We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view, wonderful place for a dring at sunset”
Review of Richie's Cafe

Richie's Cafe
Ranked #11 of 71 Restaurants in Rio Grande
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Richie's Cafe, has one of natures most breathtaking views. Richie's Cafe is set high a top mountain overlooking the greens of the Rio Mar Wyndham Grand Resort golf course straight out to the crystal clear Atlantic Ocean with a side view of the United States only national rain forest, El Yunque. Richie's Cafe, has two open air dining with a bar. Serving Caribbean cuisine while overlooking a Spectacular view of the Atlantic Ocean and surrounding Resorts. An establishment focused on serving great food with polished service and long list of wines and beverages, all while still serving the best local dishes with the friendly type of hospitality one would expect to find on the island of enchantment, Puerto Rico. With a hand picked culinary staff. We are proud to to offer you what we know to be the most complete evening of dining and leisure on the island.
Oxford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
139 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“great view, wonderful place for a dring at sunset”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

food was routine and nothing special but still pricey. Selection was limited and service was lacking in many respects.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    230
    129
    90
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“OVERPRICED food!!! small portions, no seasoning, not fresh! Be ready to open your wallet really wide!!!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I guess they charge for the view because the food was not worth it. I feel sorry for tourist who would not know better for local cuisine please note this is definitly not the place to go.

Plates cost start around $16 and up. I have a toothache from one of the fried plantains (tostones) that was so hard. I mentioned it to the waiter and he just giggled and took them away. Plus if you have ever had fresh fried plantains you would know that in this restaurant they are serving you frozen plantains.

I would definitly pay for food that was well seasoned with good portions and fresh. I ordered the shrimp salad ($22) yeah $22 for a whole tomatoe cut in halfs (don't like tomatoes) some chopped iceberg lettuce a few chopped peppers/onions and like eight shrimps the salad had no dressing or seasoning and don't forget they came along with my hard like rocks tostones.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cherinesita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Lyme
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Maybe for drinks?”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We were there after sunset- so didn't really benefit from the view- but the setting was still nice- open air. VERY chilly with the breeze- so take a sweater! if you decide to go. We went for apps and didn't find anything that we really wanted to order- so we ordered the appetizer sampler. Everything on the plate was deep fried and it all looked the same. You never knew what you would get- sometimes the filling was sweet , it might be cheeze or meat?? None of us had anything from the plate that we really enjoyed. Felt like it was a waste of calories!! I had the best sangria the night before so I ordered that. It didn't compare at all. We were not impressed- but might try again if we went for sunset.....
BTW- We drove- but they have a free shuttle that will take you to and from local hotels.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank promeo_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teaneck
2 reviews
“You're paying for the view, not the food”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Two of us visited Richie's for lunch during the week. The view was, as expected, overlooking the ocean. The portions were small and lacked (regional) seasoning. The prices are $3-$5 more than the restaurants at the Loquillo kiosks. I suggest eating at the kiosks (especially at La Parilla) to experience the flavor of the island (i.e. the food and the people). For good food go to the kiosks, for a good view, go to the beach.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tafitzhugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“What a beautiful setting”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

This place has amazing views atop a grand hill. Like everything we found in PR meals started at $18 so we weren't surprised by the prices but a girl can always hope that she will find a value. The staff was friendly albeit a tad slow but we were on vacation so no real worries. The drinks were great and the food was awesome, the pineapple rice was excellent. They hallow out a pineapple and cook rice and then add a protein. Delish!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank khansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Richie's Cafe also viewed

Rio Grande, Puerto Rico
Palmer, Rio Grande
 
Rio Grande, Puerto Rico
Rio Grande, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Richie's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing