent a car!
Overall, we had a great time. Just a few kinks in customer service. I would recommend this hotel for families with kids (there were lots of kids at the resort) and for people who want a remote location away from the glitz of San Juan.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CelleNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach -

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our resort.

Allow us to preface with an apology for the miscommunication regarding your upgrade. It is never our intention for you to feel slighted in any way. Although it may have appeared that our hotel is was not filled to capacity, this could be due to a variety of factors, not excluding the continuous routine maintenance required to fulfill the elite standards which our distinguished guests so well deserve.

Your valuable comments have been shared with our staff, and are a crucial part in enhancing our unique guest experience.

On a positive note, we are delighted that you were still able to revel in captivating resort! As well travelled SPG Gold members, you have a discerning eye, and we certainly appreciate your thoughts and genuine appreciation for the diversity that our property has to offer.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon, to the St. Regis Bahía Beach in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

It's a St. Regis hotel... Need I say more. My wife and I left the kids at home and went for a quick get-away. The restaurant, spa, gym, grounds, and service were awesome. We're looking to do it again soon. Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: The suites are fantastic. Love the hidden TV in the bathroom mirror.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent brief stay at our resort.

It gives us great pleasure that our dedicated staff made you and your wife feel so welcome, and that you thoroughly enjoyed how our unique design captures the distinctive, tropical flavors of Puerto Rico!

We look forward to welcome you and the entire family next time, so that we may treat you to another extraordinary stay at the Best Address in Caribbean.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Grande, Puerto Rico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had an amazing time in this hotel. The service was excellent. They helped us in everything we wanted. The golf course is incredible and so are the amenities: kayaks, tennis, bikes, beach, the pool, restaurants. We love it so much!! We are coming back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Turquoise_Mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our resort.

Indulging in our acclaimed Robert Trent Jones, Jr. golf course, many nature activities and our variety of world-class cuisine, are all designed to make you feel at home in our little slice of paradise found.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future, to treat you once again, to another extraordinary St. Regis vacation.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Beautiful resort, great service and options of things to do. Tonight is our last night here, and it has been a wonderful time. The staff is always willing to help. The grounds are amazing, and the options are numerous. You can hang out by the pool, or go to the beach, or go hiking or ride a bicycle, or go kaiaking, or simply go to the spa. The only thing that I had to take a star from them was because of the gym, not too small, but with very few options to work out.
Despite that, it is a wonderful resort, and I would definitely stay at the St. Regis again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodgoncalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your recent visit to our resort.

We are thrilled that you had a wonderful stay, however, we regret that your experience regarding our fitness area fell short of your expectation. We have duly noted your input and are working to improve the choices you pointed out. If you wish to share any further thoughts, we would be most happy to speak with you at your convenience.

We look forward to welcome you back to your home away from home, so we may again have the opportunity to showcase our legendary St. Regis hospitality, on the beautiful island of Puerto Rico.

Thank you for the gift of feedback and the opportunity to respond to your concerns.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Me and my wife stayed for the weekend to celebrate our anniversary. The hotel is gorgeous, the grounds are nicely kept and the staff is very friendly. The room was big and all the appliances were top state of the art. From the Sub-Zero mini fridge to the tv's in the room and inside the vanity mirror.
The only thing that could improve would be hot water in the shower which takes time to heat up.
The restaurant Fern was spectacular. The staff was very passionate about the menu and the choices they gave us were excellent. I recommend the Grouper dish for dinner that Jay served us. At breakfast, Etienne recommended the French Toasts and they are by far the best french toasts I've ever had. On our last day, Roberto recommended to my wife the Cream of Wheat with the Chef's family recipe that included lime peelings. Also a great choice and I do hope it makes it to the regular menu.
The staff at the pool was very helpful recommending where to seat when you wanted either sun or shade.
The Valet returned our car with bird droppings that I wish they cleaned before returning it. At $22 a day that doesn't seem much to ask.
Overall the experience was excellent and we will be returning next year.

Room Tip: Rooms in building 7 or 8 are really quiet. If you get the chance ask for the rooms with Ocean View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girizarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our resort.

We are delighted that you appreciated our elegant plantation style guest rooms, cleverly designed to include even hidden conveniences such as the TV concealed in the bathroom mirror! Our desire is to have our valued guests enjoy all the comforts of home, within the most seductive, tropical surroundings.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your wife back to Bahía Beach in the near future, and indulge you one again.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
31.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
12.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,199 reviews
17.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,032 reviews
16.8 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
4.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort

Property: The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Address: State Road 187 kilometer 4.2, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designated as Puerto Rico’s first and only AAA Five Diamond resort and the leader in luxury on the island and in the Caribbean, The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico has been designed with the entire family in mind, providing a variety of extraordinary services and activities that will keep all guests entertained from sunrise to sunset. Located on a former 483 acre coconut plantation, it is nestled between El Yunque National Forest and the sparkling Atlantic Ocean on the northeast coast of Puerto Rico. Certified Gold Audubon Signature Sanctuary, the lush Resort features a tennis center, a golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones Jr., as well as 4 miles of nature trails, 70 acres of lakes and a boat house for water sports. The intimate St. Regis Bahia Beach boasts 139 rooms including 35 suites, where The St. Regis’ iconic Butler service is available. Most of the guestrooms overlook amazing ocean and garden views setting a new standard in luxury accommodations, service levels and facilities for the Caribbean. An indulging Remède Spa and the exquisite dining options will delight all senses, including Fern Restaurant, featuring culinary creations by world famous Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten, Molasses Restaurant, St. Regis Bar and Seagrapes. In addition, abundant banquet space is available to accommodate a variety of outdoor or indoor events. Featuring amazing ocean or garden views, it is the perfect setting for small or big gatherings as well as weddings. The elegant tropical magnificence of The St. Regis Bahia Beach creates a world for its guests that they will never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Hotel Rio Grande
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing