We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a very nice time at St. Regis Bahia Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rio Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We went in between Christmas and NewYear's, several couples, with children of all ages (2-18). The stay was very nice, we enjoyed it; it was not perfect but a very good place. Did see some famous people as well.
POSITIVE:
- very expansive grounds, lots of space
- relaxed
- big rooms; nice amenities (we were in a Casa Atlantico - definitely the place to be
- SandDollar beach - a bit further down, but very nice, no algae
- we enjoyed the food at both Fern and Molasses (separate reviews)
- the spa was very nice - but very expensive

Issues:
- as many reviewers pointed out: service has room to improve for sure
- it's far out - either you stay there more of the time; or have a rental car if you want to get into San Juan or explore the island. Staying in the resort was just fine with us.
- a number of apparent NewYorkers sitting/walking around the pool area on their cell phones, complaining about too many things while on vacation
- the occupation of pool chairs should change; all chairs are taken, but rarely are more than 25 % ever occupied. Guests arrive early in the morning, mark chairs as theirs and then disappear. There should be a mechanism that chairs not used for 90 min should be freed up

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TooFrequentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach Resort,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent visit to our resort.

Please allow us to preface with an apology apologize for the mishaps regarding service at the pool area. This is certainly not representative of the flawless attention to detail for which the St. Regis is world-renowned.

Your comments are a most valuable tool for us to improve, and we have taken the liberty of sharing your concerns with the appropriate department in an effort to improve in these areas.
On a positive note, we are most pleased that you still had a wonderful stay!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to St. Regis Bahía Beach in the near future, so that we may have the opportunity to showcase our distinctive St. Regis hospitality.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,440)
There are newer reviews for The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,151 - 1,157 of 1,440 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2012

This resort is a gem. The grounds are gorgeous and the staff is very helpful and friendly. There are a few restaurants in the resort that are delicious, really enjoyed the brunch at Fern and dinner at Molasses. The room service is pretty good too. We were upgraded to a beach view suite for SPG status, even on a holiday weekend, this was a treat. The butler service with unlimited french press tea and coffee was a dream! A negative was the beach, because the water was very murky. This was due to recent hurricanes and the location of the beach because at the same time in San Juan, the water was blue and swim-able. Also, be sure to make use of the resort amenities, like bike rentals and kayaks, as they are included in the resort fee.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simplecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our resort.

We are thrilled that you so thoroughly enjoyed your time spent at our magnificent property.

As a well travelled SPG, you have a very discerning eye, and it is rewarding to us to know that you enjoyed our culinary feasts, such as Fern and Molasses, as well as the various activities offered for a fabulous vacation experience.

We hope you visit us again soon, so that we may treat you and your family to another uncompromising St. Regis stay in our little slice of heaven.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I just returned from a week long stay at the resort. From the moment we got to the large stunning resort we truly felt taken care of. Here are brief breakdowns on our stay:

Rooms / Bathroom: We had a suite in which there was a sitting area that connected to a room with a king size bed. The rooms were immaculately cleaned and they opened up to a very generously sized balcony. The sliding doors opened up and make the room even larger and also allowed us to view the gorgeous scenery. There was a table and couch outside that's perfect for reading a book and relaxing. The bathrooms are stunning! Not only are their TVs in the mirrors but the shower is literally the size of a small room. There is also a large soak tub by the shower.

Food: I had read a previous post that said there wasn't a breakfast buffet but there was one when we stayed there at SeaGrapes. The buffet was good but the breakfast at Fern was absolutely amazing. Their french toast is literally the best I've ever had. The service was also top notch. We also had a great dinner at SeaGrapes (highly recommend the skirt steak) as well as a great Christmas meal at Molasses. Room service was good and was delivered in less than 30 min.

Kids: When we got to our room there was a crib set up for our daughter which is something I requested before we checked in. Even though we were traveling with 2 small children we always felt like there were things for us to do. As previous people have mentioned the property is set on over 500 acres and you can get bikes from the boat house and enjoy the beautiful scenery. If your kids are to young to ride a bike they have attachments so that they can sit behind the bike. This was a great way for us to explore the whole resort. They also have a kids club called the Iguana Club. While my daughter was to young to stay by herself, we were allowed to use their facilities. They have a basketball court, play ground, video game room, craft room, movie room, and reading room. It was great!!

I would 100% recommend this hotel/resort. I can't wait to spend time there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank L743XAjessicaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at our resort.

How wonderful to hear of your family’s fulfilling vacation experience within our captivating surroundings. As you point out, our staff is truly genuine in their efforts to make everyone feel welcome to our little slice of paradise. And you are right – being attentive without being intrusive is a true art!

You seemed to have encompassed the entire guest experience, and we enjoyed your description as you relived your adventures, exploring our luxurious facilities and sumptuous cuisine.

Thank you for the gift of feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I'll just say this resort is overrated. The rooms are quite nice, and the pool is great. However, I will say that the beach is not so nice (lots of run off, and theres garbage washed up all on it), the service at the restaurants is really slow. Overall I would say the resort is "average" however given the price that you pay for a room and for meals...etc I expect a lot more.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dylster845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach -

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us.

We apologize that you were not able to fully enjoy the beach. The two rivers which enhance our spectacular tropical surroundings only affect the beach water occasionally, when the weather and tide are very adverse. In addition, we have a diligent sand sweeping program.

Although we are happy that you enjoyed our sophisticated guest rooms and pool area, we do apologize that you left dissatisfied.

Thank you for the gift of feedback and the opportunity to address your concerns.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I just arrived home from a weak of bliss at the st. regis. Our original expectations was a snobby expensive place with bad service. Our experience was not!

Room:
The trip was expensive, but worth every penny. We had a second floor garden suite, which was great. We loved the interior decor which was tasteful and sophisticated yet kid friendly and comfortable. The highlight of our room was the deck it was large with a couch and table that seats four. The bathroom (s) were clean and spacious-and one even included a t.v in the mirror.

Service:
Wow!!!!! not only was there an extreme population of staff but each and every one would do anything and more to make your stay incredible. I didn't come across one person who wasn't overly kind and enthusiastic.

Food:
The food was extremely expensive and not always worth it. Molasses is super expensive and not worth it at all. Skip molasses! Sea grapes was average and a great casual option with kids. Fern is worth every penny! The food is out of this world! Not a hotel restraunt at all! I would highly suggest going to fern more than once (or twice, or three times). If you are looking for a low key option try room service on you deck- it's awesome.

Activities: golf,paddle boarding, kayaking, nature tours, sailing, biking, pool, beach, spa, fitness center,yoga. The possibilities are endless the concierge, (and everyone else) are great with helping you book and schedule. Off campus ideas are bioluminesent kayaking,hiking in the rainforest, and food tasting tours in san juan just to name a few.

Property: The resort is smartly designed. The way the paths and layout is designed you feel as if you are the only guest. The pool area is great and the beach is nice- but not exactly white sand, calm blue waters. One complaint there is music playing everywhere, you walk through the rainforest, there is music you are relaxing at the pool, there is music. It ruins the serenity.

All in all despite some negatives i would recommend the st. regis, just don't come on a budget.

Room Tip: Get a garden room and request the second floor. Save the money, because all of the rooms are amazing...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank eog424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your recent visit to our resort.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time spent with us, and that you appreciated the charm of our rooms, designed to capture the essence of Caribbean plantation-style, yet have all the modern comforts of home.

As you point out, taking advantage of our diverse selection of tours and activities that explore the tropical atmosphere of our property, serve to enhance a wonderful vacation experience!

We very much value your suggestions, and have taken the liberty of sharing them with our restaurant staff. If you wish to share any more ideas, please feel free to contact us, and we would be more than happy to speak with you.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Thank you for the gift of feedback, and the opportunity to respond to your concerns.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Im presently staying in the governors house as its called. First, the people,staff, service are excellent. The food is seriously delicious and some plates like the mofongo and red snapper at molasses are transcendent. The bartender, Ricardo, is a riot and ambitious, he won't be shy about sharing his latest personal cocktail invention. The food is pricey, but this is not a place for budget conscious visitors. The quality of the meals and drinks and firendliness of the Staff are forgiving. The landscaping is gorgeous and the beach is so wide and magnificent, I almost feel guilty that more people aren't there to enjoy it. I invited family to enjoy the stay with us, and the hotel invited them to attend a traditional musical number simply because they were guests of mine. My baby was accommodated every step of the way, they provided a crib, stroller, and warm water for bottle feedings.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mail4luis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us.

We are thrilled that you were so enraptured at St. Regis Bahia Beach, where our daily mantra is for our guests of all ages to enjoy the ‘art of living’.

Your compliments for our staff is most appreciated, as our team is very genuine in their intention to fulfill your every need and make you feel at home in our little slice of paradise.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back soon, so that we may continue our tradition of extraordinary stays for the entire family.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

This resort is so incredible! The rooms are very clean and comfortable. We stayed in a beachfront cabana, although the trees are preserved between the room and beach, but you can see the water through them. The bathrooms are HUGE and they provide plenty of towels. Butler and other services were superb. Food was tasty, although there are only a couple place to eat on the property. Transportation is VERY expensive, to / from airport, if you plan to leave the property, and hired cars (with driver) are pricey. It is best to pay the approximately $200 for their scheduled service and stay on the property. There is a great walk path through a sanctuary, gym is good, and pools nice. The beach is windy but we sat there each day anyway. Beach assistants quickly put up an umbrella and place your towels at the spot of your choice. It is a very nice escape in quiet luxury. It's a little like going to the country, but at the beach. Great for a romantic couple's get away. We will go again.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TC4chow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent visit.

We are thrilled that you completely enjoyed our uncompromising service and St. Regis hospitality.

Your feedback is most valuable to us and serves to further enhance our tailor-made guest experience. We regret your impression regarding prices and are working to alter this perception.

On a positive note, we are happy that you enjoyed our exotic surroundings complimented by our luxurious guestrooms and exceptional service.

We do hope to welcome you back to Bahía Beach in the near future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback and the opportunity to address your thoughts.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
31.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
12.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,252 reviews
17.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
16.8 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico

Address: State Road 187 kilometer 4.2, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range: $496 - $1,643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designated as Puerto Rico’s first and only AAA Five Diamond resort and the leader in luxury on the island and in the Caribbean, The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico has been designed with the entire family in mind, providing a variety of extraordinary services and activities that will keep all guests entertained from sunrise to sunset. Located on a former 483 acre coconut plantation, our Rio Grande resort in Puerto Rico sits between El Yunque National Forest and the sparkling Atlantic Ocean on the northeast coast. A Certified Gold Audubon Signature Sanctuary, the lush Resort features a tennis center, a golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones Jr., as well as 4 miles of nature trails, 70 acres of lakes and a boat house for water sports. The intimate St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico boasts suites where The St. Regis’ iconic Butler service is available. Most of the guestrooms overlook amazing ocean and garden views setting a new standard in luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Hotel Rio Grande
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing