We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weather, Beach & Water Horrible” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Rio Grande
Columbia
1 review
“Weather, Beach & Water Horrible”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2009

We (11 of us...just returned), trust me when I tell you.....this was by far the worst vacation ever!!!! Plain & simple, if you are looking for a beautiful beach it's not here. The sand is brown, the water is MURKY, because the resort is soo close to the Rainforest. In addition to that, yes it's true what everyone has written about food & drinks, the average meal at Marbella ($19 pp---buffet, $8 for a beer & $12 for a cocktail....you must rent a car to purchase your snacks & cocktails. By the way, there is no night life what-so-ever. As you drive around, you will notice BARS on all windows of home & businesses. Oh, let's not forget the TINY CASINO...what a joke!!!! If it wasn't for the company that I was traveling with, I would not have made it. I am sooooo glad to be home, and I will do my research prior to the next trip.

Glad to be home,
Columbia, MD

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krich4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,057
    2,325
    1,353
    688
    371
See reviews for
2,370
2,265
109
677
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2009

After reading through many, many reviews on this website, we decided to stay positive and we booked this trip through COSTCO travel and got a really great deal for four nights in an ocean front junior suite. We wanted a long weekend with no worries! We arrived, via JETBLUE, on Thursday, May 21st at 2:30 am. Yes, am! Upon check in, we were greeted by a lovely woman at the front desk. Very nice and check in was a snap. We were directed to our ocean front junior suite. Upon entering the room, we were impressed. It was big and very clean. However, once we openned the curtains to reveal our ocean front view, our mood changed. We were on the ground floor and you could barely make out anything in front of us (yes, it was dark - but you could see a building and a lot of garbage). It seems our room was next to the service entrance. I called the front desk and the woman was very nice. We walked back to the desk and she called her manager. He spent a good 30 minutes trying to get us a different room. Two attempts later (the other two rooms we looked out were not acceptable and he even agreed), we accepted a $200 resort credit and headed back to our original junior suite. It was 4:20 am by the time we got to "bed".

The next four days were fantastic! The resort is BEAUTIFUL! Very, very clean and we found every single staff member wonderful. The resort was not very crowded the first two days (Thursday/Friday) but did pick up as the weekend arrived. Also, the room ended up being great - as you can see from the pictures - the view wasn't that bad. Yes, the service entrance wasn't ideal, but they did give us $200 in credit and we already had a $100 credit as part of our package.

We found the adult pool perfect. It was great not worrying about kids splashing around. The seat cushions were very comfortable too. We are morning people so we would be out by the pool by 8 am each morning. The adult pool did fill up by around 10 am. But, everybody was great and no "fights" for a spot occured. The one thing that is annoying are the cabanas. YOu need to pay $150 a day for them - you get drinks and snacks - but $150 is just not worth it. They should charge $50 a day and they would rent them all! Just my opinion of course. The only annoying part about the adult pool was that the jacuzzi wasn't working. They were waiting for a part to come in. Oh yeah, watch for falling iguana. (see pictures) They would drop randomly into the pool. Also, they are EVERY place! It is really cool.

The food at the resort is typical resort food. I am not sure why so many people found it soo expensive. Was it cheap? NO - but you are on vacation and you should expect to pay more. We averages $100 a night for dinner (salads, entrees, two drinks each). For breakfast/lunch there is a very inexpensive shop by the casino.. You can get a huge wrap for $8! They also have great coffee :)!

Also there has been a lot of fuss about drink prices. We didn't think $10 for a frozen drink was crazy. Any other resort we have been to charges that much if not more. Also, each day they run a drink special for $6.50. There is happy hour each night at the outside bar too. The $30 for a six pack of beer is pretty reasonable too. Where else do you pay $5 for a beer?

We did not enjoy the casino - very small and the people working the tables weren't the nicest. We lost $60 bucks and decided this casino wasn't for us. But others loved it.

Cannot speak of an tours - we didn't do any. This trip was all about relaxation. We were at the pool from 8 am - 4 pm each day and it was great.

I think this hotel was wonderful! They were painting the foyers and exterior during our stay so they are mainting it. I would happily go back!

Hope this was helpful.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timrobb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2009

Flew in to San Juan and enjoyed a lovely long weekend at the Wyndham Rio Mar. The resort is beautiful, as was our room. In short, we experienced none of the problems noted by some reviewers: we booked a third party package (through CheapCaribbean) and our airport transfer and check-in were trouble-free. As for the resort itself, the high points are its size and the beauty of the grounds, the palm-lined pools (complete with a giant hot tub), the charming casino, proximity to El Yunque rain forest park, and the privacy of the beach. The resort borders a stretch of undeveloped forest so you can stroll along the beach for a quarter mile and feel like you're on a remote island. Perhaps because we arrived in the off-season, the resort had a quiet and spacious feel. The potential drawbacks are the distance from the city and nightlife, and the relatively high cost of the on-site restaurants. We booked a day excursion into Old San Juan for $60 each which was delightful - it's a 45 minute, comfortable ride each way. In short, if you're looking for a weekend getaway away from the city lights, this is a fine choice.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1geo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia beach, va
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2009

It looks like a great deal online. Their website is beatiful. You are definetly in for a suprise when you get there. The resort was good but the service was awful. The drinks were very overpriced...$7.50 for a 12 oz. domestic and $8 for a 6 oz. rum and coke. Sometimes when your on vacation you don't mind spending a little more for everything but then when your recieve horrible service when you are paying those prices, you begin to feel ripped off. The Oceanview room we stayed in was was sub-par. The hotel bed was comfy though. I will never re-visit this resort. I wouldn't recommend this to anybody. It was our honeymoon and this place has no romance. If you do decide to go anyways...get off the resort. Rent a car, it is worth it. The island is beautiful and the resort is very conviently located to everything.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bchbabe7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2009

This is our third night here at Rio Mar, it's 3:30AM, me and my husband our at the "business cente," which is a tiny closet with 5 computers in it. The reason? In three nights, we are about to make a fourth move. The first room flooded when we took a shower, I called down to the desk and we waited about 30 to 40 minutes, then my husband called back for them to tell him that I told them that he was just showering with the curtain open. Then the maintenance finally arrived but there was so much standing water that he wanted house keeping to come and help clean it so he could tell where the problem was. We waited over an hour for someone to show up. All in all I stayed in the room almost 3 hours dealing with this.
That afternoon, we went to see the Wyndam people(Wyndham has not fully taken over) thinking because we are owners that they might be able to do something. They did, they called down and had our room upgraded. Next step get help moving to the 5th floor, want to guess how long it took the bellman? 45 min to an hour. For that they compted our breakfast the following morning(remember that part for the next day).
Finally on the fifth floor, we went to sleep that night, when we woke up the next morning there was standing water on the floor again! How? I'm not sure. My husband then went to complain and since we had already scheduled our excursion to the rain forest we didn't have time to sit around and deal with that. The front desk assured us that upon our return that afternoon, we would be given a new room and maintenance would check out our other one.
Guess what? None of that happened. I had to go back to Wyndham and they had to call the front desk to make anything happen. The manager on duty told my husband, "We have already compted off your breakfast this morning, what else do you want?" Really? BTW, if you eat at the hotel for two, expect to spend a minimum of about $150 a day, she saved us a whopping $50 off of that. Wyndham did get our room moved to down the hall.
Room #3-So far no flooding with this one, but we did learn an interesting tid bit fromt the maintenance man, only about 60% of the hotel is operational, the rest of the rooms have problems. So getting back to why we are leaving. The room they put us in has a connecting door with an inch and a half space underneath. Our "roommates next door," came in about an hour ago, along with the bellsman, he gave them a full run down on the room and then they unpacked.
My honeymoon is officially over at this point, I get more rest relaxation at work. The location and view is the only positive thing I can say.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackieW1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2009

Hubby and I have been Hilton loyalists for a few years. However, we were looking for a quick, inexpensive, quiet beach weekend and chose the Wyndham over Hilton's El Con on a significant price difference and better proximity to the beach.

The good:
- Proximity to the beach; it's right there, with beach chairs and almost no local visitors
- Hotel building and grounds were lovely
- Some of the bar staff were exceptional
- Room was comfortable and clean
- Location -- 30 mi from the city and on the beach -- met our needs
- On-site car rental was convenient for a quick trip to the rainforest

The horror:
- Because we booked through our airline's travel agency and not Wyndham, we were treated like second-class citizens. Here's how:
* Airport transfers were included in our package, however, Wyndham refused to honor them and we spent several hours between repeat visits to the front desk and the tour desk and calls to the travel agency to get it straightened out. Not the best use of our time for a three-night stay. The Wyndham staff was unhelpful, rude and unapologetic during this process.
* Our first room assignment was on the 7th floor. The bell cap who brought our luggage was unable to unlock the door. We waited in the hallway for nearly a half-hour until the bell cap came back, was still unable to unlock the door and had us re-assigned to a room on the 5th floor. One would think that following the inconvenience, Wyndham would have upgraded our room and, at minimum, apologized. If you thought that, you would be wrong. The 5th floor was more run-down than the 7th floor. Our room was on the same level as the roof of the casino. The mechanical noise and exhaust smell were awful. And, the room felt unsecured; on our third day, we saw people walking on the roof. See photo for awful view from the room. During our second visit to the front desk to address the airport transfer issue, I mentioned our dissatisfaction with our room and received a blank stare in response.
* Because we booked through an agency, we were charged $40, yes $40, for internet service. Although we had called the front desk in advance of using the service and "confirmed" that there would be no charge, and although the signs at the front desk advertised that Wyndham rewards members receive free internet, we were charged $40. The front desk staff at checkout refused to remove the charge and told us that it was because we booked through an agency.
* Like other reviewers have said, the food is expensive (meals ranged from $50 - $125 for 2) and the quality does not match the cost. Again, we were told that because we booked through an agency, we would not earn any Wyndham points for our out-of-pocket expenses or our hotel nights. The front desk refused to even take down our Wyndham number.
* And, when we spoke with the concierge desk about booking a tour, their first question was had we booked through Wyndham. Then, coincidence?, none of the tours we requested were available or being offered.

Would we go back? Maybe -- the adult pool and beach were *that* nice and the total cost was good -- but, we're more likely to stay brand-loyal to Hilton and not be nickled and dimed and treated like second-class citizens at the Wyndham.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilac11wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2009

Luckily I went to priceline and got the room for $120. It’s a Very fancy hotel resort with lots of restaurants, big pools, and a casino, All right on the ocean. The problem is the restaurant are way too pricey and the food not that good. You have to be very careful when you swim in the ocean because of the currents. The hotel does not give you anything more than the motel 6. If you want a fridg you pay $25. If you want internet you pay $14/day and its not wireless. In fact the hotel does not have wireless internet. They do have free internet access in the lobby in a hot closet with 5 or 6 computers with the slowest connection ever.
If you do decide to stay here anyway make sure you rent a car so you can book your excursions on you own. This resort is some what isolated. So if you want to get away it is difficult unless you have your own transportation. If you do book your excursions with the hotel you will pay about $100 more. Oh yea you have to pay $15/day to park . You also have to pay another $15/ day hospitality no mater how you book your stay.
In conclusion go to priceline, book you own excursions and eat at the many good local restaurants

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mhogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
22.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,660 reviews
4.6 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
17.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
20.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden at Palmas del Mar
8.6 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande 00745-4661, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between El Yunque Rainforest and a mile stretch of secluded beach, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa is Puerto Rico's most exotic beach, golf and spa resort destination. 500 magnificent acres with spectacular ocean, rainforest and lush tropical views serve as backdrops to 400 newly renovated guestrooms and suites and an exclusive renovated 48,000-sq.-ft. Oceanfront Conference Center. Located on the N.E. Ecological Corridor of Puerto Rico's shoreline, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar is a haven for fun, sun and forging memorable experiences. The new guestrooms exude traditional Puerto Rican architecture and feature thoughtful indigenous touches. The resort boasts two championship golf courses & tennis center, Mandara spa, 10 lounges and restaurants with award-winning cuisine, an exciting casino, two nature reserves and a guest experience program that encompasses the beauty and nature of its magical surroundings. And since Puerto Rico is a US Commonwealth, no passports or visas are required for US Citizens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Mar Beach Resort And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Resort
Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel Rio Grande
Wyndham Rio Grande
Rio Del Mar Puerto Rico
Rio Grande Wyndham
Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Westin Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Wyndham El Yunque National Forest
El Yunque National Forest Wyndham
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing