We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A taste of Puerto Rico”

Antojitos Puertorriquenos
Ranked #22 of 71 Restaurants in Rio Grande
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Spanish, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
96 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A taste of Puerto Rico”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We tried Antojitos for dinner the night we got to Puerto Rico as we wanted true Puerto Rican cuisine. We stayed at the Rio Mar, so it wasn't too far from the resort. We tried several appertizers, which consisted of fried cheese and a fried corn meal item. I can't say that I liked them. The entrees however, were delicious. I had the chicken dish. The beans and chicken were flavorful and the prices aren't bad. We also had breakfast here, which is the typical pancakes, ham and eggs etc. It appears that Puerto Rico isn't big on breakfast, so things are simple. This restaurant isn't fancy, they use paper cups and the dining is simple. But the food isn't bad at all.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sublimemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    100
    43
    30
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst EVER!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stopped by bc our hotel was literally right down the street from here. We had breakfast and lunch here, once each! It was great! We decided to do dinner one night and this was the worst ever! We waited literally 2hours before our dinner got to our table, my husband had some sort of pork chop that was cold. He let them know it was cold, so they said ok, we’ll reheat it, so they did, it comes back and it’s still cold! The owner, the tall dark man that stands around with wine every night, asked if everything was ok, my husband said well no my foods cold, and he just looks at him from the bar and says “provecho”, which means “enjoy your dinner” in English!!!!! There was another couple that heard/saw it all, they came up to us after they finished and said that was very rude of the owner and they said they were disappointed with them too. Don’t waste your time here, for dinner at least. The only upside is that they are in a very convenient location. Prices here for dinner, you might as well stay at the hotel and enjoy a much better and larger portion meal!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VIRGINIA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, AZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Introduction to Puerto Rican food”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This ws the first time we had been to Puerto Rico and we were anixious to try Puerto Rican quisine. We are not experts but asked our waitress to help us with suggestions on Puerto Rican food. It was delicious!
Thanks !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CJB2inGoodyearAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is another small place down the hill from Rio Mar before you reach hwy 3. Adorable little place with covered open air seating. Friendly service. Ate basic breakfast here one morning on an escape from Rio Mar. Prices are much more affordable then the resort.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SpaLady8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice local restaurant”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This was a nice local find for breakfast, good food and great prices. Great option if you are staying at the Wyndham Rio Mar.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antojitos Puertorriquenos also viewed

Rio Grande, Puerto Rico
Rio Grande, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Antojitos Puertorriquenos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing