We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one time enough - left knowing I would not be back.”
Review of Don Pepe's

Don Pepe's
Ranked #7 of 71 Restaurants in Rio Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Oxford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
139 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“one time enough - left knowing I would not be back.”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

food was not the best, service was hardly good and it simply lacked that which makes you want to come back again,

Helpful?
Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    187
    66
    38
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westbury, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If McDonalds made mofungo, it would be bettter than Don Pepe's”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Mofungo had no flavor, meat was dry, tables are dusty with old bottles of wine, service was less than average.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Food, Clean, Excellent service”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Small restaurant, with good food, reasonably priced. Good wine list.Good for family and friends. Not for business.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reviewer0071959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not "Arroz con Jueyes" (crab rice)”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Loving arroz con jueyes and seeing it in the menu, I ordered this entree. I was very disappointed when it came. As soon as I saw it, I knew it wasn't right. The color was very yellow/orange and the typical arroz con jueyes is sort of a grayish color. I never tasted the crab and of course no little pieces of crab legs or portions of the crab itself like the typical arroz con jueyes. Also, it had too much cilantro. The flavor was too strong. The service was great though. Very attentive and helpful waiters. I will probably go back but just ask for something else.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wandyir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
115 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Special”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch here and enjoyed the 6$ special. Two pork chops and rice and beans and I was happy. Service was good and everyone in our party enjoyed their meal. I would go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Whitma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Pepe's also viewed

Palmer, Rio Grande
Rio Grande, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Don Pepe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing