We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Rio Grande
ny
1 review
“Get what you pay for...”
Reviewed August 15, 2009

The kids had a blast. Very accomodating to kids. Pool was warm & UN-Refreshing. Kid friendly though. This vaca, proves again why ALL-INCLUSIVE resorts win everytime. Drinks & food are ridiculously priced, even outside hotels. Beach was clean, but rough for kids. We took a cab ride to LOQUILLO beach it's Clean, Calm, & CLEAR. It's a public beach, beware the weekend. Go during the week. Renting a car cancels itself out when you pay 20$ a day for parking, use the cabs. With tips, they turn out to be the same as car rental, but you won't get lost! (Bellmen- A+ Use their advice! AVOID the CONCIERGE) (Housekeeping- A) (Cleanliness- A) (Restaurants- C+ Palio was their best. Marbella's bkfast was o.k. but overpriced) (Local Restaurants- Don Pepe had great local cuisine. Hacienda Carabali-Don't go,terrible wait for food, and was cold. King Seafood-was an o.k. restaurant, terrible service) Book excursions by yourself, not through the hotel. For example; Horseback Riding the rain forest- $328. We went directly to the stables and paid $142 including cab fare & tips to the guides and cabbie. Overall it's a B minus. Don't listen to the poor reviews. You get what you pay for. Join the Wyndham By request, they'll upgrade your room, if space is available. We booked ocean view & got Ocean front. Pick a High floor for the better view. Share a drink at tiki bar... 11.50 w/ tip ask for another cup. Cheapest lunch was at tiki bar.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salndeb1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,171
    2,384
    1,376
    698
    381
See reviews for
2,463
2,345
112
688
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northeast US
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

Our family stayed at the Rio Mar the same time as the previous reviewer from St. Louis. I read many, many of the reviews here and I have to say that everything is relative. Whether you love this place depends on your background and travel experience. This is our 3rd time to the Caribbean; the first time in Puerto Rico. The grounds, lobby, and restaurants of the Rio Mar are beautiful. The valet that greeted us gave us a brief orientation of where everything was in the resort and offered helpful tips such as be sure get to the towel hut before 6:00 p.m. for towels. (They allow you to take towels offsite for snorkeling or the rainforest as long as you return them). Yes, the hallways and some furniture are showing some wear, but our oceanfront room was immaculately cleaned with no plumbing problems. Beds are comfortable. Our room was quiet. The resort was responsive to previous complaints about iguanas and their poop near the pool; the iguanas have since been relocated to a fresh water pond behind the resort. We saw only 2 iguanas near the pool during our stay. They are harmless and fun to watch.

The beach is pretty. Although the sand is brown, its grain is fine and the water, while a bit murky, is warm. Compared to the beaches in the mid-Atlantic U.S. region, it is a treat! I agree with the other reviewer that the beach isn't cleared of trash often enough. The nearby Tiki Hut provides drinks and snacks, so plastic cups and containers get left behind by careless guests. This resort is an environmental nightmare with the plastic, bottles, and cans it churns out. I did not see any visible signs of recycling.

Yes, restaurants, bars, and incidentals are expensive. We ate at Marabellas twice. They fully explained the pricing of the buffets to us. Great variety! We purchased breakfast and snack foods at the local Amigo market and stored them in portable coolers to avoid the $25 refrigerator fee. There are plenty of restaurants within a 10-min drive that offer authentic PR food at reasonable prices. We enjoyed exploring and many places offered a kids menu with familiar items like chicken nuggets and mac and cheese. We loved the mofongo at Don Pepes.

One thing that was a pleasant surprise was that the resort offers activities all day long. If you're not into golf or tennis, you can participate in things like aqua aerobics, dive-in movies, Spanish lessons, Latin dancing, iguana feedings, bingo, and island braiding. They have an Iguana Kids Club, where they offer "camps" for the kids for full or half days, leaving you to relax or take advantage of the spa. With two kids, the Kid Club was too costly for us though ($75/child).

The concierge staff was extremely knowledgeable and provided us with driving directions and suggestions on fun things to do. All the tours they offer can be sought on your own at MUCH cheaper prices, so that's what we did. We are mildly adventurous and had no problem finding our way around the island and found that most people spoke English. El Yunque was fabulous and cost us only $6. Old San Juan is a real treat. Yes, it is a 45-min ride, but a pleasant one on the Rt. 66 highway, where you get to see more of the island. Loquillo Beach is 20 min. away and you can take a ferry to Culebra or Vieques for world-class beaches, the Bio Bay, and snorkeling.

There are only a few resorts in the Rio Grande and Fajardo area, and the Rio Mar is one of the nicer ones. Keep in mind that the general economy in PR is poor, and it is reflected in the community. Almost all the houses we saw are shabby stucco, all with barred windows and porches. Abandoned cars are everywhere. But we found that the people of Puerto Rico are so friendly, welcoming, and proud of their rich heritage. Their history, art, food, and music are incredible.

In closing, the Rio Mar is a great place to stay for the area. Had this resort been in the Bahamas or somewhere on the mainland, I would say that it's not a great value. But this is Puerto Rico. While we were there, the staff was extremely accommodating. The housekeeping was very good and unobtrusive. The location is nicely tucked away. You are not stranded. Rent a car at the airport or onsite Avis. The main road is 3 min. away and you have quick access to stores, gas stations, and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conquertheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2009

I think that the single most improtant thing that would have made the trip better would have been to rent a car right off the bat. I really like Puerto Rico it had a lot of great things to see. We stayed at the Wyndham Rio Mar Beach Resort it was nice but nothing spectacular for sure. The Sauna was broken the entire time we were there. There web site is a little deceiving in my opinion. For example they note that they have parking available but dont mention that it is 15 dollars a day to park your rental car there, they also make note that they have wireless internet available but forget to mention that it is also 15 dollars a day. We met a gentleman who goes by Thomas the Hat Man he is fantastic he weaves things out of palm leaves and also offered us surfing lessons he is a vaulable asset as to the local vibe. If you are taking kids take a stroler if you have an infant!!!!!!!! Oh and dont book excursions through the conceirge desk they were charging like 90 dollars a person when the tour is actually free!!!!

Helpful?
Thank PKimbley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

My husband and I just returned from 5 days at the Rio Mar. It is a beautiful resort. Our ocean view room was clean. My only complaint about the room was the inconsistent water pressure in the shower. Sometimes it was so weak that I had to turn the shower off and stick my head under the faucet in order to wash my hair.
The beach was nice, waves weren't too rough, and the water was nice and warm. That being said, I was amazed to see the same trash on the beach day after day. We stayed at the resort Wednesday - Monday and not once did we see any staff cleaning up the beach. As for the pool - the adult pool is very small. It was cloudy the entire time we were there. We saw a pool maintenance person only once, and all he did was scoop a few pieces of floating debris. There was actually a glob of white foamy "stuff" floating in the pool for at least 3 days. It looked like maybe drink had been spilled in the pool - at least I hope that's what it was! Very gross.
The thing I disliked most about our stay was the lack of information, most of which I think should have been provided at check-in. No one mentioned that several restaurants were closed for the season, no one explained the ridiculous procedure you have to go through with the self parking / ticket validation. It shouldn't be so complicated. We had a rental car, we were staying for 5 days, just charge us for 5 days of registered guest parking - duh! And the signs - some say parking is $15 per day, some signs say $20, some say valet is $20, others say valet is $25! When we checked in, they didn't even tell us how or where to self park, so the valet just parked it with no explanation. After leaving the resort for dinner that first evening, we came back and parked in the self park garage, but the still charged us for 2 days of valet parking.
We only ate at the resort twice, both times for breakfast. The hostess asked if we wanted the buffet, but never mentioned that we had a choice of the full buffet ($22) or continental ($16). At the end of the meal, the waiter asked which buffet we had so it could be charged to the room. As it turns out, I didn't have any hot food so my meal was $16. It would have been nice to know that up front. Had I decided to eat a strip of bacon and left a visible morsel on my plate, I'm sure I would have paid full price. The experience really left me feeling indifferent - no reason to ever go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa_mchenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ech
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2009

The Wyndham resort is 45 minutes from San Juan, PR. If you are visiting San Juan and you want to do more than lay around the beach and relax, then this resort is not the place to spend your vacation. It is a very beautiful resort in the middle of nowhere.

The food choices for vegetarians were simply awful and nonexistent. The staff however were very accommodating. The hotel had several different restaurants, all of which were overpriced. Each dining experience at the resort involved consultation with the staff and modifications of meals, and still the meal wound up not being very enjoyable. You would think that in 2009 that a resort the size of the Wyndham Resort, and its worldwide reputation would make an attempt to accommodate all guest. Not so.

The menu had lots of options for those who ate fish, beef, or chicken. But not even a vegeburger with fries, or pasta with stir fry vegetables was available. The Wyndham with its limited food selections has missed an ever growing portion of the vacationing public. The menu stated that the chickens and cows were fed a vegetarian diet. What about a vegetarian diet for guest of the resort? What about a chef to create a menu that would appeal to vegetarians? Is that to much to ask?

The other criticism of the Wyndham location had to do with the out of the way location to vacationers who wanted to see or do anything in Puerto Rico, other than lay around the beach. Old San Juan is again 45 minutes away. A cab ride is $80 one way. A tour to Old San Juan is $55.00 per person. It is a must to rent a car to see and experience the island, and get an opportunity to truly experience the island. My wife and I found Puerto Rico quite beautiful, with never ending rolling hills with gorgeous stucco homes where ever you looked.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC Suburbs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

The hotel is isolated so it's definitely a good idea to rent a car. Taxis are expensive and you are going to need to one every time you want to go outside of the resort if you don't have a car. From the airport to the hotel is about a 45 minutes ride. And going to San Juan from the hotel is over an hour. El Yunque is near by and it's free and you can drive in on your own. The tours are expensive and especially so if you have young kids as they are being charged the same price. The hotel charges $15 for parking (every time you leave the site I think). The hotel has an airport shuttle but charges $75 per person roundtrip I think. I paid less than $150 for a weekly car rental (we needed for only 4 days). El Yunque was a nice day trip but down to El Mina Falls was a bit of a hike - not too difficult but a good 45 minutes on narrow rocky hill side roads. Only 2 (out of 5) resort restaurants were open when we were there in June (low season)- 1 of which were formal and expensive rmal and was not a good fit as we have 2 toddlers. The buffet dinners at Marcello restaurant ($15 weeknights and more on weekends) were great for us as young kids are free. We ended up eating there every night. There weren't alot of options outside and nearby. Antojitos Puertorriqueños right outside of the main road coming into the resort serves good Puerto Rican food (lunch about $20 per person). The few other restaurant on the main road looked like a hole in the wall and they close early (6pm I think). The hotel rooms, pool and beach are all nice. Services are fine. We spent 4 nights at the resort which was just right. Any longer I would be bored. Day 1 arrival, day 2 El Yunque, day 3 San Juan, Day 4 mostly hung out on resort pool and beach. The kids also went ponyback riding near Hacienda Carabali (offers great horseback riding on the beach).

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

the resort is very beautiful, the beach is great and the atmosphere relaxing....why is it necessary to charge $100 a night deposit? and then they tell you you can charge the drinks and food to that and then deduct, but maybe you dont want to eat there? One lady told me she paid $40 for two hamburger platters, I guess they did not have a car. We did and I know the island a little and we explored, Antojitos near the corner of Rt #3 is nice, the skirt steak (churrasco) was good.and in old San Juan we went to El Jibarito, the food was great, especially the sancocho (soup) sadly the service wasn't the best and we also went to Raices which was great, try the chuleta kan kan!As for the resort we did not eat there but did enjoy the beach, the waves are big, do not expect a calm beach and they provide beach umbrellas and lounge chairs, and towels.plus the housekeeping staff was great.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xavierjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
4.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
22.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
6,937 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
21.5 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
3.2 mi away
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande 00745-4661, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between El Yunque Rainforest and a mile stretch of secluded beach, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa is Puerto Rico's most exotic beach, golf and spa resort destination. 500 magnificent acres with spectacular ocean, rainforest and lush tropical views serve as backdrops to 400 newly renovated guestrooms and suites and an exclusive renovated 48,000-sq.-ft. Oceanfront Conference Center. Located on the N.E. Ecological Corridor of Puerto Rico's shoreline, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar is a haven for fun, sun and forging memorable experiences. The new guestrooms exude traditional Puerto Rican architecture and feature thoughtful indigenous touches. The resort boasts two championship golf courses & tennis center, Mandara spa, 10 lounges and restaurants with award-winning cuisine, an exciting casino, two nature reserves and a guest experience program that encompasses the beauty and nature of its magical surroundings. And since Puerto Rico is a US Commonwealth, no passports or visas are required for US Citizens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Vacatia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel Rio Grande
Rio Mar Beach Resort And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Resort
Wyndham Rio Grande
Rio Del Mar Puerto Rico
Rio Grande Wyndham
Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Westin Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Wyndham El Yunque National Forest
El Yunque National Forest Wyndham
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing