We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was good”
Review of Don Pepe's

Don Pepe's
Ranked #7 of 72 Restaurants in Rio Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Saint Louis, Michigan, United States
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Food was good”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We ask at the El Yunque rain forest for a suggestion of a good local place to eat. The food was good, the staff was helpful in suggesting local enties that we might like. We enjoyed our meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gk681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    191
    67
    38
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

After searching TripAdvisor for local restaurants, we decided on Don Pepe's because of the reviews. On the way, we asked local residents of Rio Grande how it was and their responses were mixed. Most agreed that in the last couple of years, the kitchen changed staff and the food quality suffered. We walled inside and made eye contact with staff but weren't greeted. There were two servers and a bartender who all witnessed us walk in. We sat at a table in plain sight and almost ten minutes later, we were finally greeted. Keep in mind, there were only two other tables there before us. My boyfriend ordered the churrasco with rice and it was average. Not as flavorful as some churrasco we had tasted before. After a rough encounter with some local food, I opted on something plain, familiar, and seemingly safe: shrimp fettuccini. My boyfriend, a Spanish speaker, waited for me to point and ask for it in English and he followed up in Spanish: "fettuccini con camarones". I received chicken instead, I didn't complain, mistakes happen, yet the bill still had the 18 dollar shrimp pasta. Just disappointing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KristinaSkye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ruiz Family review”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The place is very cozy, the food is outstanding, the prices very respectful of your pocket and the personnel is the best asset of the place. Nice music and karaoke on weekends and probably you will be sharing with the owner, Eddie.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RuizFamily914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh, nc
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Cuisine”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Friendly staff, service a little slow but learned this was normal because everywhere else was the same. I had the arroz con pollo, it was very good and the serving size could feed 4 people (literally). I would recommend if in Rio Grande.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank erikamb513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent local food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We knew this should be good when it was full of locals during the week. Very traditional PR food...mofongoes, skirt steak, whole snapper, shrimp....all excellent. Their special soup, a meat and bean gumbo, called caldo was great. So were the yucca mofongitos with shrimp seved as an appetizer. Reasonable drinks and wine. Very friendly service. Nice local solo singer on Sunday. Not much to look at on the outside, but nice and clean inside. This was so good that we went twice during our week vacation at the nearby Gran Melia.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2TravelingMd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Pepe's also viewed

Palmer, Rio Grande
Rio Grande, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Don Pepe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing