We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Rio Grande
Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great family vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2007

Our family of four (Mom, Dad and two teens) stayed at the Westin Rio Mar for six nights last week. It was our first time in Puerto Rico but not our first to the Caribbean-or to the Westin Caribbean resorts. We are Starwood Preferred members.
Our flight landed at San Juan airport at 2:15 pm. We arrived at the hotel at 4pm-after renting a car at the airport. I would highly recommend renting a car as it came in very handy. The resort is in a remote area.
Check in was fairly quick although a bit confusing as the clerk did not have the correct dates for our stay. We were shown to our room (a fairly large ocean front room overlooking the pool area/beach). The room was nicely arranged but not recently refurbished. The bed spread was dirty, the TV looked as though it had fallen one too many times but otherwise, I was impressed by the clean floor and room. We asked for fresh bedspreads and were immediately given them. We always had maid service before noon each day. We never heard anyone in the adjoining rooms but could hear noise from the hall.
The hotel grounds are beautiful. The pool is a perfect temperature, uncrowded and very clean. We all loved the expansive beach and even liked the water with the waves. We were surprised by the lack of water sports offered at the beach (no parasailing, two jet skis, no banana boats,one sailboat) but not bothered by this at all. There were no vendors who came by while we were on the beach and this was nice. Umbrellas were available for free on a first come/first served basis. We did not have a drop of rain for six days although the rain clouds seem to hang over the rain forest. Be sure to tour the rain forest as it is a great but long hike. La Mina falls are beautiful.
My one real problem with this hotel is the lack of food options, lack of food quality and expense. Count on $10 for any drink you order. We ate every morning at the David’s Cookies in the lobby where we got bagels, muffins and coffee. This was a bit hectic as the women working it were much more interested in talking amongst themselves than helping customers. Every day we ate lunch at Club Coqui beside the pool. It was expensive-about $90 for the four of us- and not very good. What it lacked in quality it made up for in convenience as we all wanted to enjoy the water and pool all day. We ate at the hotel three nights. Marabella’s was AWFUL. Iguana Pub was good and had the nicest view. We wanted to eat at Pailo but we did not have long pants so we couldn’t. We had nice khaki shorts and nice collared shirts but we were told that shorts could not be worn. I think it is a silly rule for the Caribbean but no big deal.
Off the resort, we ate at Antojitos, Brass Cactus and Don Pepes. All were just okay. From the outside, the restaurants all look sketchy, but once inside the food was, for the most part, acceptable. However, we were a little shocked to find a bunch of dogs on the roof of the building next to Don Pepe’s. We wished we had found a nice restaurant but did not see any that fit that bill. Many other guests were complaining of the same problem as well and I feel that this issue is the main downfall for the hotel. The nearby towns of Luquillo and Fajardo are not very exciting and seemed poor and almost deserted to us.
We enjoyed our trip but would probably not go back. This resort is very remote and I can’t imagine being without a car here. The hotel itself is nice but it could be a much more desirable property if the food options were improved.

  • Liked — Beautiful beach and grounds, incredible views
  • Disliked — food choices, and high prices
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vacation209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,058
    2,326
    1,353
    688
    371
See reviews for
2,371
2,265
109
677
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2007

A group of five middle age golfers/fishermen/general tourists, stayed for 4 days in mid-March. We found the hotel to be excellent. Clean, staff very accomodating and registration easy. We did not eat at the hotel restaurants because we wanted to sample the local restaurants and were put off in advance by some negative reviews regarding wait times and expense of the Hotel's restaurants.

We also took advantage of the local grocery store for snacks, beer and rum. This enabled us to hang out at the beach/pool in the evening and relax and enjoy the beautiful weather and attractive surroundings.

We rented a car at the hotel which was more expensive than if we had arranged it in advance from the airport but we enjoyed getting out to fish/shop and see the Rain Forest. The golfers took advantage of twilight fees at 2:00 and that was a good choice. The Ocean Course has only a single ocean hole. The River Course is more aptly named and a bit more challenging.

In summary, we are a low key, low maintenance group who had a terrific time and would recommend this hotel and the people of Puerto Rico highly.

  • Liked — Attractive surroundings
  • Disliked — Limited opportunities for activities without rental car
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cap10 Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2007

They list 8 restaurants on their website...but most were Not Open (I think that that's a pretty important little detail, don't you?)
It is in the middle of Nowhere so you can't easily go out.
The room was dirty, They want to charge extra for everything.
The beach is very near a river outlet, so the water was somewhat murky, with litter washed-up on the beach....nice.
We have been around (a lot) and this was unquestionably the worst hotel experience Ever!!! (and we have stayed in some real flee bags!)

  • Liked — That I could leave...seriously
  • Disliked — Restaurants were not open!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ML333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2007

I almost changed our plans based on some of the reviews I read here, but I'm so glad I didn't. I can't understand what anyone would complain about. The location is beautiful, the beach and pools are beautiful, the service and food is great. When our room wasn't available, we were upgraded to a suite.
It's pricey, but that's what you pay now at Westins. Their points program really helps.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank hooplane90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saranac Lake, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2007

This was a last minute trip with one parent and three children as my husband could'nt get away. I have to say that everything was wonderful. The food, service, accomodations were all first rate. The kids club is terrific and my kids aged 5, 6 and 7 loved every minute of our trip. They still talk about their friends at the Westin in Puerto Rico.

I would highly recommend any parents with young children take this wonderful place into consideration. The bonfires at night with S'mores, the hair braiding and games all made our trip very special.

The staff was very friendly and accomodating. I would not recommend doing the San Juan trip as it is pretty boring for little ones, and the rain forest trek can be a bit harrowing at times.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank adkhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2007

My husband and I just got back from the Westin rio mar puerto rico. We chose this hotel because we had stayed at westins before and they were very nice. It was a celebration of 25 years of marriage, so we both wanted it to be very special. When we got there, it looked gorgeous, the lobby was very pretty and the staff seemed nice enough. The water was very inviting, they promised us that our ocean veiw suite would be ready by the time we got there. We didnt arrive until 3pm. It was not ready, we went and had a bite to eat, one hour later went back to the desk and it still
was not ready. After 2 more hours they finally said that they had a room ready for us. They brought us to a side veiw of the garden and two small beds room, with black stains on the bedspread, urine on the bathroom floor and dirty underwear under the bed.
What a horrible dissapointment. 25 years of marriage and they not only gave us the runaround but overcharged us for everything.
They tried to make up for it after we contacted the main headquarters by giving us a free diner. A bottled water is $5.00,
a beer is $6.00 and just to give ou an example of prices of food,
a hamburger is $15.00 and a steak at the grill resteraunt is $53.00. It was overcooked and we could not eat it, a plain pasta was $36.00 they food was not very good at all except for the Italian restaurant. I would not recommend this place to anyone, we played golf, the courses were very pretty but we got stuck behind a fivesome on the back and had to quit after a couple of holes. It costs $150.00 per person per round. The beach was nice and the water was rough but beautiful. I would only go back if they changed their entire management and gave us a free trip,

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank ladydi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus, NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2007

Our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 young adult kids) stayed here over Christmas break. Overall, it was a great experience. We are accustomed to traveling over popular vacation times, so we went with the understanding that the resort would be crowded, and boy was it crowded! But everyone who worked there did a pretty good job in keeping their cool despite some rude, obnoxious hotel guests.

The hotel itself is beautiful and well located, if you are looking for a resort outside of the city. Access by the new superhighway is very easy and can take as little as 30 min., depending on the traffic. And there is a lot of traffic. Rent a car at the airport, as I heard that the hotel's car rental agency ran out of cars.

The room was large enough for the 4 of us, and maid service as well as responses to special housekeeping requests were excellent. My husband is a Starwood Platiinum member, so we were lucky enough to stay on points, but we were not surprised that there was no upgrade available, even though they tried. Beware of the minibar- everytning in there, including water, is very expensive! Instead, go to a supermarket and stock up on essentials.

All of the staff, in every part of the resort, were extremely polite and very nice to deal with. This goes especially for the concierges, who were helpful with restaurant suggestions and reservations. They have books of menus that you can browse through. We LOVED the Kiosk #2 (I think) in Luquillo, right off the highway. Fabulous food, and the owner/chef described every dish to us with such enthusiasm. On the other hand, stay away from the hotel food if at all possible. Very expensive and mediocre. So many superior options are available very close to the hotel. Do go to David's for morning coffee, and the beach bar for drinks while gazing at the ocean.

If you are interested in side trips, the rain forest is a must. We took the hike down to the waterfall and it was worthwhile, but take extreme caution on the pavement as it is extremely slippery, even when wearing sneakers. (I slipped and fell and injured my foot, nothing serious but a nuisance to deal with while on vacation). Another must is kayaking on the bioluminescent bay, a unique experience- take a waterproof camera with a flash (very necessary) to document this awesome phenomenon. We did the rain forest on our own, but booked the kayaking through the concierge, and it was a little pricey but it included round trip transportation with a very nice driver. Old San Juan is a charming city with good restaurants and a lively street scene, an easy drive from the hotel.

We stayed 5 nights and could easily have stayed longer. We would definitely return here!

  • Liked — Resort with lots to do yet plenty of nearby side trips and restaurants.
  • Disliked — Price and quality of food.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hyelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
22.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,667 reviews
4.6 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
17.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
20.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden at Palmas del Mar
8.6 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande 00745-4661, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between El Yunque Rainforest and a mile stretch of secluded beach, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa is Puerto Rico's most exotic beach, golf and spa resort destination. 500 magnificent acres with spectacular ocean, rainforest and lush tropical views serve as backdrops to 400 newly renovated guestrooms and suites and an exclusive renovated 48,000-sq.-ft. Oceanfront Conference Center. Located on the N.E. Ecological Corridor of Puerto Rico's shoreline, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar is a haven for fun, sun and forging memorable experiences. The new guestrooms exude traditional Puerto Rican architecture and feature thoughtful indigenous touches. The resort boasts two championship golf courses & tennis center, Mandara spa, 10 lounges and restaurants with award-winning cuisine, an exciting casino, two nature reserves and a guest experience program that encompasses the beauty and nature of its magical surroundings. And since Puerto Rico is a US Commonwealth, no passports or visas are required for US Citizens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Mar Beach Resort And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Resort
Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel Rio Grande
Wyndham Rio Grande
Rio Del Mar Puerto Rico
Rio Grande Wyndham
Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Westin Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Wyndham El Yunque National Forest
El Yunque National Forest Wyndham
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing