We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing resort!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Rio Grande
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing resort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

What a perfect setting for our first trip to Puerto Rico! The St. Regis is a stunningly beautiful resort with outstanding service and plenty of amenities. We stayed at the resort for 5 nights the week of February 13th, 2012. We booked the hotel using Starwood points and my husband also had platinum status.

We rented a car at the airport and after 1 wrong turn arrived at the resort after a 45 minute drive. Upon our arrival we were greeted by several staff members and given some rum punch. We were upgraded to an ocean front suite. The suite was spotless and had a wonderful patio where we could sit and listen to the ocean. The suite was very spacious, from the 2 full baths, large foyers, walk in closet, and comfortable living area. We only used the butler service a few times but they kindly called each day to check in with us.

The pool design is great as it allows for a bit of privacy. During our stay the resort was not full. There were always plenty of chairs and umbrellas available around the pool any time of day. The frozen grapes and signature tea the staff brings around throughout the day is a nice treat! The beach was beautiful and we walked quite a distance in both directions and never saw any trash along the shore.

The staff was always eager to please and went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and that we enjoyed our stay. I can't say enough positive things about how attentive everyone was to even the smallest details during our stay.

We dined at all 3 restaurants and had enjoyable experiences. We enjoyed the tasting menu at Fern and the skirt steak mofongo at Molasses. Seagrapes had a good turkey wrap and nachos.

We had wonderful massages at the spa and used the free kayak rental to check out thd lake. Off of the property we did the bio bay kayak trip, we went zip lining, hiked in the El Yunque rain forest (swam in the waterfall), and spent an afternoon/evening exploring Old San Juan.

The resort was $$$, but nothing that I would consider outrageous for an island resort. Weare already planning our visit back to the St Regis next year!

Pros
Beautiful resort in an amazing setting!
Very attentive staff
Clean and spacious rooms
Large pool and clean beach

Cons
Terrible directions on the website from the airport to the resort.

The location of the resort is a bit isolated from a lot of activities on the island.


  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMLG31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    291
    110
    44
    29
See reviews for
379
656
18
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hopewell, NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at the St. Regis. There was a huge need for this kind of property in PR and I'm glad it's here. The grounds are lovely, the rooms are great, and the staff was overall very good. (And that's saying something because service overall in PR can be quite lousy.) The restaurants are also lovely - a particular highlight was breakfast in the main dining room, and the mofongo at Molasses.

With that said, just a few things to keep in mind when you book here. First of all, you will drop a TON of cash when you come. Even with the $25/day per kid meal plan, we were routinely dropping $50-60 just for breakfast for me and my husband. How is that even possible? However, we did book on points and so we were prepared that all these costs were just the price of the vacation.

Another major disappointment for me was the lack of availability of chairs at the pool. Basically if we wanted a chair, we had to be up by about 6:30 at the latest to reserve them with towels. And most of the 'reserved' chairs sat empty for the majority of the day. Granted, we were there the week between Christmas and New Year's, but for the prices many of the guests were paying to stay, I would have expected St. Regis to come up with a better system. Frankly, they ended up losing revenue - there were many times when I would have loved to sit out by the pool with a cocktail and watched my kids swim in the pool, but there were no available chairs because they were all 'reserved' with towels. So the chairs sat empty, I stayed thirsty, and the hotel missed out on the price of an expensive cocktail.

All in all, I would not hesitate to return! But a bargain it is not.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeffersonsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoughton,ma
Level Contributor
160 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

we went to this resort with high expectations, but they just were not met. yes, we did use points to stay here, but even with the points it was expensive, especially considering the number of points to book.

pluses:
beautiful grounds
very friendly staff

negatives:
room never cleaned unless we complained
deck behind room always flooded
long walk from room to get anywhere
chaise lounge chairs "reserved" by guests by 7 am

for a new luxurious resort i guess we were not that impressed. we have stayed at the rio mar a number of times over the years and we will go back to it. not as luxurious, but all the bases are covered for much less and it is definitely easier to navigate.

steve

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank treefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent visit to our resort.

Allow us to preface with an apology for your justified disappointment with our service in general. This is certainly not indicative of the sophisticated level of service that has become the St. Regis trademark.

We have taken the liberty of sharing your observations regarding the areas in question, and have addressed the issues you pointed out with our staff. We would very much look forward to an opportunity to share any further comments you may have, and are available at your convenience.

We do hope you will still return, so that we may have the opportunity to reverse your initial impression and treat you to the uncompromising service that our distinguished guests have grown accustomed to.

Thank you for the gift of feedback, and the opportunity to respond to your concerns.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

I had read the reviews about the hotel being expensive and assumed that feeling "ripped off" colored all negative reviews that followed. I booked this hotel for a week end with my sister and was prepared for $20 burger prices. Upon arrival I found the hotel grounds were magnificent. The palm tree lined grand entrance was at least a mile long. Beautiful! Doors were opened, rum welcoming drink offered and then... the wait for a room until 6:00! The rest of the week end was the same. Fantastic breakfast on the beach followed with a 1 1/2 hour wait and rude service at Seagrapes for lunch. Each day we encountered something that we tried to overlook so as not to get upset during our get away. Impossible. Overall I would take a less magnificent property if it delivered as promised. Quite a disappointment!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank devlans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from St. Regis Bahía Beach -

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our resort.

We sincerely apologize that you were disappointed with our service, and have taken the liberty of sharing your comments with the pertinent departments in an effort to develop our distinctive and emblematic service philosophy.

Should you wish to share any further thoughts, we are available at your earliest convenience.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon, so that we may have the opportunity to showcase a truly flawless St. Regis vacation next time.

Thank you for the gift of feedback, and the opportunity to respond to your concerns.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

We've been to PR before but had a so-so experience and we were very excited to see that the St Regis had been build there. After reading some of the earlier reviews i was concerned about the service and some of the "hiccups" (if you will)...that the resort was having in the beginning. Well, we were pleasently surprised to find that the service was excellent during our stay and it was a very enjoyable experience!! We will defintely return!
Pros: First, the grounds are gorgeous, the golf course is pristine, the lakes, tennis courts, nature walk are all amazing. The people at the resort were all so nice and we wanted for nothing
Cons: They could use more of a variety of dining options, also having a coffee maker in the rooms would be nice considering it is a bit of a walk first thing in the AM to go over to the restaurant
Overall, as i mentioned we had a gret time and fell in love with PR again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indot081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

The resort and the grounds were absolutely gorgeous. The rooms were nicely appointed and top notch. We had excellent service. Everyone was very friendly. We did not experience any service short comings.
We felt the price of the food to be comparable to other resorts of the same caliber and in line with nicer restaurants in the city. The pools were very nice. The location was little too far away from the city and remote >> which probably lead tot he stunning setting. We ended up going to Culbera and Vieques for our beach days. We had a car for the duration and used it a lot.
Although the beach views looked good in the distance, we did not care for the beach ( hardly anyone was using the beach either). Fern, their signature restaurant was not up par with other Jean-Georges establishment. The food on their other restaurant Molasses was very similar, and we actually found the setting and ambiance nicer there.

Pros: The Grounds, the setting, the rooms, pool and the staff
Cons: The Beach, The distance from everything else, food choices ( very similar at both restaurant. It would have be nicer if they change one restaurant to a signature steak/ Sea food place , such as BLT in Ritz)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Milo911MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syosset
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

We went on christmas vacation. We loved trying a new resort. It is only a year old and ridiculously expensive. We had a two bedroom suite that was one of the nicest rooms on the property. It was suppose to come with a butler. It did the first day. When you go away your room should be cleaned and bathroom tidied up and night table . It wasn't. The room smelled of mildew. Had to call for fresh towels. The service poor. The service in the restaurants was pathetic. We ended up calling our order in and taking it to go because the wait was so long. Lunch we ate at the no frills cabana. We found at people came on points and were paying a quarter we of what we were. Christmas points? The overall food was not good. You need to take a 45 minute ride to go to San Juan for dinner. If the food was good we wouldn't have had to leave 5 times. The girl when we check it was very unwelcoming! One of our family members is in hospitality she couldn't believe the unfriendly welcome. In most resorts there is music playing . Whether it being a reggae band or just plain music. Nothing! New years eve? no flyers when around it was word of mouth for the most discussing meal. We ended up at the pool bar eating pizza.A guest had to bring her i phone and hook it into speakers for music New Years Eve. All I can say is that the hoel needs A lot of work. Been to St. Reigis hotels before this one was really a major disappointment. There is a new manager and new concierge that were really nice and hopefully they will change the operations of this hotel/

Room Tip: Suite very spacious. Rip off!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mervinek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from St. Regis Bahía Beach -

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed vacation comments regarding your visit to our resort.

We are extremely happy that you thoroughly enjoyed our luxurious guest rooms as well as our lush tropical surroundings and sumptuous cuisine.

We do apologize, however, for the mishaps you experienced with regards to housekeeping and service in general. It is never our intention to have any of our distinguished St. Regis guests leave with a less than impeccable experience, and we welcome any further feedback to help us improve our unique and personalized guest experience.

In an effort to reverse your last impression, we do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the St. Regis Bahía Beach, in the near future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback, and the opportunity to respond to your concerns.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
12.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,077 reviews
31.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
17.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
16.7 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
13.2 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort

Property: The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Address: State Road 187 kilometer 4.2, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
#1 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designated as Puerto Rico’s first and only AAA Five Diamond resort and the leader in luxury on the island and in the Caribbean, The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico has been designed with the entire family in mind, providing a variety of extraordinary services and activities that will keep all guests entertained from sunrise to sunset. Located on a former 483 acre coconut plantation, it is nestled between El Yunque National Forest and the sparkling Atlantic Ocean on the northeast coast of Puerto Rico. Certified Gold Audubon Signature Sanctuary, the lush Resort features a tennis center, a golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones Jr., as well as 4 miles of nature trails, 70 acres of lakes and a boat house for water sports. The intimate St. Regis Bahia Beach boasts 139 rooms including 35 suites, where The St. Regis’ iconic Butler service is available. Most of the guestrooms overlook amazing ocean and garden views setting a new standard in luxury accommodations, service levels and facilities for the Caribbean. An indulging Remède Spa and the exquisite dining options will delight all senses, including Fern Restaurant, featuring culinary creations by world famous Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten, Molasses Restaurant, St. Regis Bar and Seagrapes. In addition, abundant banquet space is available to accommodate a variety of outdoor or indoor events. Featuring amazing ocean or garden views, it is the perfect setting for small or big gatherings as well as weddings. The elegant tropical magnificence of The St. Regis Bahia Beach creates a world for its guests that they will never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Hotel Rio Grande
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing