We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,561)
Filter reviews
7,561 results
Traveler rating
2,546
2,482
1,425
710
398
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,546
2,482
1,425
710
398
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarbella restaurantiguana feedingpuerto ricotiki hutiguana pubrainforest viewadult poolfamily poolrented a carold san juanocean suiteself parkinglobby barconcierge deskocean frontsmall casinominute drive
Filter
Updating list...
6,403 - 6,408 of 7,561 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2009

This hotel is very tired looking. The physical grounds are beautiful, but everything needs updating. The rooms have holes in the walls and the bathrooms need a major facelift. Shower door didnt close properly. The furniture is shabby and needs replacing. The best part of the hotel is the housekeeping staff who seriously cater to all needs. We went on an extended family vacation with kids and grandkids. There were 2 pools- adult pool and kids pool. The adult pool had comfortable chaises but we couldnt sit there as it was for adults only. We wanted to be with our grandkids, so we sat by the kids pool. Unfortunately, the chaises there were woven wood- they defied you to sit on them for any period of time! The hotel would not allow cushions on the chaises at the kids pool, so adults there spent the time being uncomfortable. RIDICULOUS! If they were afraid cushions would be ruined, they certainly could have given cushions to the adults, and towels for the children! The chaises were butt numbing and back breaking without cushions. Since one spends most of the time by the pool, this was a major turn off! The manager of the hotel did nothing when told that one of the grandparents was in such pain from the chaises that they had to remain in the hotel room. The manager refused to allow a cushioned chaise by the kids pool, despite the obvious disomfort and pain the wood chaise caused a guest of the hotel! We had several suites, but the hotel was not accommodating, when it came to making us comfortable by the pool. In fact, the first time I went to complain about this, the manager didnt even come out to speak with me. When I went back again, and demanded to speak with her, she offered a vinyl blow up mattress that one uses in the pool, to place on the chaise! Unless one is in the water, a vinyl pool mattress is NOT a solution! We would never consider going back to a hotel that wasnt into guest comfort!

The food, sadly, was awful :( Dont even think about going to the Italian Restaurant at the hotel- inedible is a major understatement!) The hotel is really not close to anything, so food in an area like this is important. They need to replace all their chefs, and start again as there is no such thing as a good dinner, at this hotel. Since the various restuarants at the hotel share the same kitchen, service is extremely slow!

We had a suite, which had a phenomonal layout, and the view was honestly nothing short of spectaular. The balcony was a nice size, as well! The setting is one of the most beautiful settings I have been to, in Puerto Rico, but they seriously need to do some major redecorating and get those bathrooms updated.

If they really want people to come to this hotel, they need to update, provide COMFORTABLE chaises by the kids pool (adults do not leave kids to swim by themselves, without watching them) and do something about the awful food and service.

Properly redone, this hotel would blow the Ritz out of the water. The beach is nicer, and the suites actually have a very very beautiful ocean view, where as the Ritz suites only overlook the pool, unless one is willing to shell out over $3000 a night for an ocean view suite (and there are only 3 of them, there). If I am going to vacation, I would like to be able to see the oean!

IMHO, Wyndham has grasped defeat from the jaws of victory :( Hotel has the possibility of being a 5 star +, but is only, at best, a 3, at the present time. Disappointing!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jossiesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2009

The Wyndham Rio Mar is a semi-good resort hotel located in Rio Grande, Puerto Rico. The hotel features a large beach next to a part of the Ocean that is relatively calm and good to swim in. This property has 2 medium-sized swimming pools and a sad excuse for a water side. The smaller of the 2 pools is reserved for adults only and is hardly ever swam in. The regular rooms at this resort are about the size of a room at a typical Motel 6, however, the rooms have 2 comfortable queen-sized beds, a balcony, and a flat-screen TV with a 35 cable channels. The service at the Rio Mar is not particularly good nor particularly bad. Food at the Rio Mar is some of the best resort fare around, but it comes at a ridiculous price. This hotel is good, exept for one MASSIVE drawback. This drawback is the fact that EVERYTHING at this hotel is hugely overpriced. A bowl of cereal is $6! A skirt steak $47! It's not just the overpricing that makes this hotel a 2 out of 5, it's the feeling that the hotel is trying to squeeze every penny out of the guests. For example, to pay for parking, instead of letting guests pay at the parking lot exit, like any other resort would do, guests must walk for over 5 minutes to a in-hotel paystation. There are 2 reasons why the hotel does this:

1. To engourage guests to not bother with the hassel of leaving and paying their parking fee, thus allowing the hotel to continue making money on the parked car, and forcing the guest to spend their money at the hotel and not elsewhere.

2. To encouarage guests to valet park their car at a rate of a whopping $30 per day!

This money-snatching attitude is what makes this hotel a 2 out of 5. The rest of this resort is really quite good. If the Wyndham Rio Mar were more fairly priced and didn't have such a money grabbing attitude, I would rate it a 4 out of 5, but this problem is such a huge drawback that really sours this resort. So, in the end, the Wyndham Rio Mar gets a 2 out of 5 and nothing more. Be smart, don't go here, and spend that $6 on something better than a bowl of cereal.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pimping4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2009

I recently stayed at the Rio Mar and had a terrible experience at the casino. After using the facility for 2 days and getting parking validated with no difficulty, the 4th morning I asked for validation I was treated so rudely by staff that I will never return. I was there with a large group and told at least 20 other collegues about the experience and we decided to spend the rest of our casino time and money at the El Con. We had a wonderful experience at that resort and even though we returned in the evenings to the Rio Mar and participated in the conference activities, we spent every moment we could at the El Con where the staff at the casino, cafes, restaurants, shops and general staff were the most helpful and friendly we have ever experienced. They happily validated our parking, provided the attention and service that was above exceptional. Consequently, word traveled fast through our group and found the rest of our group spent tons of money and time at their casino, shops and restaurants.
Great time by all, next time we visit this island we will avoid the rude, customer "unfriendly" staff at the Rio Mar.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worlldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2009

This resort delivered exactly what was advertised on the JetBlue getaway vacations page - and that's saying something, these days. As we live in Boston and only had 3 nights, Puerto Rico offered the shortest hop / greatest chance for 85 degree beach days with non-stops from Logan airport.

I've stayed at Ritz Carlton beach resorts in the carribbean and Hawaii, and if those come it at five stars clearly this resort comes it at four - especially for the price ($900 each 3 nights incl airfare - during highest season/school vaca).

Good:
Beautiful pools. Gorgeous grounds. Extremely friendly staff. Lots of lizards running around. Clean, good sized rooms. The beach is RIGHT THERE. The hotel's beach bar is RIGHT THERE, too. Plenty of activities. (Tiny) Casino was fun. We were looking for 4 days of sun and surf and some unique experiences and this place delivered over and over again. Richie's and Parilla restaurants (around corner) gave us great local cooking in fun environment outside of resort experience. Great Spanish restaurant in old san juan (Mirabueno) - walk up the hill away from the shops corner of Luna and Tanca.

Bad:
Meals/coffee/transportation = extremely expensive ($3.75 for large, weak coffee in 15 minute line at 8AM). $70 round trip van to downtown/siteseeing - $150 round trip if you take a cab (apparently). Room keys for consistently failed for not just us but seemingly everyone in front and back of me in line at check out. Also - the (expensive) restaurants all served the same food we can get at home - steaks, pasta, chicken fingers - where's the adventure, people!? BORING!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wixomhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2009

I stayed at the Rio Mar Beach resort for 2 nights in early February 2009. At first I was not too happy about the location--it is located about 40 min (a little shorter if you take the new Highway 66 after paying the $1.50 toll) east of Old San Juan, which necessitated renting a car. But I eventually had a great stay and think the pros far outweight the cons. The pictures on tripadvisor.com do not do this property justice. You have to see it in person. The beauty of this place will touch your soul. We visited InterContinental, El San Juan, and Ritz in Isla Verde afterwards and didn't think overall they would stack up to Rio Mar.

PROs: Immaculate and well-manicured grounds, uncrowded beach, uncrowded pool area, beautiful building with excellent interiors and quality finish, nice furniture throughout, knowledgeable and friendly staff, excellent restaurants including casual options, nice toiletries, close to El Yunque rain forest, plenty of space to walk around in the resort.

CONs: a little far from Old San Juan, 14% per day resort fee, $15 per day self-parking fee and you have to pay for parking at the lobby before going down to the garage which is a bit far, HVAC vents were rusting, shower head didn't have enough water pressure, bathroom door showed aged and did not close easily, key card did not work very well and required multiple trials before the door would optn

A little bit of reminder: When you drive on Route 3, remember to turn at mileage post 30.9km. Especially if you go from the east to the west, you won't see any signs pointing to the resort.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank morniing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews